We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$137
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$137
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$137
FindHotel$137
ZenHotels.com$147
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveler rating
718
528
203
68
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
718
528
203
68
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house train station breakfast and dinner clarion collection free dinner light evening meal coffee and tea expensive city bigger room reception area city centre within easy walking distance visiting oslo yogurt sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Clarion is one of the best hotels I have stayed in Europe ! Suoer Friendly and super efficient staff. Great food. Great amenities. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city and near transportation hubs. Do try this hotel when you are in Oslo!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank bulacanbraincenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theamarkussen, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Hi Bulacanbraincenter,

Wow, thank you so much for the most kind words and the great review. We really appreciate it and love hearing that you had a great experience here and that you enjoyed everything we had to offer. I love hearing that you thought the staff was super friendly, it is so important for us to give our guest the best experience they can have and therefore give them the good service they all deserve.

We hope to see you here some other time in the future.
Wishing you a warm welcome back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

We stayed for one night. The hotel was conveniently situated for the Resistance museum, just down the road and was handy for the ferry to cross for the folk museum. The staff were very friendly with a sense of humour. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The added bonus was that it also provided an evening meal which was included in the rate which meant we didn't have to go looking for somewhere after returning from our excursions. Afternoon teas was also available but we didn't have that. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice from the buffet.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank kcjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theamarkussen, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Hi Kpetherick,

Thank you for this great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write these kind words. It's so good to hear you liked our staff's sense of humor, we sure like it. As fr our meals, it really is a bonus to have the evening meal that way our guests can stay in and have a relaxed meal here as well.

Wishing you a warm welcome back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Excellent hotel. Easy walk from the train station upon arrival. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but Immaculately clean. Complimentary breakfast was outstanding and the light meal provided in the evening was greatly appreciated.They definitely lived up to their motto written over the desk, “We want our guests happy and well fed.” There is also a cash bar for wine, beer and mixed drinks as well as a complimentary coffee/tea station. The bus stop is only a 3 block walk. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTrooperX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theamarkussen, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Hi TravelTrooperX2,

Thank you so much for this great review! We really appreciate your kind words and love hearing that you liked the staff, the location and our meals. It sure is convenient and great to be right where we are!
It's so nice to hear the room was tidy, we do have some lovely upgraded rooms that has bigger space and a bigger bathroom, just a recommendation for next time, please ask us to see different types of room categories, we have loads to choose from.

Welcome back anytime!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Short walk from Oslo station near the harbour. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Deluxe room was spacious and beds comfortable. Breakfast was very good lots of choice with hot and cold buffet. Afternoon tea/coffee and cake or make your own pancake was very welcome. The evening meal was more than adequate for our appetites soup, salads, and a hot meat or fish dish.
Bus and tram stops a couple of roads few minutes walk away. Tram 12 to Vigeland sculpture park and bus 30 to the museums Viking, Folk, Fram and Kon-tiki.
Note ferry to the museums can get very busy be prepared to queue!
Would stay again at this hotel

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank FENICEBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theamarkussen, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Hi Fenicebournemouth,

Thank you so much for the great review of your experience here at Hotel Bastion. We truly appreciate your kind words and love hearing that you had a great stay here and liked our staff, the rooms and the location. It is also great to hear you enjoyed our meals, it sure is convenient instead of having to go out to eat every day.

We hope to see you here sometime again in the future.
Wishing you a warm welcome back!

Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019

Our every interaction with this hotel and it's staff has exceeded our expectations. Our flights were cancelled/delayed for 24 hours and we were very concerned that our one week reservation here might be cancelled because we were unable to check in on time. However, after reaching out by email, the staff immediately and professionally informed us that we need not be concerned, our reservation would be modified with no problem.
After arriving for checking, we were greeted by a friendly and professional staff and our room was ready for us. We were very happy with how spacious and comfortable it was.
The hotel provides a morning breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening meal that are exceptional and save a lot of money over eating out in a very expensive city. This alone makes this hotel an exceptional value! The food was very tasty, hot, fresh, and plentiful; very enjoyable.
After stepping out and orienting ourselves to Oslo, we realized how conveniently this hotel is located to the Oslo Central train station, the Fortress, the port, ferries to museums, downtown shopping districts, the list goes on. Within 5 to 15 minutes you can walk to many of the key Oslo destinations!
The staff, from the front desk, to the dining room, to the room cleaning staff are all very friendly, professional, and hard working. We could not have asked for a better experience! Highly recommend this hotel!

Room tip: Opt for the upgrade room to have view of the port/city, or not to have a quieter room with less view
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jerrys135
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theamarkussen, Resepsjonssjef at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Hi Jerrys135,

Thank you so much for the most wonderful review of your stay here. We really appreciate it and are so happy to hear you had a great experience. It's truly great to hear that you liked our staff here and had good service, as well as that you liked all our meals. That really is nice to hear! We sure have a good location, just a short walk away from the most in the city center.

We hope to see you here some other time in the future.
Wishing you a warm welcome back anytime!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews