We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a family, but basic”
Review of Furukroa

Furukroa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oslo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Furukroa
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Our family of 4 recently stayed a couple nights in a family suite at Furukroa in Flam.

On the plus side our room was spacious (critical with two kids under 10), it had a nice view, and I had possibly the best salmon I've ever tasted at the attached restaurant.

On the downside were important things like the beds being uncomfortable (foam "beds" in the bedroom and a shockingly bad pullout sofa), minor details such as stocking the room with Tetley tea, and curious design decisions such as the locked toilet paper dispenser that made it virtually impossible for non-contortionists with adult-sized hands to get more than 1 small square of tissue (is TP theft really that big a problem in Norway?)

For ~£170/night (admittedly, a bargain in Norway) I expect drinkable tea.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank AndybinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2006

This small hotel is a gem. We had tried to stay at a larger hotel nearby, however, this was booked out. We found the Furukroa via their website. There are only a small number of rooms, but the location is fantastic! From our balcony, we looked directly onto the fjord.

The room was large, with a separate bedroom. There was a large living space, and the bathroom was of an excellent standard. The breakfast buffet was generous.

My only complaint would be that breakfast is not served until 8.00am which makes it difficult if you wish to catch the first Flambana railway (at time of writing this left at 8.35 am).

Otherwise, thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, WI
526
Reviewed December 31, 2005

A tiny little place with only a few rooms, but ours was clean and quiet. We had a private balcony; but, the weather was cold enough in late June that we couldn't thoroughly enjoy it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was delicious. A nice getaway on our long trip.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2004

We stayed here for one night at the end of August. The room was basic but clean. There was a minibar and TV with basic channels only - no english ones! The bathroom felt a little like a public bathroom, rather than a hotel one - white plastic everywhere, with wall dispensers for hand soap.

There are about 8 rooms in the hotel, and it seemed that the other 7 were taken up by a group trip of teenagers - loud music, loud teenagers running up and down the corridor wasn't much fun - but it calmed down by midnight-ish.

The staff are great - really friendly, helpful, and made us feel very welcome. The views from the hotel are fantastic, and the location is excellent - right in the middle of the tourist centre in Flam. It's literally 2 doors down from the Flam train station!

The food options are fab - there's a fast food counter doing burgers etc, an ice cream stand and a bar and restaurant with a good menu that included 2 options for vegetarians which was ace for my veggie Husband. I had the beef tenderloin with garlic mash and it was gorgeous! Prices were a little cheaper than Oslo, which made it even better!!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslo
Flam Ferdaminne
#3 of 4 in Flam
82 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
412 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furukroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furukroa

Address: Flam Turistsenter A/S | Flåm, Oslo 5743, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Furukroa Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing