We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DINNER BUFFET!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice quaint hotel, GREAT dinner buffet! Small, but very tasteful and real surprise to us. Food is VERY expensive in Oslo and having free Internet, free b-fast, free (great) dinner and a very friendly staff helped make the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fogdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights, mid-way through a Norwegian odyssey. We arrived early in the morning after an exhausting journey and were welcomed warmly. Sadly our room wasn't ready until the afternoon but we had coffee and were offered use of the laundry (free) until we were recovered enough to explore Oslo. The hotel is very near the city centre, station, opera etc so location is excellent for tourism. We wheeled our cases from the station, but got a taxi when we left - so its doable but we did have 4 cases so took the easy option at the end! The major construction works outside were ugly but did not detract from our stay - there was no noise/dust etc during our mid-week stay. The immediate area is "rough round the edges" with some interesting characters, but not sordid or threatening. Just not pretty. The convenience factor outweighed this temporary issue.

The room was great, we had masses of luggage but no problems storing it like other reviewers. Beds comfortable and bathroom lovely. Everything spotlessly clean. Free wi-fi.

The real bonus of this hotel is the lovely food - the breakfast is served in a quirky room which feels like a private house dining room, the range of food excellent, and constantly replenished. We made sandwiches and took them with us for picnic lunches. Then on return there was the "dish of the day" type supper - this was always lovely, well-cooked and very welcome. We had soup, hot main course, salads and small cakes for pudding. Free coffee and tea all day. So all in all this is a BARGAIN - you are getting full-board effectively for a bed and breakfast rate!

Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Tourists: get the Oslo Card and plan your visits (it lasts 24 hours from first use which is handy to get to your destination the next day!) Students get a discount too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We walked from the train station pulling luggage and it was not easy with all of the construction around. The room we got was extremeley small with no where to put luggage. The bathroom could only fit one person and the shower was like a hose coming out of the wall. Like the smallest room you could get on a cruise ship. We got a free upgrade for the next night and it was much better. At least we could walk around the room and had a place to put some things in the bathroom. On the plus side the staff is very helpful and the location is great. The breakfast and evening buffets are free and pretty nice. Would not stay here again as I think there are better choices.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Francesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Staff at hotel very nice. Our room was facing the front and we were unaware that the street oposite us was totally torn up and construction. The first day of our stay, there was noise throught the day....dump trucks moving building materials. This was on a Friday and luckily the following day (Saturday) there were no workmen. Room was so tiny, like a box and tiny minimal bathroom. We could hardly move around. On the plus side, there was a buffet breakfast which was totally acceptable and then there was a dinner buffet....one main dish, good pot of soup and some salads, etc. This was all included in the price of the room. We could walk to the center of town...about 6 or 7 minutes.

We would probably not return to this hotel as it was just too basic. Oslo is a very expensive city. A 20 minutes ride by taxi to the airport from the hotel on a Sunday morning was $150. We won't be returning to Oslo.

Room Tip: I wouldn't chose a room facing front of hotel until construction is finished...probably a year o...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was close to the Opera for a night out and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
There was a gym downstairs but we didn't use it as the staff gave us a running map from the hotel.
The included breakfasts and suppers were very nice.
Overall comfortable room with big spa bath, and good experience.
Only downside was the building site currently opposite the hotel but this didn't affect our stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I spent two perfect nights at this hotel in late August and very much wished we had been able to spend more. The hotel upgraded us to a better sized room for our luggage at no additional cost. The seventh floor room felt light, airy, and spacious with an amazing view of an old city being reborn, extremely comfortable beds, a fine bath with good shower, and quirky and charming furniture, good light, excellent reading lights, and high ceilings. The hotel offered excellent buffets free of charge for breakfast and dinner, plus a free mid afternoon Norwegian pancake blowout with coffee, tea, pancakes and jams as a sort of high tea. This novel arrangement allowed guests to eat three meals free of charge at the hotel if they so chose. The hotel had not only a free washer and drier, but also a nice lounge area and a sort of bar area outside the breakfast/buffet room where you can buy an inexpensive beer or wine in the evening. The staff were the most helpful, friendly, and kind of all the seven different accomodations we stayed at in Scandinavia during our recent month long trip. We strolled down to the city hall where we found on the water front an Asian Festival of huge proportions with wonderful music and tasty food, plus numerous harbor boat ride offereings that we enjoyed. We had no problems with smells, noise, or other issues during our stay and very much enjoyed this hotel, which we found to be excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room and explain if you need a larger room because you have more luggage. The staf...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeVOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights in a twin standard room,it was spotlessly clean and comfortableThe shower /bathroom would be better if changed to a wetroom..The room was on the seventh floor which helped with the lessening of the construction noise although it only woke us up one morning.
The breakfast and light dinner was adequate and tasty,
We thought the situation of the hotel was very good for sightseeing and accessing public transport.
We bought the Oslo Pass well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $154 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing