We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean. Close to the central station and to Karl Johans Gate.”
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice, new, and clean. Located near the central bus and train stations and close to Karl Johans Gate. Walking distance from the port, the city hall, and the palace. In spite of its good location relatively to the tourist attractions, the neighborhood is not a very nice after dark.
Unfortunately, the two windows in my room weren't sealed so I had a couple of cold nights.
Summary: Good for a low budget vacation in Oslo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imri_Uvda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Imri_Uvda!

Thanks for your great review of our hotel!

We do apologize if your windows were not properly sealed? We will get that checked out and corrected at once if that is the case! Thanks for letting us know!

As we are located in the city center, there can sometimes be less fortunate events ocurring nightime as there are in all city centers. We recommend being careful walking the streets at night in any city center!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I booked a room at CityBox from the airport, after my flight had been delayed for many hours, so I just chose to reschedule it and fly another day. So I booked from my smartphone and in less than 30min I was in my hotel room! Amazing! I took a regular train, walked from the central station for 2 minutes to the hotel, checked in by entering the booking number (via Booking.com), and the machine spitted out my key card. I was really impressed. And the price is OK for the (amazing) location and considering that Oslo is one of the most expensive cities in the world. You can actually do the whole booking and check-in process without talking to anyone, so it's very discreet as well (and reminded me of a Japanese love hotel). There is only one staff at the hotel and he will come out only if there are any issues. I got a double room and it was not a "box", but spacious enough. Marvelous view over Oslo S and skyscrapers. Very poor self-catering facilities (one microwave and a kettle), which is why I can't give 5 stars (a hot plate, a pan and a sink in the common area would have been nice). We left by throwing our key card in the bin and walking through the sliding doors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gutuAter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi gutuAter!

Thanks for your great review of our hotel!

Here at Citybox we love easy and practical solutions, and your story of how you booked a room on your smartphone and checked in with our machines 30 minutes later - shows exactly how easy and practical we can be! :)

Our staff who is here 24 hours a day is also monitoring our cameras, and will appear like a ghost if anybody needs help. As one of your fellow TA-reviewers said; "Better than a box" might just work as a slogan for us. :)

We would love to offer a hot plate in our kitchen, but there are some regulations from "Health and Safety" that we are forced to follow. We will however be expanding our kitchen with a fridge within the coming months!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stay this hotel for 1 night. Check in via the electronic machine but my credit card cannot swipe through due to overseas credit card and I proceed to the receptionist. She process my credit card and pass the key to my room.

The room was small. Just enough for two person. You don't have enough space to walk after putting your luggage. Suitable for the asian size but not the caucasian. Norway is an expensive country, and this is the cheapest I can find which is located centrally.

The internet is fast,the bed is good and also the shower which is very important since you will go out the whole day exploring Oslo. Check out is fast. Just drop the key at the electronic machine and you are ready to go.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi goldenmouse!

Thanks for a great review of our hotel!

Unfortunately the automatic checkin does not accept cards without PIN or chip, but glad that our Citybox-host could help out!

Our double/single rooms named "small", are in fact just that: "small". :)
But in return they are even cheaper than our normal double/single rooms. If you want a larger room, we recommend upgrading to one of our normal double/single rooms.

We agree that Norway and in particular Oslo is expensive, but we still try to give an affordable rate that is fair according to what we offer. And we are glad you seemed to find us as a "value for money hotel". :)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, forget it! If you are looking for TV in room, soaps and shower caps, forget it! This is a basic hotel - like Ryanair. It is a basic cost - and then if you want more, you have to pay for it. Excellent - you have the choice!

We stayed here to visit relatives and friends, and we thought it was well designed, and offered good value.

Norway is a very expensive city and this hotel allowed us more money to spend on the things that were important to us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi A R!

Thanks for your great review of our hotel!

You seem to both understand and like our concept, and we are glad to see that you are spreading the word about our hotel. Shower caps, who needs it? :)
We try our best to offer the basics, and if you book a flight with Ryanair and stay with Citybox - I'm sure you'll have some extra cash to spend somewhere else, and offer you an even better overall Oslo experience! :)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo


If you are looking for a luxury hotel, forget it! If you are looking for TV in room, soaps and shower caps, forget it! This is a basic hotel - like Ryanair. It is a basic cost - and then if you want more, you have to pay for it. Excellent - you have the choice!
We stayed here to visit relatives and friends, and we thought it was well designed, and offered good value.
Norway is a very expensive city and this hotel allowed us more money to spend on the things that were important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Citybox is what it says; a simple, clean hotel right in the heart of Oslo. It offers good value for money and while the automated approach is a little intimidating it works well. The communal spaces are well designed and offer a space to relax and grab snacks and everywhere is very clean. The room was light and modern with 'just enough' of everything for a short stay hotel. Comfy bed, great shower. An ideal place to explore Oslo from!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Jay H!

Thanks for spreading the word about our hotel!
Based on the comments you gave, we were almost hoping for a better score! :)
Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked this hotel based on TA reviews. Lived up to reviews, very helpful staff, we couldn't do automated check-in because our cc doesn't have a chip. Room small but adequate, very clean no soap only a bath towel, would definitely stay again. Good location

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmaddi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi rmaddi2!

Thanks for your great review of our hotel!
Glad to hear that you made a reservation with us based on the TA-reviews. We try our best to read and respond to all of the great feedback that is given to us through Tripadvisor. And we also try to listen to the suggestions offered here, and that is also why we are glad to announce that we will be installing a soap-dispenser inside the showers! So thanks to all who have suggested this, and helped to make us even better! We hope to have this in place within the next month!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good size room and excellent bathroom for a Scandinavian budget hotel, but there's no TV or coat hanger in room. Bed/sheets are immaculate and clean. On a quiet street but right next to the main shopping street of Oslo. Coveniently located a couple of blocks from Oslo Central train station (take the local NSB train from/to the airport, much cheaper than the express Flytoget train and fast enough). There's no reception desk and you must check in via an un-manned computer terminal and use a chip&pin credit card before you can get in the door; but there's a buzzer you can ring to get help from the cheerful office staff inside. Lobby has nice seating areas, a couple of TVs, coffee/candy machines, and microwave oven. Good/cheap coffee from the coffee machine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samargatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi samargatha!

Thanks for your great review of our hotel!
"Better than a box" could work as a tagline for our hotel. :)
Hope to welcome you back to us!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
858 reviews
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing