We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Delicious”

Delicatessen Majorstuen
Ranked #170 of 1,772 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $4 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Delicatessen Majorstuen serves Spanish tapas made from a combination of Norwegian and Spanish ingredients. We pride ourselves on using the best ingredients available. I.E. All of our fried food is fried in Extra Virgin Olive Oil from Montabes in Jaen, Andalucia. The Montabes oils are known for their high level of antioxidants and actually adds flavor and nutrients to the food. This is an expensive way to fry food but only the best is good enough for us. All of our hams come from specially selected producers. Our main supplier of hams is Casalba in Burgos. At Casalba knowledge of how to make the finest hams, chorizo etc has been passed down for several generations. We are proud to be able to offer their world class products to our customers. Our selection of spanish wine at Delicatessen Majorstuen is very broad. You will find tintos, blancos, rosados and cava from most districts and in all price-renges.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Came here for dinner with my parents. We shared a bottle of wine and multiple of the tapas. The empanadas were perfect, the beef filling had a slight tomatoes base and crust was flakey on the outside and a touch doughy inside - yum. We also enjoyed delicious pork belly, patatas bravas, and chorizo. Will definitely return when back in the area!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank TattooGuru603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaNorderhaug, Kundeansvarlig at Delicatessen Majorstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant!

Hope to see you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2019

The restaurant is located in a nice informal room on a side street to Bogstadveien. The service is just ok. The menu consists of both traditional and more non-traditional tapas dishes. Some are more small dishes than traditional tapas. For example, grilled chevre with saltbaked beets was an example of a delicious and colorful dish. Albondingas, Spanish meatballs also a small dish. The meatballs were good enough, but they and the sauce lacked some flavor. Grilled wild chrimps tasted lovely as a more typical tapas dish suitable for a good glass of wine. Grilled artichokes can also be recommended. For those who love Spanish ham, there is a good selection to choose from.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank espen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaNorderhaug, Kundeansvarlig at Delicatessen Majorstuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Hi Espen.

Thank you for the feedback. We always appreciate constructive criticism and we will take note of it and use it to become better in the future.

Have a nice day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

...the time before that, and then... I have been visiting Delikatessen once or twice per year since early 2000s. If it works, don't change they sat.. And Delicatessen works - but still need to be updated.

With new challengers in the tapas area, some real innovation would be cool.

And prices are a bit off, like other reviewers have commented.

And one last small thing; stop cramming people in the back when there is plenty of nice seats in front.

Still, a good place, and the Grunerløkka branch is the best.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Thomashauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaNorderhaug, Kundeansvarlig at Delicatessen Majorstuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Hi Thomas.

Thank you for the feedback and for your loyalty. We always appreciate constructive criticism and we will take note of it and use it to become better in the future.

Have a nice day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

In a short period we living in the area so wanted to try out some of the local restaurants. One I had noted and liked on Facebook so I could get the updates was Delicatessen.

We went an early evening, place was packed, but they managed to get us a table.

Food was ok, what you could expect...service was ok so all in all, if we wanted some tapas again...it is just around the corner

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kjetil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaNorderhaug, Kundeansvarlig at Delicatessen Majorstuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2019

Hi Kjetil,

Thank you for the feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2018 via mobile

I go to this restaurant often with my partner and the food is good but as a party of four, we were squished on to the same sized table as a party of two. This was way too small and we really struggled to serve ourselves. This is despite the fact that they were not very busy and could have given two tables pushed together, as other parties of four had.

This restaurant has about 100 wines but only 10 non-alcoholic drinks. Of the two I would have liked, they were both sold out. We were told that this was because it is Christmas!?

There are a lot of restaurants that serve good food in Oslo, so the poor choice of non-alcoholic drinks and unnecessarily cramped tables means this place is less likely to be a choice for me in the future.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank makingwaves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaNorderhaug, Kundeansvarlig at Delicatessen Majorstuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2019

Hi Emma,

We always appreciate constructive criticism, and will take note of it.

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope you still will give us the chance to correct the impression on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicatessen Majorstuen also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Delicatessen Majorstuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing