We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium avarage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Medium avarage”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Clean room and comfortable, but as the first choice from tripadvisor I was expecting more...
the breakfast and the dining room are normal, the concierge is efficient.
The position is good, close to the central station, I got a room with a nice view of the opera house, but in the morning I was woken up by the noise coming of works from the street.
In Oslo you can find something better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    452
    154
    49
    29
See reviews for
206
448
116
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This has a good location: short walk to city centre and the Opera House. However, the street itself is not very salubrious. Although we never felt at all threatened, there were various unsavoury characters out on the street (in -12 degrees!). I think the neighbourhood is undergoing some significant redevelopment, which means a fair amount of construction. We had room 412 which was completely quiet. Beds were comfortable, though the room was a bit dimly lit. Excellent bathroom, though only basic toiletries are provided. Which is fair enough.
Nowhere in Oslo is cheap, but this hotel offers buffet breakfast with hot and cold food, pancakes in the afternoon and a buffet in the evening. These meals are worth a lot of money, and make it really good value.
Warm welcome, and efficient room cleaning, so all in all we felt it was a good choice and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Front rooms could perhaps be noisy. Room 412 was coimpletely silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster,pa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

First off, this hotel is a 5 minute walk to the train station. It is across the water from the opera house too. It is a decent location for downtown Oslo. You can basically walk to everything. The longest walk was probably to the Munch Museum and Botanical gardens (15 / 20 mins ).
The rooms were standard, nothing too fancy. Clean, comfortable, but this is not why the hotel gets a great review. The hotel has a free "light dinner" every night. It is far from light. I did not have to buy dinner while staying here. There was a lot of food every night (salmon,chicken,pasta). They also have a free coffee machine in the lobby that makes all kinds of drinks. In the early afternoon up until dinner starts, they have a bowl of pancake batter next to a griddle, so you can just make your own pancakes whenever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Bastion is nice enough, but a bit worn down. The superior room that I had booked was a bit cramped, and lacked some amenities. The Clarion Collection hotels provides you with good quality breakfasts, and the light evening buffet included in your stay. This is nice, but Bastion does not quite deliver in the same way as i.e. Folketeateret does. Beads are great, and the rooms that I have stayed in have all been clean and quiet. The WiFi access is included, and high speed.

The staff is very friendly, and the hotels finest asset. I have stayed at this hotel a few times before, and I always feel welcome. Even though Bastion is situated in the city centre, within walking distance to just about anything you need, you will find it in a bit shady neighborhood. Walking from and to the hotel in the evening is not quite as comfortable as it should be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makeni05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel. We chose it for our first 2 days in Norway and we had a very quiet room so that we could sleep well after a long flight from Australia. It was just perfect for us. The hotel is a short flat easy walk from Oslo Central station and close to all forms of transport, shops and also the Opera House on the harbour. Check in was late -around 3pm - but you could drop off your luggage earlier in the day and the hotel stored it in a locked room. The staff were also happy and helpful - a lovely thing to experience. yes, the room was small but we have found many European hotel rooms are small like this. It was not a problem for us but if you have a lot of stuff or are very tall then the rooms or tiny shower cubicle may not suit you. There were some spacious deluxe suites available but they cost extra.Heating temperature was excellent. Breakfast was a delicious buffet- hot and cold selection-and The evening buffet was a real surprise - quality food both nights eg baked salmon with vegetable soup always available. You can also make yourself some pancakes in the afternoon when you return from sight-seeing. Tis saves you from spending money for afternoon teas! All in all we were very happy and felt very welcome in this hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard have no view but are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svedala, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed one night at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion.
I originally booked it because the rate includes the free dinner buffet.
I was very pleasantly surprised by the very courteous and service minded staff. I really felt welcome.
The location is in central Oslo a short walk from the central station and main shopping street.
The room was nice and clean.
The free dinner buffet was tasty and with a main course and cheese and crackers to round off with.
Their fitness room is basic but with new machines and you can get a good work out.

Overall the room rate was excellent value considering that it includes a free dinner. Eating out in Oslo is quite expensive.

i will defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night, fair enough, the food was delicious, and generous. But some details were not right - maybe it is out of season, but still, it was our first time in Oslo, was not the best. Heating was not really working - it was cold, even if we're coming from the Uk, so we're used to the lack of heating. Sauna was not working also, and unfortunately had problems with the cards for our room (staff tried to be nice, offered some drinks because of the inconvenience - which in the end we've never got...)
All in all, because of the food, it is a good value for money, but the area is quite bad, so I would not recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GKKanyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,059 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing