We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tiny room, but great value for money in a fantastic location!”
Review of Smarthotel Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smarthotel Oslo
Ranked #36 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Booked this room for a two night stay in Oslo in June, 2014. Room is tiny to say the least... two persons would not be able to manoeuvre themselves comfortably within the little space. Saying that, the value for the room is amazing, considering sky high Norwegian pricing. I paid approximately €160 for two nights, for a double room. We had free wifi, which had a very good connection. Room also had a TV with some great channels. Bathroom was tiny, in correlation to room size of course, but manageable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was GREAT! Only about ten minutes away from the port! Some great gardens and parks around the area and some lovely museums. Also about five minutes away from the National Theatre train station, so that's also an added bonus. No need for buses or taxis to get to the train! All in all well worth it. I would stay in this place again should I revisit Oslo :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDeb0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 978 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our first time in Oslo. What a great find this hotel was. Conveniently located with free bicycle rentals available. Walking distance from the port (best seafood) and shopping. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Public transportation just two blocks away that will take you anywhere in the city. Great for layovers if you have 24 hours to kill. The Smarthotel was a great experience and I will seek them out in other cities. We don't spend much time in our rooms so this was perfect. The breakfast was abundant and tasty. Communal seating makes for interesting conversations. If you prefer to eat by yourself that is also an option. I highly recommend this hotel and its location.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was efficient with the largest bathroom I have ever seen in a hostel. We trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthgoddess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is a little tricky to find on foot as the original street is split into several parts that do not appear connected on he modern street plan. The hotel is modern, clean and efficient. The room was big enough, although he bathroom seemed to be he same size as eh bedroom. he hotel is in a great location for the city centre but still very quiet. I was impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here for one night in late July, high season for tourists and hotel prices in Oslo. I easily booked the hotel online and check in was very straightforward. The room was small (I agree with the other reviews) but well appointed. I paid an extra 100 NOK for a double room so the bed was a little wider than the singles. The basic price of the room does not include breakfast but does include Wi-Fi. Everything was clean and the hotel is worth the money. Two notes, if you have a lot of luggage it will be a challenge to get it in the room and if you want to do any work in the room it will be a tight squeeze.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ScottK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I booked this hotel for its central position and a price which seemed acceptable for Norway. The position is very good but the rooms are not just small, they are the smallest I have ever seen. Suitable for hobbits. You have to choose if to fit your luggage inside or walk to the bed which is in a niche and small for two people. No cupboard if you don't want to call cupboard two hangers on a very "stylish" panel on the wall. The bathroom has an incredibly tiny wash-basin and a corner which is transformed into a microscopic shower by moving two transparent panels. No shower cap, no shampoo. If you have a car there is no parking but they send you to a parking nearby where you spend 40 euros (about 30 GBP or 50$) for one night!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

If this were a cheap hostel the double room would still be ridiculously tiny...if you plan to be able to fit your luggage in the room and still walk from bed to door stay somewhere else.

The hotel has no parking so you need to park in a tunnel about 5 min away (I was given extremely confusing directions from the receptionist, ie "go straight along this road" when actually the road takes a 90degree turn).

Maybe Oslo is just out of this world expensive but this feels like a total rip off.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Luigi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night in July with my family. The room was clean, the staff was nice, the location was superb and the price was right.

The only -was the size of the room as this time we had alot of baggage. If you're travelling light then this is not a problem.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SigurdurMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,681 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#66 of 102 in Oslo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
P-Hotels Oslo
#87 of 102 in Oslo
512 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#40 of 102 in Oslo
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarthotel Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarthotel Oslo

Address: St. Olavs gate 26, Oslo 0166, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $84 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarthotel Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smarthotel Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing