We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Eik

Restaurant Eik
Ranked #56 of 1,430 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Restaurant in Oslo city center. Good food, gourmet style, slightly small servings. Wine packages overprized, better buy by the glass/bottles. Set menu gives few options, but good quality, the lamb dish was top notch. Good winelist, some bargains even. Big minus for not having a place to leave your coat safely, wardrobe at your own risk!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turistkjell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    78
    21
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth it overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were actually looking for Fjord restaurant, and thought that's where we had gotten into given that they have the same address (I didn't see any other establishment either). The environment was formal and we were definitely underdress. The hostess was a little impolite when I asked whether it was too late for dinner. It was our first night in Norway and she didn't need to look at us like we were crazy.

Anyway, I was a little disappointed because they had a fixed menu out of which you could choose to have three, four, or five courses. None of the choices I was crazy about, but I guess it's the mark of a great restaurant that no matter your taste for certain things, they will deliver fantastic food. Picture worthy, too. The place is VERY expensive, but overall it was really worth it. We went for the three course menu and were full by the end. Pairing wine doubles the price and it was a little bit of a rip off. My husband only got three glasses overall.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meme135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth it overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were actually looking for Fjord restaurant, and thought that's where we had gotten into given that they have the same address (I didn't see any other establishment either). The environment was formal and we were definitely underdress. The hostess was a little impolite when I asked whether it was too late for dinner. It was our first night in Norway and she didn't need to look at us like we were crazy.

Anyway, I was a little disappointed because they had a fixed menu out of which you could choose to have three, four, or five courses. None of the choices I was crazy about, but I guess it's the mark of a great restaurant that no matter your taste for certain things, they will deliver fantastic food. Picture worthy, too. The place is VERY expensive, but overall it was really worth it. We went for the three course menu and were full by the end. Pairing wine doubles the price and it was a little bit of a rip off. My husband only got three glasses overall.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank meme135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a four course meal there last fall. Wonderful food and ambience, felt luxurious and romantic. Good value for Norway, too! Would definately go again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Annepanne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
260 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Fixed menu - excellent presentation & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Restaurant has a fixed 5 course dinner & you can select 3, 4 or 5 courses (about 400 NOK) – starter, fish, main, cheese, dessert. Paired wines with generous pours are an additional ~400 NOK. The night we went, the starter was fish & the main was whale (which tasted like venison). Portions were small but beautifully prepared & presented. Cheese course was awesome. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Eik also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Restaurant Eik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing