We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice fish”
Review of VulkanFisk

VulkanFisk
Ranked #55 of 1,795 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $58
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Ultra fresh seafood with large associated fish counter
Reviewed April 25, 2019

The restaurant is located inside the Vulcano food center, in a nice area quite far from the city centre. Here we ate the best fish in Oslo. Even though the prices are the same as other restaurants in the city, the quality is far better and the portions are larger than the average (not too large, though). The restaurant tend to be full in the evening expecially during the week-end. We ate fish and chips (nice), mussels (very good), fish soup (tasty but not so large portion) and fried scampi (excellent, but small portion).

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Piergiorgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 533 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

We booked a table for good Friday and were glad that we did as the place was pretty full at 8pm. We ordered the scampi and the fish soup and both meals were lovely. The only downside was that the portion size of our meals was quite small as compared to the fish and chips. If you are looking for fresh, well cooked seafood in a modern setting then you can’t go wrong with this place.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Bargainhunter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

I went 2 weeks ago with my wife for a lovely weekend, we discovered this place and I've tried their halibut.
It was unbelievable nice, not that expensive for the quality and for the prices compared with the lifestyle of the country.
Definitely to do it again.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank nicolao2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

We ate at the Mathallen Food Hall and ordered a variety of dishes from the food stalls around including quite a number from VulkanFisk such as the Norwegian Oysters, Catch of the day which was cod on beetroot risotto, the mussels in a pot (though small, were delicious) and the black pepper king crab legs. The seafood was fresh and prepared perfectly. The King Crab legs were one of the best i've had...sweet and succulent and most importantly not overcooked...the sweet and peppery flavours were awesome too and great for an asian who was missing some spicy flavours.

Although we didn't sit inside VulkanFisk, the ambience inside was warm and comfortable when we went in to order. Order is also fuss free, and they will provide you with a table device that will beep once the food is ready.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DoraTheExplorerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Loved our meal. Fast service and food of excellent quality and presentation. We opted for "Fish & Chips" and "Fish Soup".
The price a bit high.
Market with very good ambiance!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sofia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VulkanFisk also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to VulkanFisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing