We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the street presence - the hotel and staff are actually very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ignore the street presence - the hotel and staff are actually very good”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

To be honest, the Clarion is not ideally located. It's within walking distance to most central Oslo attractions but the immediate area is quite run down - almost down and out - though major shopping areas are very close by. The hotel itself could do with a bit of an upgrade, though to be fair the rooms are clean, spacious by european standards and quite well appointed. But (recent activities aside) Oslo is a very safe place and you can catch a range of public transport from quite close by. The staff are friendly, helpful and a bit quirky, and the breakfast, afternoon snacks and buffet dinner make staying in what is a very expensive city seem reasonable. An added bonus for those of us who are on the road for extended periods is the onsite laundry - allowing you to catch up on a bit of washing. Compared to some scandinavian modern properties not too far away the Clarion Bastion offered a pleasant home on Oslo.

Room Tip: If it's in summer you might want to upgrade to a rom with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMJAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    441
    148
    48
    28
See reviews for
201
435
116
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
280 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Everything that recent reviewers have said is absolutely true. My wife and I spent 4 days in July at the hotel prior to a Baltic cruise and the Clarion Bastion was our home base. As has been said, the front desk staff was stellar, the breakfast and dinner buffets were more than adequate (although I would argue that they were not as good as some have indicated) and the meal prices (free) were certainly unbeatable. We did not have occasion to make afternoon waffles/pancakes since we were out touring and seeing the sites but upon return we were always greeted by the friendly staff, cold water, and fresh fruit.

Something that is not stressed enough is the location of the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of many of the most important and interesting sites in Oslo: the Oslo Opera House, the Karl Johans gate, the central train & bus station, the visitor information center, etc. Yes, there is highway construction in front of the hotel but it’s only during the day and although unsightly, not a huge deterrent to staying at the hotel.

Unfortunately, like all big cities, Oslo has a small population of drug users and we encountered them on a regular basis when walking along the water front and to/from the Opera House. We never felt threatened by them but maybe we should have. Although a sad commentary on society in general, I do not believe that this is a deterrent to staying at the hotel.

The bottom line, a great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockymountainrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was a boutique hotel with lovely friendly staff. There was a relaxed atmosphere and the family room represented good value for money and was spacious - 302.
The inclusive evening buffet offered good home cooked food along with the make your own afternoon waffles - much appreciated in a city where the cost of eating out is so high.
Lovely areas to sit and relax. Highly recommended. I would stay here again.
Hotel is located in an area of Oslo that is undergoing a lot of building work. Noise levels were high from approx. 7am not a problem for us but it would be if you wanted to lie in!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Such a great find. They have many complimentary offers including afternoon waffles, evening buffet. The breakfast had a good selection. The hotel is centrally located and all the tourists sites are couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel1Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

What a little hidden gem! Just home from a wonderful week staying in this hotel, Fantastic, helpful staff and great food available all day long. You'll never be hungry staying at this hotel. OK area is not great outside, roadworks directly in front of hotel, but sometimes you just have to put up with these things for the better improvement of the area. Oslo is a wonderful city but extremely expensive so having meals at the hotel is of great benefit to your wallet. Did experience some unsavoury persons in the street outside but they never proved a problem to anyonel. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Oslo. Well done to everyone in CCHB.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel appear to have best views, but beware of the current roadworks !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great Hotel, great staff, especially in reception, good value for money as it includes buffet breakfast & evening meal. Plus all day tea & coffee in reception & big jugs of ice cold water & clean glasses. Between 3om & 6pm you can make your own pancakes too. Our room had an iron, hairdrier, fridge & kettle. Great for early morning tea in bed ! Good comfy beds with white sheets & super soft duvets.
Good location 5 mins from Central station & 10mins walk from Central bus station. Also 10 mins walk from DFDS ferry from Denmark. Very close to tram & bus stops into city.

Room Tip: Our room was in the older part on the first floor front which we found quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaStokeontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just got back yesterday from a 17 night stay in this hotel. We got a standardroom 703, wich was nicely appointed. I requested a room with wooden floors because I have asthma and got a reply on my e-mail the same day that they had a nice room for us. It was treu. The bedroom was a good size, the bathroom small but clean, so OK. The nice cleaninglady even vacumed our room when I asked her too because of my asthma. With the warm weather in Oslo during the last days of our stay we really missed a good airco, since the room was very warm.
The breakfast was wonderfull and also the dinner was fantastic! During our stay we never had the same dinner, wich is hard to do when you stay for a long time but they managed to surprise us every evening.
The staff is something else. We have traveled all over the world, but never came across hotelstaff this friendly. They truely love their job, and will help you whenever they can! If I was manager of this Hotel, I would call myself very lucky with staff like this!

Since last monday the workforce started working the constructionsite again, so there was some noice because we had our windows open. It did not bother us to much because we are early birds, but they start at 7 or so.

There are indeed some junks around in the neighbourhood, but you got that in every city. That would be the only downside I could think off.

Room Tip: You need to lock the door to your room with the same card you unlock it with. If you forget this the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear "Urssie" from the Netherlands,

I just wanted to thank you so much for your very very nice review. I fully agree with you,- I am luckey to have these great staff, working in all departments, as my wonderful and especially important for us,- as you stayed with us for almost three weeks, in the hotels busiest period, with a lot of travellers. We are especially happy that you enjoyed our complementary evening meal,- for the summer we served a "evening snack and light dinner buffet" to meet demands as we had so many guests. During business months, we normally have a "teaser" buffet, with small individual serving of cold and warm teasers in addition.For your next stay,- ask for a De Lux room if you are staying long,- individually airconditioned, a large bathroom, and electrical beds.

A warm welcome back!

Best regards
Hilde Hammervold- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing