We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Displays”

Fram Polar Ship Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.86*
and up
Oslo City Card
Ranked #3 of 387 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Fram Museum is located at Bygdøy, a short distance from the centre of Oslo and is easily reached by bus or, in the summer season, by ferry from the City Hall quayside. Our closest neighbours are the Kon-Tiki Museum and the Norwegian Maritime Museum. The Viking Ship Museum and the Norwegian Folk Museum are within 15 minutes walk. The Bygdøy peninsula is therefore popularly known as the museum peninsula. Bygdøy is one of Oslo´s main places to go. The area itself is an attraction with, among other things, its rich hiking and recreational areas and the opportunities it provides for swimming in the sea. It is also home to His Majesty the King´s summer residence, Kongsgarden. The main exhibition in the Fram building has explanatory texts in ten languages and describes the three great Fram expeditions. You can enjoy a northern lights show every 20 minutes from the main deck of the Fram. In the activity centre behind the ship you can test your strength and accuracy. In June 2013 we inaugurated our new Gjøa building, which is connected to the Fram with an underground tunnel. The centerpiece here is Gjøa, the first ship to navigate the whole of the Northwest Passage. There are brand new historical exhibitions on the expeditions of Gjøa and Maud, of the airplanes N24 and N25 as well as of the airship Norge, John Franklin's legendary expedition and those of Henry Larsen and Eivind Astrup. We also present current issues facing the High North such as polar bears, ice melting, gas and oil etc. There is a 116 seats cinema showing a polar introduction movie every fifteen minutes. Temporary exhibitions are made continually on different polar issues. In both buildings as well as in the tunnel, you will find objects from the different expeditions. We have exclusive polar souvenirs in our shop and probably the world’s biggest polar book store with 220 different titles.
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
485 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

You can get a free shuttle across the fjord for this wonderful and unique collection of boats and boating history with FRAM as the central focus. I thought it would be mildly interesting but it was fascinating.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,405
    1,182
    224
    31
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“with activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Frammuseum is on the other side of the fjord, where also the other museums like Kontikimuseum and SEEFAHRTSmuseum. This museum shows the excursion ship FRAM. The exhibition contains of multiple floors with lot of informations about the history of excursions to the arctic areas, the persons who go there and of course about the history and function of this polarship. There is a polar room where you can feel how cold it is in the arctic. This is very nice made with creepy elements like corpse in the ice. For kids there is a playground in the ground floor, where they can learn by playing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duffi1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Spent hours here reading all the information on the displays - very, very interesting! I did not expect to find it all so intriguing. And when you think you're done, there's another whole area with another ship. (I told them when I left I bet no one has spent more time there than I did... I enjoy history!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“If all things North and or POLAR are of interest to you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I made it here an hour before closing so I did not get a chance to take in all the information. I was impressed with the exhibits I did see and I enjoyed the short film they show. I really learned quite a bit about early polar expeditions as well as the life of Roald Amundson.

I'm a fan of the far north and anything to do with arctic environments and this museum was a nice touch to my short stay in Oslo after spending two weeks in Longyearbyen.

I will revisit this museum on my next stay in Oslo

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank soulprojector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressive ship and exhibition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Having heard about Fram as a youngster enthralled by tales of adventure, visiting was essential! The free boat over to Bygdoy was the most enjoyable way to get across the Oslofjord, and added to the spirit of adventure. Seeing the equipment the men had to survive with really added to how impressive a feat the explorers achieved! Free with the Oslopass.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shon_D84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fram Polar Ship Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fram Polar Ship Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing