We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enthrawling visit but allow plenty of time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fram Polar Ship Museum

Fram Polar Ship Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.58*
and up
Oslo Combo Tour: Grand City Tour and Oslo Fjord Cruise
Ranked #3 of 387 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Fram Museum is located at Bygdøy, a short distance from the centre of Oslo and is easily reached by bus or, in the summer season, by ferry from the City Hall quayside. Our closest neighbours are the Kon-Tiki Museum and the Norwegian Maritime Museum. The Viking Ship Museum and the Norwegian Folk Museum are within 15 minutes walk. The Bygdøy peninsula is therefore popularly known as the museum peninsula. Bygdøy is one of Oslo´s main places to go. The area itself is an attraction with, among other things, its rich hiking and recreational areas and the opportunities it provides for swimming in the sea. It is also home to His Majesty the King´s summer residence, Kongsgarden. The main exhibition in the Fram building has explanatory texts in ten languages and describes the three great Fram expeditions. You can enjoy a northern lights show every 20 minutes from the main deck of the Fram. In the activity centre behind the ship you can test your strength and accuracy. In June 2013 we inaugurated our new Gjøa building, which is connected to the Fram with an underground tunnel. The centerpiece here is Gjøa, the first ship to navigate the whole of the Northwest Passage. There are brand new historical exhibitions on the expeditions of Gjøa and Maud, of the airplanes N24 and N25 as well as of the airship Norge, John Franklin's legendary expedition and those of Henry Larsen and Eivind Astrup. We also present current issues facing the High North such as polar bears, ice melting, gas and oil etc. There is a 116 seats cinema showing a polar introduction movie every fifteen minutes. Temporary exhibitions are made continually on different polar issues. In both buildings as well as in the tunnel, you will find objects from the different expeditions. We have exclusive polar souvenirs in our shop and probably the world’s biggest polar book store with 220 different titles.
poole
Level Contributor
209 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An enthrawling visit but allow plenty of time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a extraordinary museum built to house 'The Fram' and gives one a fantastic insight into the design of ships and expeditions to map the North West passage and reach the Poles. It details Nansen's design of the 'Fram', allows access to the whole ship, and shows illustrations of the clothing and apparatus that was available to the expeditions. The actual descriptions and illustrations of Amundsen's and Scott's race to the South Pole are especially worth seeing. together with

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,350
    1,159
    220
    31
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

While my husband and I were at Bygdoyn visiting the Kon Tiki Museum we came across this museum across from the Maritime Museum. The museum was free with the Oslo Pass otherwise a small fee was charged.

Almost the whole ground floor was taken up by this ship. The reason the building had a high pointed roof was to fit in the whole ship, masts and all. When we arrived a video was showing on board and it appeared to give the impression of being on the ship during a storm. We took the opportunity to go below decks to avoid the crowds which would soon follow.

We were interested in the workings of the ship and went to the hold and viewed all the decks on the ship. It was very interesting and well kept. The sleeping quarters were very small and compact. We came back on the main deck as the viewing was finished by now. We had a look at the ropes and parts of the ship and up to the bow.

Along the walls of the building were walkways with exhibits and information regarding the voyages to the North and South Pole. The Fram was a Polar research vessel and went on many expeditions. The Norwegian zoologist and explorer Fridtjof Nansen was one such explorer. Later it was used by Roald Amundsen to journey to the South Pole. The stories and adventures line the walls and they were amazing and heroic. A few miniature scenarios gave the impression of the adventure.

Along the back there was a room which was very cold and Arctic but you may enter here briefly if you wish. I did not wish. My husband did not stay longer than 3 minutes. Downstairs there was a polar suit that you could stand behind and have your picture taken.

In the gift shop there were many books on sale depicting the journeys and voyages of Nansen, Amudndsen, Schackleton and others. Their journeys would make very interesting reading.

The museum had a lift to the walkways. There was a small café for refreshments and there were toilets available.

This museum is highly recommended if you are in any way interested in exploration or if not, you may soon be.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interactive and insightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

While from the point of entry you are inunadated with information and display boards, really you just want to bypass it all and hop onboard the Fram and take a look around! A facinating insight into an exciting age of polar exploration. Shame though it's not a bit cheaper! And here's a tip - at the close by Viking Ships museum we didn't actually pay for entry; you can just go in the entrance and get a good view of the best-preserved ship on display for free. :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great risplay of an amazing early expedition ship!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very informative, video's and descriptions. You can get around the entire ship inside and out. Excellent collection of significant items.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptHMSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

After reading books about Nansen's Arctic and Shackelton's Antarctic expeditions this was a must see for us. It was amazing what these explorers endured. We spent almost three hours looking at all of the artifacts as well as walking through the Fram itself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rittenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fram Polar Ship Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fram Polar Ship Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing