We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Nearby Hotels
$175
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$378
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
$138
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$455
$431
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
$190
$172
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$206
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveler rating
645
493
168
56
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
493
168
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening buffetafternoon pancakesmake your ownfree pancakesopera housetrain stationcook your ownafternoon snackincluded in the pricefree dinnerclarion collectionan expensive citylight dinnerdeluxe roomtea and coffeehot drinkssandwich
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
793 - 798 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2008

The Bastion is a great hotel. Now the most luxurious and the rooms are a bit small but this is usual for this type of hotel.

Food is available all the time and so are drinks and coffees and teas.

The staff are very nice and it is idea for a business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Merhba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed here with an elderly aunt for 4 nights. At short notice it was the cheapest deal we could get in a very expensive city. It is on a relatively dodgy street with interesting nightlife- my friend who lives in Oslo laughed out loud when she heard the address. However it was the most inoffensive red-light district I have come across ( I think that doesn't sound right!)
The best thing about this hotel is you get an evening buffet included, it consists of salads, ham, cheese fruit etc with one hot dish. Not the most amazing food, but saves paying for an evening meal elsewhere. The 2nd best thing was free waffles- pretty much unlimited- every afternoon. and free coffee, tea and fruit/ pastries all day in the dining room/ lobby. We really liked the feel of this hotel- intimate, had a nice lounge- we sat by the fire in the evening and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
For our elderly aunt it was unfortunate that there was no public transport going past the hotel, and it was a short walk to a bus/tram stop. This wouldn't be an issue for anyone other than elderly folk- it was a 5-10 minute walk to the Radhus area, and Karl Johans Gate.
I would definitely come back here and would recommend to others- mainly because you can have breakfast, waffles/coffee and dinner included in the very reasonable rate that we managed to find which cuts down on your spending dramatically.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We spent three nights at this hotel, and it was, by far, the worst experience we had ever have, after a wonderful 10 day trip to Norway. The hotel was dark and gloomy, the staff was dissapointing, the room was small, dirty and even darker than the lobby. We choose the hotel because we like to experience something different from the standard business hotels, and the "boutique" label attracted us to book it. BUT, once we arrived there we discovered how far from from the nice website picture it was. We intend to change rooms in the very minute we saw it, but the staff told us the hotel was fully book that night, so we would be able to change next morning. So, we packaged again, and left our luggage in the lobby, just to found out that night, that we wouldn't allowed to change, because the morning recepcionist "forgot" to assign a new room for us. Then, again, we had to unpacked our stuff and slept in the same awful room that the night before. Just don't go. It wasn't worth it.... and on top of everything is in the middle of the red light district, so you have to walk through all kind of weird people on your way to anywhere (fortunately Oslo seems to be a quite safe place)

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thousandeurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

My husband and I had just been married in Vestlandet. We booked this hotel after looking up hotels on the internet that offered a decent rate and were in a close proximity to the US embassy so that we could get there quickly for our morning appointment to get my husbands green card. We were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The room was small, but well decorated and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was pretty large for a scandinavian hotel and had a nice bathtub! The breakfast was good and included in the price of the room, but I think that all Scandinavian hotels do this. The location was great, and the only draw-back in my mind was the somewhat seedy street. At night it felt a little sketchy and there were prostitutes around. It wasn't really scary though and I felt safe enough. Whenever you're in a city it's important to use common sense! We booked in at around 650.00 NOK per night. Good value, Great room, thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hilarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2006

Not a very good hotel, I am afraid. My room was small and somewhat worn, breakfast was below average for Norway, and the area surrounding the hotel is noisy and rather seedy.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews