We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Single room on the top floor (6th). Small but cute (just a bed and a desk with a chair). Very clean. Bathroom with shower (for thin and not tall people because the way to go to the toilet is very small). Electronic check in with your reservation number and your credit card. Possibility to have a hair dryer from the host desk. Near the central station, shopping streets. Nice wifi. So nothing to complain about.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Vagounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hi Vagounette!

Thanks for giving us our review number 100!

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our small single rooms in the 6th floor are not the largest, but we also find them to be cute! :)
And if you consider the low rate we are selling them for, we think you get a lot of hotel for a small amount of money!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
There are newer reviews for Citybox Oslo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a very nice and clean room with bathroom.
There's a common area with microwave and sink.
It's very central. Close to train station and one of the main streets.
Only one problem and it was easily solved: the room was not very warm but the staff quickly gave us a portable heat ventilator.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ana Filipa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hi Ana Filipa N!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We're sad to hear that you had some minor problems with the heating in your room, but glad that it all seemed to work out with help from one of our Citybox Hosts.
We located which room that you stayed in, and the heating is at least working now! Thanks for making us better!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This kind of hotel it's a bit different than other I've visited before but, it's not an inconvenient. It's located near the city center and a few meter away from public transports and the Opera. It's clean, has a fast WIFI connection but, our double bedroom was too small, instead it was clean.
In the ground floor there are a computer with an ink-jet printer (did you forget to print your boarding pass???) and some vending machines. So, a great value for your travel budget (spend your money out there!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimber81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi Jimber81!

Thank you for your review of our hotel!

So glad to hear that you found us to be a value for money hotel! :)
If you book one of our rooms that are categorized as "small", the room is indeed "small". But in return this room is even cheaper. And there's only a small extra charge for an upgrade to a larger room.

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Oslo is very expensive city. We tried to find a place which is convenient and not so expensive, so choose citybox.
It is just about 7~8 minutes walk away from the center railway station and we can go on foot to most famous sights in Oslo from here.
It was an interesting experience to live here. We've first seen the self check in and out machine. But you need a credit card with chip. But is also doesn't matter if you have any problem with check in and out. The staff is always ready to help you.
We lived in a triple room in the top. The room and bathroom are very clean. But consider that it is in Oslo, it is reasonable to have such a small room with this price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shruye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Shruye!

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel!

So glad to hear that you consider us to be a value for money hotel! And nice to hear that our Citybox Host could assist you!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The location is great, easy to find from the central station. You have to chek in with the machine in the lobby. Since I wanted to pay in cash, the receptionist opend the door and I was able to pay.
Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was like in description: small - but very nice. Modern style. Clean. It didn't have TV, but I didn't need one, so no problem:). The wi-fi worked very well.
All in all; i would stay there again.
The only "problem" is the night life a few streets from the hotel. You can easily encounter one of the "ladies of the night". But they were very friendly, even when I said no thanks:).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleks78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hi Aleks78!

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel!

The location is indeed great, and as we are located in the city center, there can sometimes be less fortunate events ocurring nightime as there are in all city centers.
But glad to see that you appreciate our "value for money" concept!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very easy to get to from Oslo Central.Staff were always helpful & cheerful, and the rooms were clean & well maintain. Really appreciated being able to check in early on our return stay, know it was luck there was a free room but the staff were awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateS1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hi KateS1515!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our Citybox Hosts supplied the help you needed! Your kind words inspire us to get even better!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location, 5 minutes walk from the train station. Easy to walk all around the city from this hotel and even take buses to go around if you prefer.

Very clean. Room was big enough for 2, with 2 single beds. Big bathroom, with a large shower. Big window and very quiet.

Very basic but all you need is there. Good Wifi and coffee machine and microwave downstairs very useful. Restaurants all around and supermarket 2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie_helene85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hi marie_helene85!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We try our best to be a true value for money hotel, and we are glad to see that you agree!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#40 of 102 in Oslo
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
829 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $87 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing