We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, excellent service and good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Svedala, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, excellent service and good facilities”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed one night at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion.
I originally booked it because the rate includes the free dinner buffet.
I was very pleasantly surprised by the very courteous and service minded staff. I really felt welcome.
The location is in central Oslo a short walk from the central station and main shopping street.
The room was nice and clean.
The free dinner buffet was tasty and with a main course and cheese and crackers to round off with.
Their fitness room is basic but with new machines and you can get a good work out.

Overall the room rate was excellent value considering that it includes a free dinner. Eating out in Oslo is quite expensive.

i will defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    452
    154
    49
    29
See reviews for
206
448
116
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night, fair enough, the food was delicious, and generous. But some details were not right - maybe it is out of season, but still, it was our first time in Oslo, was not the best. Heating was not really working - it was cold, even if we're coming from the Uk, so we're used to the lack of heating. Sauna was not working also, and unfortunately had problems with the cards for our room (staff tried to be nice, offered some drinks because of the inconvenience - which in the end we've never got...)
All in all, because of the food, it is a good value for money, but the area is quite bad, so I would not recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GKKanyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
428 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Old but ok for a short stay , but not for a longer stay , rooms old and worn like the rest of the hotel. Breakfast ok , but diningroom way to smal for the croud. We did not feel comfotable at all. We will must certainly not be comming back

Room Tip: The rooms are very worn and could do with a make over
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tor Steinar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Girls weekend in Oslo, we chose to upgrade to a mini suite, and the room was comfortable and spacious, adjustable bed control, whirlpool bath. The evening buffet was what I would consider at full meal, tasty hot dish and salad bar with breads and cheeses. All the staff were helpful and friendly but the staff at the restaurant made the stay extra pleasant, because we were at a seminar that weekend and needed some fruit for an dressup game we were doing ( bananas for microphones was our idea at breakfast) so I told the waiter about our project and could he help with a few bananas, and he did :-) And not only that we got a bag of cupcakes for our group. So that made a great start to the day. All in all a very homey relaxed atmosphere. Definitely our choice next time we are away for a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toodeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Bastion for 2 nights in October 2012. The hotel is well located close to the train station (and so easy access from the airport) and most of the main attractions are easily within walking distance or you can get the tram from the train station.

The deluxe rooms are just wonderful. There is a lot of construction going on outside the hotel right now but you do not hear this at all so nothing to be worried about.

They advertise a light supper as being included but it is actually a full dinner with soup, a hot dish and salad bar and both nights it was absolutely delicious. So were the pancakes in the afternoon and a nice break from sightseeing.

This hotel fully deserves its high trip advisor rating.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms on the 6th floor are just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you're looking for a friendly home in Oslo, for leisure or business choose the central located Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion. The friendly staff will warm your soul, even during cold winter times.

Price performance is great with a waffle buffet in the afternoon, a light evening buffet and of course a nice breakfast buffet as well.

Rooms are clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank René B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Top part of visit was staff (thanks Harald for your enthusiasm), and little extras - good free breakfast (griddle to cook your own eggs, pancakes), and light dinner. And when I needed to check out early am for a flight, a prepared breakfast sandwich was offered. Hotel was clean with nice workout area downstairs. Downside was the area. Not far from railway station/downtown but not a lot around nearby except some strip clubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compassjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,059 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing