We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Clean Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Comfortable Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are a family of three and stayed at this hotel for two nights in February. Unlike the other reviews, the room we had was a good size one with a comfortable bathroom. It was just like the room that was featured in one of the professional photographs. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinner included in the price. The food were delicious. Free coffee was available all day. The staff (including the kitchen and maintenace staff) were great and helpful. It took us about ten minutes to walk from the Oslo S central station to this hotel with two large bags on the icy and slippery road in February. We found the surrounding area aorund the hotel very safe. The Opera House, Parliment and National Gallery are all within easy walking distance. Norway is a beautiful country and the people are pleasant and friendly. We would stay in this hotel again if we ever return to Oslo

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mission7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    436
    146
    48
    26
See reviews for
197
429
115
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice and quaint but not somewhere you could stay for more than 2/3 nights. Beds and room are comfortable however there is nothing in the mini bar and I don't think there was any room service. The bathrooms you could say are quite unique in the use of space! Don't expect to be able to lift your arms or anything else in the shower, to say it was tight is an understatement and I'm 6ft and 80kg so not exactly large. Overall not bad for a couple of nights if your on biz or quick stop thru Oslo. Beware of the night workers on the street after dark though! Which is known ad the area for this by the locals

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squealer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is located close to the Vippetangen harbor, which is where some boats arrive from other countries and also where the small ferries to the small islands in the Oslo fjord go from, which is nice for sightseeing on the islands. It's also about a 5-minute walk to the Central Station. The staff is very friendly, helpful and service-minded. Another plus is that they serve not just breakfast, but also lunch and dinner included in the price, which was very helpful for me. I think my room was very cold. I tried tweaking the thermostat, but it didn't seem to have an impact. I never contacted the staff about this though. They might've had a solution for me. Also, both regular phone reception (for cell phones) and 3G (mobile data) reception was very bad in my room, so I had to rely on the hotel's wifi to use the Internet. Wifi is also included in the hotel room so that wasn't much of a problem, but the Internet service they provide is delivered by Telenor that requires a conference code each time you log in. That would be nice if it were only for logging in once a day or something like that, but I had to log in almost every single time I turned on the screen on my phone, even after just being 5 minutes idle. This was a slight annoyance. The bed was comfortable and there was an option to elevate your back etc., which was very helpful at times. All in all a good experience with the hotel though and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjetil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We walked past the red light district and Salvation Army to find this place and were worried! It turned out to be unnecessary. We were greater by friendly staff who were great with our kids aged 7 and 2 we got a free upgrade to a large family room with interconnecting child's room. We received breakfast, afternoon pancakes and an evening meal included in the price (drinks extra) but we didn't Ming paying for hotel wine when everything else was such good value. By comparison we could not even get a Burger King dinner for our family for less than £35 in Oslo. Excellent value in an overpriced city. Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rooms are crasy small. In the bathroom jast a soap even mini bar is emty- no water, no beer, no juice nothing. Feels like you are in 3 stars hotel. Most terrible it is kitchen. If you are not norvegian and don,t like broun cheese or pancaces with jam then it is nothing to eat. Dirty plates in restoran feels that they are washing dishes by hands. Muslim cook making food with indian spices, omlet from pulver. In the lounge 4 kinds of spagetti salads (cold spagetti) without salt, peper jast something inside. Even if you are very hungry better to go and eat in sushi bar next street. In Italy from the same products you can get delicacyes. I think that in this hotel administration should remember that it is not only scandinavian people coming to Oslo. Very poor

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnzelikaZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Was in Oslo for 1 night on business. Found this hotel using Hotwire so got a great rate given the high prices in this city. My room was extremely small with a tiny bathroom, but it was spotlessly clean and very peaceful. Didn't eat here but walked into the town centre.

The area is a bit run down, with a hostel nearby and other late night people hanging around.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I would like to share my great experience in this hotel, I have stayed there many times and each time it was perfect. Gym, food - breakfast and dinner, rooms, people.
I really like it and advise to everyone this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing