We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for our generation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not for our generation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Whilst this is not the worst hotel we have ever stayed in (that would be the tree house in Sri Lanka) this comes a close second. Clearly it serves a certain genre and that's not us. Spartan and bland, lacking in any form of ambience or soul. One key at check in disallows you to do anything if your partner has nipped out for a coffee. The floor flooded after our shower and there was no soap. Cheap, thin towels and no hand towels. When we checked in the cleaners had left their trolleys at the entrance to our room which was untidy and unwelcoming. We did not see one staff member our entire stay.

The bed was comfy and the pillows were good.

Seedy part of town but close to walking street and the train station.

I believe you can get far better value at one of the other hotels in Oslo, but it was an experience (not to be repeated). As said, this hotel caters for a certain market and it simply is not ours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UndaraUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi UndaraUAE!

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel!

We completely understand if not everyone gets and likes our concept. Our concept is based on an idea that you travel to see the city, not the hotel. And by removing certain elements that are expensive for hotels, we can in return offer great prices!

Part of our idea is that if you do not need any staff, you actually don't have to see any staff. We are however monitoring the hotel through our cameras, and we magiacally appear when we are needed. This drastically reduces our costs compared to other hotels.

That being said, there were clearly a couple of issues that we should have dealt with during your stay;
For now our check-in machines only offer one key, but we are working on a technical solution that gives you the choice of an extra key. If you had contacted us, we would gladly have made you a second key! We do apologize for the lack of soap in your room! We will discuss the placement of the trolleys with our housekeepers, thanks for your input! Disappointed to hear that your shower left the bathroom flooded, we'll do a check on your room!

But we still believe we are one the hotels that offers true value for money, and we're sad to see that you don't agree. But even though we disagree on this point, we really appreciate your feedback, and we will do our outmost to get better!

Wish you all the best for the holidays!! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    745
    192
    41
    17
See reviews for
177
575
216
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katrineholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights . The check in system is extremely modern and your keys are issued via a payment terminal in the foyer. There are members of staff around if you run into difficulties. The rooms are newly decorated modern with a brightly colored plastic flooring. There is no Tv in the rooms , no smoking allowed with a fine of 1000 NOK if caught and also no room service. My room was without soap and my towel was quite wet throughout my stay. However the rooms are bright and fresh although can be slightly cold. Downstairs in the lobby are very modern expensive vending machines for snacks and a kettle and microwave. Although not cheap, its reasonably price for notoriously expensive Norway. The Location is very convenient as its just 5 min walk from Oslo central station, just tucked to the left down a side street from the main karljohangate. Although convenient this area was slightly seedy at night with dodgy looking characters hanging around . The area is used by african and Russian prostitutes. Although most cities close to railway stations seem to attract this type of person. The cleaning staff at the hotel were polish or from Thailand, one or two it has to be said were rather grumpy. To keep costs down shop in RIMI supermarket in central station they have bread roles for 2 NOK!

Room Tip: My friend stayed on the outer corner of the hotel facing skipper gate . She was kept awake all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi neil t!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

So glad to hear that you seemed to enjoy your stay with us!

Too bad if your towels got wet, we would've gladly replaced them if you had let us know! As we do not offer daily cleaning this is quite difficult for us to pick up on without you letting us know! Hope you were not to bothered by it!

We're actually quite surprised to hear that one of our housekeepers were grumpy? They are normally just amazingly happy and smiling, we actually look to them when we need cheering up! :)

As we are located in the city center, there can sometimes be less fortunate events ocurring nightime as there are in all city centers. We also find that in pretty much all city centers there are some noise. We tried our best to limit the noise by installing double windows on our lower floors, and also offer rooms facing your backyard for those with a light sleeping heart.

Even though "cheap" is a relative word, we truly believe that we offer genuin value for money here! That being said, we totally agree on that Oslo is one of the most expensive cities in the world!

Thank you again for a thorough and thoughtout review, we really appreciate it!
Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

For a quick stop over this hotel is perfect. It's new with simple but nice rooms. Centrally located in Oslo (close to bus and train station) with easy auto check in/check out. Rooms cover your basic needs and seemed to be spotlessly clean. Surprisingly nice bathroom! Also a nice seating area downstairs, where you'll find a computer and printer as well. Highly recommended if you are not looking to spend a lot of time in your room :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KoogleMoogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi KoogleMoogel!

Wow! Thanks for your amazing review of our hotel!

Who wants to spend lots of time inside their hotel room anyway? :)
We really appreciate you spreading the word about our hotel, and your review really sums up what we are trying to do here!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Right in the centre of Olso, with everything on your doorstep.

For clean, comfortable and very reasonable accommodation, you cannot beat the citybox!

My worries were that it was going to be cheap and nasty. It certainly wasn't! All expectations were quashed as soon as we got there... Modern design in the reception area and easy self check in. The room was warm and spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water in a great shower too.

Only had two towels though...you could ask for more if needed.

Don't expect plush gadget filled rooms...if you want a good nights sleep in a beautiful city...this is a super choice. (Spend the money saved on lovely food instead!!!)

I'd definitely recommend to anyone!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi LeicesterLiz!

Wow! Thanks for a fantastic review of our hotel!

"For clean, comfortable and very reasonable accommodation, you cannot beat the citybox!"
Don't expect plush gadget filled rooms...if you want a good nights sleep in a beautiful city...this is a super choice. (Spend the money saved on lovely food instead!!!)"

Such feedback serves as an inspiration for us working here, and be sure to know that we've shared this review with everyone! It gave us all a great start on this otherwise grey Monday!

As you even mention how you recommend spending the money elsewhere shows that you've also understand our concept! We believe that the hotel is not the destination for your trip, we just want to be the starting point of your journey!

Hope to see you with us again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what we needed for a quick one night stopover on the way to Alta. Auto checkin, checkout, very clean and great location near everything. We all had a good night's sleep.

This is the perfect place for staying 1-3 nights only.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KimSGov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hi Kim G!

Wow! Thanks for a great review of our hotel!
Hope to welcome you back to us!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for about 15 nights in Nov 2013 with a break of 2 nights in between. So had two bookings - 3 nights and 12 nights. The room was spotlessly clean. Basic stuff was provided. The bed was good and you can be assured of a good night's sleep. The bathroom was fairly spacious compared to the room itself ;) Ok, for the prices in Oslo, this is a real good choice. There is uninterrupted wi-fi all through which is very convenient. In fact, that is most important as there is no TV in the room. Very centrally located. Just step out and you are about 2 mins away from Jernbanetorget. That is pretty much the center of Oslo and connections are available by train/bus/tram to almost anywhere. Lot of places to eat out nearby. So overall, it is very convenient.
However I have one suggestion ! Why would you not have a washing machine and a dryer? It would do a world of good for long-staying guests. In fact, I had to go out searching for a place to wash and dry my clothes. The Royal Rens Vika was damn expensive. So but for a few shirts that I gave them, I had to find a selv vaskerie/mynt vaskerie in Ullevalsveien. It took me quite sometime to figure all this out. Could have been much easier if you had one in the hotel. Well, you can think about it !
Rest was all perfect ! No complaints whatsoever. I enjoyed my stay here, Thank you !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mshreedhaaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi mshreedhaaran!

Thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel!

We have seen that many of our guest point out that we are perfect for a short stay, so we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay of 12 nights!

We have actually upgraded your wifi since we do not have any TV's in the rooms, therefore you can stream whatever you like to your smartphone or laptop instead.

We've taken a note of your request for a washing machine and dryer, thanks for your input! However, there is a laundry less than 5 minutes from the hotel that is not so expensive?

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed in Citybox for 2 nights back in August. It was a pleasant stay and good value for money, considering Oslo is a very expensive city. It's ensuite and the bathroom is clean. Don't expect to have a view or with TV though. The location is excellent, next to the central station and the main shopping district and only 5-10 mins walk to the Opera House. I have actually saved money by staying in this hotel, as I didn't spend money on transportation, as it's in the right middle of everything. It's self check-in and check out, but there is always a nice friendly staff (in staff office) to help you out if needed.

Room Tip: There is a microwave and kettle in the lounge. If you are backpacking or low on budget, you can brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casablanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Casablanket!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

So glad to hear that you seemed to enjoy your concept, and that you found us to be good value for money!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Property: Citybox Oslo
Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing