We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice - but could be so much more”

The Nobel Peace Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.81*
and up
Oslo City Card
Ranked #22 of 387 things to do in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Nobel Peace Center is the museum about the NobelPeacePrize. Exhibitions, guided tours, debates and family activities. #VisitPeace
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice - but could be so much more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having been past Stockholm's Nobel Museum, this was one of the top items on my Oslo "to do" list - and I must admit whilst it was a nice set of exhibits, I came away somewhat underwhelmed. Little of the history of the prize, or things about it - just a photo exhibition of peoples in Europe (similar to a displaced peoples exhibition I had seen in London), and then an exhibit dedicated to the most recent winners of the Peace Prize - the EU.

I was pleased that this was included in the Oslo Pass, else I might have been more disappointed. Worth popping in if included on your pass ...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    381
    237
    56
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A thought provoking place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you pay attention to the world of people and politics this is a thought provoking place to spend an hour. Their key exhibit (unsurprisingly) is the collection of photographs and narratives of the hundred and more previous prize winners. They make you think.
Was Obama rewarded prematurely, did David Trimble's contribution really reach the dizzy heights and what of Henry Kissinger and PW Botha?
Having contemplated such questions I looked for a cup of tea and in the restaurant where I was told it would cost 35 NOK - over four pounds sterling. Reality returned, this is Oslo where it is the prices which reach the dizzy heights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArbieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Expected so much from this museum but left feeling very let down. The first room had a random photography exhibit that had nothing to do with Alfred Nobel. Second room was a history of Europe which anyone would know. Then the list of winners room, which is decent. And that's pretty much it.

Helpful?
Thank Marketeer83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Expected More”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love history and politics and was looking forward to this center. It was quite boring in truth with very little to view inside. A big display on the EU as the latest peace prize winner, followed by a room with details on previous winners and that was literally it. Surprising and disappointing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasrost, Education Officer at The Nobel Peace Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
So sorry to have disappointed you. Unfortunately you visited us on a day where half of the museum was closed due to the preparations for a new exhibition. The entrance fee was reduced as a consequence, so we trust you did not have to pay full price, at any rate. Hopefully you will give us a second chance! Let us know next time you are here, and we will let you in for free as a compensation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not really a museum but a tribute and overview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Although when I visited the Gandhi exhibit had just closed and that area was under preparation for the next, overall I really enjoyed my visit. It was interesting getting an overview of past winners and justice issues throughout the world. I don't know if this would be for everyone but I did enjoy it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimfromalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nobel Peace Center also viewed

 

Been to The Nobel Peace Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing