We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cuisine”
Review of Xich Lo

Xich Lo
Ranked #41 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: Pay a visit to Xích Lô (pron. cyklo) for a taste from a little Further East. This is a unique treasure of a Vietnamese restaurant, now occupying new premises on Karl Johans gate 23 B on the first floor of the new department store in Egertorget square. Delicately exotic with light and airy interior and a mouth-watering menu where the food is reasonably priced and completely authentic. Aromatic and spicy without being too hot, the dishes are served as small pieces of art on the plate. Enjoy your trip Further East!
buenos aires
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had dinner two nights ago and were very pleasantly surprised. We shared one tasting menu and a main course. Starters 1 from the tasting menu were very good: the scallops with coconut vinaigrette were cooked to perfection, the shrimp cake soft, tender and crunchy at the same time was simply amazing. As a main course I very happy I choose the marinated duck à la Xich lo, my husband had the baked halibut with fish sauce,mint and chili which was also fantastic.
A truly sophisticated cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anabella-BuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    182
    49
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GOOD VIETNAMESE FUSION”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

After a six day cruise along the Norwegian fjords, during which we ate fish almost every day, we were ready for something else. My wife and I had dinner at Xich Lo which is on third floor of the Eger shopping arcade in the the center of Oslo along Karl Johans gate. Despite the fact that the restaurant is somewhat difficult to find, it was crowded so we knew we had come to the right place.

The food was very good. For appetizers we had the Spring Rolls and Rice Paper Rolls, Vietnamese Salad with grilled chicken and peanuts and Five Spiced Beef. The main course included the Duck Breast and Rack of Lamb together with excellent rice. Then we had the chicken satay which was just ok, possibly because by that time we were stuffed. The wine was good and went with the food. We also had screwdrivers which had a generous amount of alcohol and were appropriately orangey.

The service was excellent. The ambience was happy. Xich Lo was a welcome change from Norwegian food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leigh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic cuisine. Dead centre Oslo”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Xich Lo (difficult name !) has never let us down for 3 visits.Food is outstanding.All starters are great.The maincourse with fish/seafood served in a silverpaper enclosure like a boat is among the most tasty I have ever had.The "lamb carre" (rack of lamb cutlets split up individualy and served very rare) melts in your mouth and was a generous helping of 5 small pieces rather than the usual 3.
The restaurant is very modern in style and is frequently a bit "bustling and noisy" as the young and affluent crowd also love the place....Meal not cheap but worth every penny.Wine expensive in Norway.Order th " Crement" instead of champagne at less than half price . It is just as good-trust a wineenthusiast! t also goes well with seafood starters.Wine with oriental food shoul be somewhat lighter and slightly less dry.They are also cheaper!! -a good combination!! You should book ahead.Ask for- but you might not get-the table at the far end which is less noisy and has a view of Carl Johansgate and Parliament.
The restaurant cannot be seen from Carl Johan it is uppstairs on EGERTORGET.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great vietnamese!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Been here three times, will absolutely make another reservation in the future! I can recommend the tasting menu; the spring rolls, scallops and shrimps, for starter, was really good. For main dish I had the lamb, also delicious. The dessert was somewhat just intermediate, maybe I had to much expectations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Runar1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vietnamese”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited the restaurant twice during a business trip to Oslo. Starters (scallops and spring rolls) were fine, mains (carre of lamb and halibut) were fantastic. Price of food is fair.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kongediller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xich Lo also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Xich Lo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing