We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Price and Facility are Great”
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location, Price and Facility are Great”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is a bare minimum hotel. A couple things to know when booking this hotel:

1) They service the rooms only once a week. Means no daily clean towels, freshly made beds or empty trash cans.
2) No hair dyers in room - HOWEVER they have then at the front desk. I almost lost my marbles on this one b/c I didn't pack a blow dryer and no where on the site or reviews said there wasn't one in the room. Just ask the front desk and you are covered.
3) No TVs in room. Which for us - is fine. They have 2 tvs in the lobby which you can enjoy 24 hours.
4) Wi-Fi is great. Strong wifi in all the areas of the hotel: room and common areas.
5) Mini Kitchen in Lobby: Norway is expensive and it is a nice option that they offer a minimal kitchen area. Small fridge to store items, a microwave to heat things up, hot water kettle, vending machine, plastic utensils to use if eating at the hotel. We hit up the grocery store daily for our meals and were able to eat in the lobby. It was perfect. They do have a coffee machine for 10 kr but there was no sugar so coffee wasn't as good as going out. But the price is about 10-25kr less than going out. Your choice.
6) Location - it is right in the middle of everything that is happening in Oslo. If you are here to see the sites and walk around - it's the best location.
7) Staff is very friendly: We had a few people working "host" while there and every single person was beyond helpful.

So to recap the hotel, It was not the cheapest hotel we found - we found a few for about $30USD less but it had everything we needed. I was with my husband and we ordered the double small room which was still larger than some hotel rooms in other cities in Europe. It allowed us to be independent and is set up for people looking to visit Oslo on a budget - which was out type of trip. If when looking for hotels - this hotel fits your budget - we recommend it.

One side note, not to do with the hotel: Norway has a law that they cannot sell alcohol of any kind after 6:00 PM (18:00) - and none on Sundays. Drinking out can be VERY expensive - so recommend either hitting up a duty free during your flight OR getting to the store before 6.

Oslo is a great city! Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi GoGlobalTravel!

Thank you so much for a thorough and great review!

You are absolutely right in pointing out that we do not do daily cleaning (only if you stay for more than 4 nights). But for those who prefer daily cleaning, we can gladly arrange that for an extra charge of NOK 150 per day. If you want extra towels, you can stop by the Citybox Host Office any time!

Since we do not have TVs in the room, we have upgraded our Wi-Fi so you can stream whatever you prefer to your computer or smartphone!

Actually you can choose to add sugar on our coffee machine, but hope we after all were sweet enough! :)

We might not always be the cheapeast option (our prices vary), but most of the times we are, particulary if you prefer not having a shared bathroom! At least we do our best to offer value for money, and we are glad to see that you agree!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    788
    208
    43
    17
See reviews for
196
606
229
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel public area & interior space are new, modern, and clean. The bedroom and toilet is really nice. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is really close to the train station and main street. The automated check in/out service is great; however, if your credit card don't have pin number, you must need help from staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoon_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Mollymoon_26!

Wow! Thank you so much for a great review! :)

So glad to hear that you liked our concept and style!
We are hoping to in the future have a system that accept cards without pin, but unfortunately that is not possible just yet!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel is a quick walk from the station (less than 5 minutes), making this easy to find as first time visitors to Oslo. Also a quick walk into the main part of Oslo and to the bus tours.
They do have a facility to store luggage - which was hugely helpful to us (as we arrived early in the morning).
Staff were friendly and helpful (our room wasn't ready when we came back from touring Oslo, but they were quick to get one for us). We also needed to get a gift delivered to the person who arranged our holiday and the person on duty was happy to help us out.
Rooms are basic (no tv, phone or kettle), but perfect for what we needed and very clean.
Check in and out is quick and easy and although booking was made via booking.com the hotel did respond quickly to emails that we sent them with queries.
We didn't make use of the facilities in the lobby, but it all looked very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda_R_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Brenda_R_Jhb!

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel!

Glad we could help with storage of your luggage! And the small gift you gave for the person coordinating your trip to Scandinavia really appreciated your gift! :-)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great hotel, does everything you need it to. Good location, nice, clean rooms, comfortable bed, the automated check in/out service works great, very efficient. We were able to check in about 2 hours early which was really handy as we only had one afternoon and night in Oslo. Great value for Norway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Maria N!

Thank you for a great review of our hotel!

We really appreciate to hear from our satisfied guests, and your kind words inspire us to do even better! Also glad that we could help you guys with an early check-in! :)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Citybox runs an entirely automated system - automated check in and out with entry to the hotel by key card. It's a pretty safe system so you feel secure at night. Plus there's always one member of staff there to help out.

We got a room on the top floor (we had 3 so we booked a room for 4). The room is very clean but there were a few minor issues:
The ceiling is quite low so on the upper bunk bed, one cannot sit up straight without hitting the ceiling. The part of ceiling above the bed looked a little dislodged so clearly others had suffered the same fate before us.

Being the attic, there was a diagonal bar running across the side of the bed and this was quite a hindrance and also dangerous as it blends into the wall - my dad walked into it a few times. Perhaps it would be good to paste some hazard tape on it?

The neighborhood is a little sketchy with a sex shop right next door and strip clubs 1-2 minutes away. However, with such prices, one can't be demanding with location. The location was already very ideal being within walking distance to Oslo S, Karl Johan's Gate and Jernbanetorget. Many of the city's attractions are also within walking distance.

If you are hungry, there is a communal microwave downstairs and a vending machine as well. The lobby area is pretty big and has TVs for you to watch.

All in all, good value for money.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mstrbmbztk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Mstrbmbztk!

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel!

Our system is designed to make the hotel as safe as possible, and we actually believe we have better control than most other hotels as you have to use your key three times before you are inside your room! Some might find using your keycard three times to get in is a bit too much, but we are happy to hear that you understand that this is for your own safety!

We are aware that in some of our family rooms there are quite a tight space between the top bed and the roof. Hopefully you didn't spend too much time sitting in your bed, and rather spent the time sleeping there - or exploring the city! :-)

As we couldn't locate which room you stayed in, we are a bit unsure as to what diagonal bar that blends into the wall that you are referring to? We would love it if you could contact us, and just let us know your room number, so we are able to check it out!

We are trying our best to be true value for money, and we are thrilled to hear that you found us to be just that!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We needed a bed in Oslo for 1 night. And as all places in downtown you will have to pay for parking if you come by car..... This hotel is close to most things in DT. Comming by train you will only have few blocks to walk. The rooms are small but clean, what you need is there; bed, a desk, a bathroom with shower etc. + free wifi.
There are no luxery here like minibar or tv, but for the most you don't need it.
The place doesn't offer any breakfast, but have a deal with a place around the corner. Don't know if you will get a discount here though......
But being in the midle of the DT you have bars, nightclubs, restaurants etc close by.
To get the best price book directly at their site and not thru a hotel search site, you save 15%.
At the hotel you do the check-in, during day time there are someone to help out. There is a back-office person availible....

Room Tip: get a room high up, less street noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Fredi B!

Thank you so much for a terrific review of our hotel!!

We are working on finding a different kind of breakfast deal with a third party, but as for now the place on the corner offer great baguettes and coffee for a reasonable amount. We also appreciate you referring to our web site for our best prices!

Your kind words inspire us to do even better!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed two nights and did not see a single staff member. Checkin and checkout is done with a machine and there is no daily cleaning service. That said, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern with a good hot, high-pressure shower and the room clean and quiet. Combined with excellent prices and a convenient location, this place is hard to beat. I would definitely stay again and make sure I book using the Citybox website, which saves an extra few pounds over booking sites like Booking.com

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Emily A!

Thanks you so much for your kind words on our hotel!

If you managed to stay here two nights without seeing a single staff member you are proof that our concept actually works!! :-)

We believe that the old fashioned "reception" is not really needed for everyone, and if that "receptionist" can do something else in stead of posing as a butler, we can manage with 1 person in stead of 2. And if we can manage with 1 person less than other hotels, we can offer you guys an even better rate on your room!

Thanks for recommending our website! As everyone else we also do need to earn money from somewhere, and if you book directly with us we save the money we have to pay to a third party, so you actually help us keep our prices low by booking directly with us!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#35 of 101 in Oslo
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Property: Citybox Oslo
Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing