We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good tour, but get tix in advance!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Palace

The Royal Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.33*
and up
The Essential Oslo Private Walking Tour
Ranked #23 of 388 things to do in Oslo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Palace is situated on a rise at one end of Oslo’s main thoroughfare, Karl Johans gate. It was officially taken into use on 26 July 1849 by King Oscar I.The Royal Palace is open to the public during the summer season. Visitors follow a guided tour through the most important rooms of the Palace. There is usually also a special exhibition each year, as part of the tour. Tickets are available at Billettservice.no and at the entrance.The main changing of the guard takes place every day at 1.30 PM.The Royal Palace is where the daily work of the monarchy is conducted and where the King and Queen live. It is where the King presides over the Council of State, grants audiences and holds official dinners. Foreign heads of state who visit Oslo stay at the Palace. Most of the members of the Royal Court have their workplace here.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
378 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Good tour, but get tix in advance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Located in the middle of Oslo, the Royal Palace, which is still actively used by the Royal Family, is an excellent tour for visitors to come experience. Even if you know nothing of the Norwegian Royal Family, you'll learn a lot about their history on this tour, which lasts about an hour.

You should note that you can pre-purchase tickets online or at local Oslo convenience stores, which is advisable. Otherwise, you may have a long line to wait on and might not even be able to get into the Palace that day. We'd definitely advise pre-planning this visit to save you time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    502
    263
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Snowy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Went on jan 23rd and the snow made it look lovely. The guards were particilarly scary with their guns but theyvdidnt seem to mind me taking a few pictures either...although when they started marching i decided to leave haha

Helpful?
Thank justask4leo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We didn't see the inside but we walked the grounds besides some building work going knit look fantastic and seeing he guards added to the regal feel of the place well worth a walk

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ristyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would have loved to have toured it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went to the palace in July. Construction was happening in the front yard so we didn't get very good pictures of the front of the palace due to the front yard being ripped up. I didn't have any concrete plans to do a tour, so it was of no surprise to me that I wasn't able to tour the palace. That's my only regret of my holiday in Oslo. They do have tours in English, on certain days at certain times. I could have gone on a Norwegian tour but since I don't speak Norwegian I decided to put the tour on my bucket list to accomplish at some point in the future (hopefully!) Beautiful grounds. I will be back! :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank skigirltiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
797 reviews
513 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“The guided tour brings it to life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Because it was summer when we visited, the royal family were away and a tour of the reception rooms was available. There were no photos allowed from the front gate onwards. We had to don plastic booties to wear over our shoes. The guide was English speaking and gave very interesting lectures in the various rooms as to how the monarchy interacts with parliament and the Prime Minister and Cabinet. It was also an interesting lesson about the creation of the modern monarchy. The reception rooms all had a history as well as a glimpse of the guest's apartments when visiting dignitaries and royals are in Oslo. The gardens surrounding the palace are extensive and a good place to rest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Palace also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing