We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a hostel....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anker Hostel
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Oslo
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's a hostel....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are quite a lot of poor reviews on trip advisor for this hostel but the basic truth is its near a dodgy area (Scandinavia dodgy, not European, which means to most of us it's perfectly safe!), the rooms are a little dated, but it's very central, friendly staff, has everything you need or could want to buy and most importantly it's the cheapest in Oslo...why book anywhere else?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    217
    331
    113
    76
See reviews for
56
172
217
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Cheapest hostel in Oslo (but not cheap itself). It's cozy and you can fell an international atmosphere inside. Free wifi. You have to rent sheets (around 50nok - 70 nok) and pay for the breakfast which is in the near restaurant (55nok if you buy the coupon in the hostel, it's cheaper if you go and pay directly in the restaurant). We had a problem with our reservation (the hostel didn't have the room that we booked and paid), and we spent the first night in another type of room. and the other two in the right one The staff was prepared to give us a refund, but since we booked another night which we didn't paid yet, they let us stay for free.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shao Wei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

As you would know that Norway is expensive... so if you are on a budget, then this hostel would suit you... but you have to be prepared for the obvious! It is not one of the cleanest hostel... but the room (8 bed dorm) that I got was spacious and had a kitchen and toilet/shower room.
You could pay 55 NOK to have a psuedo-buffet breakfast in a nearby Turkish restaurant... it was pretty basic - bread, juices & coffee... and it was okay for 55.

You will also be asked to pay for linens separately... you dont have a choice :-)

Location was absolutely the best part... as the tram and bus stops are right in front of the doors!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopalakrishnan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Quite expensive but among cheaper in norway, no security lockers in room, linen for rent, breakfast for 55 NOK but I didnt have it. I stayed in room for 8, rooms are quite small, but bathroom inside, I didnt use any of hostel entertainment but i could see fussball, tv, internet. Overall i would stay again because of its price in comparison with other hostels)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed in Anker Hostel for two nights.It's price is quiet good for Oslo, especially considering the fact that you will be very close to city center and Central Station ! The staff is very friendly and you could find some people to talk with. However , everything except for the bed and hot water(!) is costing you money again ; like sheets , towels, food,coffee;tea ! So bear in mind to take your sheets and towels with you. If you are staying in dorms you could have different type of roomates who switch on the lights at night while you are sleeping ! However , it is a youth hostel not a 5 star hotel-quiet expectable ! Also ,the beer is cheap there ( cheap concerning Oslo ! )Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AixIst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hostel isn't bad, its very average in most things with the exception of the location. Many of Oslo's sights are within walking distance and moving around the city form this location by public trasnport is quite easy.
What I didn't like is being charged extra for sheets and not provided with a towel, which I haven't experience before in the various hostels I stayed at before.
Also the room I was in provided hot plates which could have added a cheaper option than snacking in Oslo but unfortunately no pots/pans in the room so this would only be useful to travellers that happen to carry cooking equipment from country to country............
The majority of staff were friendly, hostel was peaceful so all in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

During our trip to Oslo, we stayed in Anker hostel. The location is very good, 10mins walking from the centre and 2mins from several restaurants and bars, and a tram stop just in front of it. Even if surrounded by city hotspots, the hostel is still in a quiet corner. The room was basic, but clean. The only surprise was the price, very expensive for a hostel...but that's normal based on Norwegian prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Anker Hotel
#40 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Sentrum
Saga Poshtel Oslo Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hostel

Property: Anker Hostel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hostel is a modern hostel situated in the center of Oslo.8 minutes walking distance from Oslo central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anker Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing