We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel near the railway central station; excellent staff, particularly at the reception; little but pretty room; very good breakfast and pancakes in the afternoon; a good place to start visiting Oslo in a quiet zone


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Hi Maria,

Im so glad that you felt Oslo and Bastion waas a great place to start your trip.
Im proud of my colleagues for giving to the best service and made you feel welcome.

We warmly welcome you back at Bastion, anytime!

Have a great weekend,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotels location is perfect. The meals are nice and the service in the hotel is nice. BUT service via telephone is totally unacceptable. I`ve never met so unhelpful person in Norway as the one in this hotel. The first person gave me wrong information, which is okay, but the second one didn`t want to make an effort to correct the first ones mistake, just kept on saying that he can`t help. This service needs improvment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Hi Judit,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Bastion.
Im very sorry that you felt the service via telephone was non existing.
The staff is usually very helpful and I wish yu could give me some more information so we can do something about this mishap. Thank you for letting us know so we can do better.

Again, im sorry for the misunderstanding.
We still hope that you will give us a second chance.

Have a good weekend,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I don't have any complaints about this wonderful hotel. The location,the breakfast,the light evening meal were all wonderful. The room was actually two connected rooms(with one bathroom) because we were a family of four. The reception was always friendly to all. I recommend this excellent hotel to all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Good eveing Gerogios,

We are so happy for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you where satisified and had a wonderful stay.
Thank you so much for recommend us to other travelers!

Hope to see you and your familiy back at Bastion soon, till then- have a great weekend!

Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Free evening light dinner, free coffee! If you miss dinner, you don't worry about that.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank San J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

HI San,

Happy that you liked our eveingmeal!
As you sais, if you arrive later that 9 PM, you dont need to worry, we can offer you a sandwitch!

Have a great weekend!
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Until today I have written 97 hotel reviews. This will likely be the best review I have ever written for a hotel. Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion id that good.
I'll be brief:

Excellent location within walking distance of almost all the major sights.
A very soft and comfortable bed.
Perfectly quiet.
Perfectly strong and consistent WIFI. For free.
Excellent service.
Excellent breakfast buffet with a multitude of choices, including lots of healthy options.
*** Free pancakes available every afternoon ***
*** Free buffet dinner available every evening from 6 - 9 (18:00-21:00) with a multitude of choices, including lots of healthy options. ***

We paid $185/night in July 2014. That's a great value for Oslo. When you factor in the free breakfast, free afternoon pancakes, and free buffet dinner it becomes a phenomenal value!

When we return to Oslo we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. This place is THE BOMB!

Room Tip: We had room 807. Very quiet. Somewhat small, but sufficient for two happy people. WIFI was very stro...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Good evening Raymagee!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review- it was a pleasure reading about the things you liked about the hotel!
I especially liked that you called us "the Bomb", and that you wount consider staying enywhere else in Oslo. Please let us know when you come back so we can show you how much we apreciate you letting others know about the hotel and what we offer our guests.

I wish you a great weekend!

Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Each of the employees was friendly and helpful- even when we had to change our reservations at the last minute because of a missed flight. We loved the complimentary breakfast, afternoon coffee/tea, and dinner! And we appreciated the free bicycle rentals. This hotel is conveniently located and we were able to walk to the train station, the DFDS ferry, and to most of the Oslo sights that we wanted to see. (We did use the bikes to visit Frogner Park.) It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Greeting Marilyn,

I am so glad that you had such a wonderful experience of Oslo and loved what the atmosphere we wish to offer our guests. Im happy that you found the staff helpfull and that they gave you a warm welcome- we loved having you!
Thank you so much for letting others know how you liked your stay!

Hope to see you as our guest again soon!

Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The outside of this hotel needs doing up as does the entry. The rooms are clean and a reasonable size but the bathrooms are very small. No room to put a change of clothes anywhere in the bathroom. There is also no safe in the room. There was a good selection of food for breakfast. Coffee/Tea is available down in the reception area all day but no supplies of coffee in the rooms. You can also help yourself to FREE pancakes each afternoon. The staff in the reception area are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is situated approximately an 8 minute walk from the main train station and a 5 minute walk to the mall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Hi Veronica,

Tahnk you for giving Hotel Baston a review.
Im happy tha you had a good stay and foun the staff friendly and helpful.
I hope you had a great experience visiting Norway and Oslo.
If you are to stay with us for another occasion I will recomend to try one of our great deluxerooms.

Have a great weekend, welcome back!

Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $154 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing