We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & not so good service”
Review of Olivia Aker Brygge

Olivia Aker Brygge
Ranked #58 of 1,480 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food & not so good service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The place is really nice, it was a lovely day, so I had the chance to sit outside and enjoy my lunch in the terrace. The view is fantastic, but I found that the terrace was kind of packed with tables...I understand you need to welcome as many people as possible, but in my opinion the tables outside were too close to one another. The menu is rich with a big variety of dishes, and it seems quite authentic. Not only real italian pizza and pasta recipes, but also meat and fish. I ordered a Pizza Margherita and a coke, and I was surprised by how fast they served me. The pizza was really good, with a thin dough (I like it that way!) and the perfect amount of mozzarella and tomato on top...really tasty! One of the best pizzas I have eaten lately in Northern Europe! After the pizza I tried to order a coffee, and that's when I had some problems....I stopped a waitress (she was cleaning the table next to mine) and asked for a coffee, and she told me that she couldn't help me, because she was only responsible for the door, so I should have asked some other waiter/waitress...long story short, it took me about 5 minutes to figure out which waiter could bring me a coffee....and when I finally got it, the coffee was not good at all...so, a lot of effort for a tasteless coffee. Anyway, the experience was overall nice, especially for the good pizza, but the service...well, I didn't really like it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel H, Informasjonssjef at Olivia Aker Brygge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all the feedback we can get, as it helps us to improve!
The communication problems you experienced should not have occured, and we are very sorry that ordering your coffe was both difficult and dissapointing. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us this, and welcome back if you are ever in Oslo!

Have a nice day!
__________________________________________________________________
Best regards
Christel Heimdal Jensen
Booking/Marketing Manager
Drueklasen AS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    511
    200
    74
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“I wish I had loved this restaurant but the service ruined our whole experience.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food, atmosphere, and prices were wonderful.
But I have never had such terrible service, ever, anywhere in the world. We travel everywhere and have worked in the hospitality industry ourselves and are usually very understanding. Our server clearly did not want to serve us. And by the end of the night we were so uncomfortable and unhappy we couldn't wait to run out of the restaurant.
Very very disappointed, not sure if that is the standard in Norway restaurants but if so such a shame. I wish we had just gone to a little cafe and saved our money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janeclendining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel H, Informasjonssjef at Olivia Aker Brygge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write down your review!
This is not the service we wish for our guest to recieve, and your comments will be taken seriously. Our servers should give all of our guests the attention they deserve, and a little more than that as well. It is very understandable that you regretted your visit. We are sincerelly sorry that you had such an experience, and glad that your food, at least ,was up to your standards!

Have a nice day!
__________________________________________________________________
Best regards
Christel Heimdal Jensen
Booking/Marketing Manager
Drueklasen AS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cozy with wonderful views!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The ambiance provided was cozy and classy at the same time. Very friendly staff and super tasty pasta! A great place to relax, enjoy a glass of wine and the views provided! Enjoyed the experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALeJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel H, Informasjonssjef at Olivia Aker Brygge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi,
and thank you so much for the lovely feedback!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant :)

Have a nice day!
__________________________________________________________________
Best regards
Christel Heimdal Jensen
Booking/Marketing Manager
Drueklasen AS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food at Olivia Aker brygge”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great restaurant with excellent food and good service, nice interior and nicely situated at the waterfront

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel H, Informasjonssjef at Olivia Aker Brygge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your nice comments!
We are grateful for all feedback we receive from our guests, which helps us improve our service.


Have a nice day!
__________________________________________________________________
Best regards
Christel Heimdal Jensen
Booking/Marketing Manager
Drueklasen AS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a quite dinner”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is perfectly located on the embankement, but a little bit away from all this noisy and touristic restaurants. It has a pleasant interior and very tasty pizza. If you take into account high prices in Oslo, in this place you will get yourself a very good deal for reasonable budget. It has an open kitchen, which is always nice, because you can actually see, how your food is cooked. However, if you are planning to come here after 7 p.m. I would recommend to make a reservation, becuase it is absolutely full after 5 p.m.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yulia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel H, Informasjonssjef at Olivia Aker Brygge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your nice comments!
We are grateful for all feedback we receive from our guests, which helps us improve our service.


Have a nice day!
__________________________________________________________________
Best regards
Christel Heimdal Jensen
Booking/Marketing Manager
Drueklasen AS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivia Aker Brygge also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Olivia Aker Brygge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing