We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it overall”
Review of Restaurant Eik

Restaurant Eik
Ranked #54 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth it overall”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were actually looking for Fjord restaurant, and thought that's where we had gotten into given that they have the same address (I didn't see any other establishment either). The environment was formal and we were definitely underdress. The hostess was a little impolite when I asked whether it was too late for dinner. It was our first night in Norway and she didn't need to look at us like we were crazy.

Anyway, I was a little disappointed because they had a fixed menu out of which you could choose to have three, four, or five courses. None of the choices I was crazy about, but I guess it's the mark of a great restaurant that no matter your taste for certain things, they will deliver fantastic food. Picture worthy, too. The place is VERY expensive, but overall it was really worth it. We went for the three course menu and were full by the end. Pairing wine doubles the price and it was a little bit of a rip off. My husband only got three glasses overall.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank meme135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    81
    22
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent quality”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a four course meal there last fall. Wonderful food and ambience, felt luxurious and romantic. Good value for Norway, too! Would definately go again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Annepanne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
278 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fixed menu - excellent presentation & service”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Restaurant has a fixed 5 course dinner & you can select 3, 4 or 5 courses (about 400 NOK) – starter, fish, main, cheese, dessert. Paired wines with generous pours are an additional ~400 NOK. The night we went, the starter was fish & the main was whale (which tasted like venison). Portions were small but beautifully prepared & presented. Cheese course was awesome. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food for reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were looking for an affordable and decent place in Oslo and found this restaurant close to the university. The restaurant is centrally located and reachable by foot from the stop National Theatre. The restaurant interior is nice and the service very fast and friendly. The menue offers a set of courses or single dishes. It is a better bargain to go with one of the complete 3, 4 or 5 course menu. You can chose to take just the courses or with selected glases of wine per course. We decided to go with a separate bottle of wine which turned out to be the better pick in terms of expenses. The food was delicious and offered local flavours (fish and seafood) mixed with some avant-gard. The portions are rather modern (do not expect a Viking meal, it is rather a small French portion). For the standard and the food the price was okay and we would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Upintotheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prishtina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The best restaurant in Oslo”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I like the style, interior and serving in the resaturant. It has unique style combined with great food quality, which makes is the best in its category.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank besko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Eik also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Restaurant Eik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing