We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whaouuuuu”
Review of THE THIEF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE THIEF
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What to say ?

Amazing design
Welcoming: more than perfect
Service / information: over performing international standards which is VERY rare in Norway
Kids: more than welcome, the Chief did a plate as requested for our little girl.

No hesitation, best place in Oslo

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antoinee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your great " exclamation " concerning The Thief . Glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and i will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

My mother in law who is swedish says that Scandinavians do not do luxury. I think after our experience at the Thief Hotel she was proven wrong: The rooms are luxurious and beautifully appointed. There were yummy coffees and teas available in the room. The showers and bathrooms are modern and well designed. We had a cocktail at the bar and the bartender insisted I try a gin drink, and I hate gin, but it was amazing. The staff are all young and enthusiastic. I wish we had more time there. It was very expensive. But I totally disagree with Efficient traveller, there is nothing cheap about this hotel. I think he just had a bad experience. The only draw back was there is no gym yet, they are building a spa and should complete the whole project beautifully.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to receive your positive feedback as we rely on our guest to share the experience with us to help us improve our service . It was particularly pleasing to hear your comments concerning the staff and i will forward your thoughts to all the personnel. As you mentioned we open Thief Spa on the 14th March and we look forward to welcoming you back

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean, although the interior is dark and cheap.

However, service is non-existent:

In-room phones do not work for contacting the reception, or any guest service center, room service or housekeeping function for that sake.

If you call the hotel from out outside using your mobile, all you get is an automated voice menu and an unspecified wait for a reservation agent.

So you end up stranded in your room.

True horror - I will never come back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for sharing your views on The Thief
Unfortunately we did have a problem with the phones that we have now rectified . We did inform all our guests of the situation and we do understand the inconvenience this caused you . If you would like to contact me on your next visit to Oslo I´m sure i can show you the very enjoyable side of The Thief that the vast majority of our guests have experienced


Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very favourably impressed with this hotel - it makes a real change from the staid and boring normal fare. I can't wait to try the new Spa when it opens.

UPSIDES
Particularly appealing if you like modern art
Very comfortable rooms
Very well appointed rooms
Spacious bathroom
Very clean

DOWNSIDES
A doorman would be very helpful for luggage
The in-room dining menu is pitifully small!
In general there need to be a wider dining selections

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Greetings and many thank for your review of our property . Were very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back after the 14th March when we open our new Spa . Your very useful comments concerning the food & menu have been noted

Once again many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here in October for three nights for business/pleasure. It is a very good hotel, excellent facilities - it is a great improvement on the city's previous best offerings in my experience. Decor is comfortable, clever and fashionable - but we were a little disappointed that it feels like they have tried to simply copy similar design hotel concepts in other capital cities, without adding an especially Norwegian flavour to it.

We stayed in a deluxe room, it was comfortable with a good bathroom and fine view, some friends had a superior room which was almost the same as ours except considerably cheaper! If we return we wouldn't go for the deluxe but opt for the superior.

The restaurant has a small but very good menu - and actually good value for Oslo! Which was a pleasant surprise because the hotel itself is perhaps a little overpriced at the moment.

I will certainly return.

Room Tip: In our experience the deluxe room didn't offer a huge amount more than our friends' superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear so many positive comments concerning our new property . As a hotel we are supportive of the Norwegian art milieu and we have plenty of examples from major works of art to vases and blankets in almost all of the rooms . It would be a pleasure to show you around the hotel on your return .

We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Good quality hotel, with high level of service. Understated reception with attentive staff. The rooms are very comfortable, though is trained to see the Harbour from mine. Very high tech, with smart lighting that follows you around. The tech was my only negative, as I could not manage to turn the iPod alarm off. Heated floor bathroom nice for the winter, and an excellent comfortable bed. We had a business dinner in the restaurant which was very good indeed. Fantastic breakfast with good choice of English, continental or Scandinavian. Pricey, but memorable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to hear that you had such a good stay . Smart lighting has been a focus of ours as we have a policy to try and save energy where possible . As you mentioned the comfort of the bed is a recurring theme in many of the reviews and another focus point of ours .

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed at the Thief for 5 nights from Jan 19-24. Its my foruth stay and I will definatley come back. The hotel is without a doubt the best hotel in Oslo. It's modern, has a great interior, the service is impeccable and staff is always willing to help. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. Breakfast is served in an elegant restaurant and is neetly prepared with a typical Scandinavian flare. Take a look at the modern art pieces hanging on the walls and behind the glass in the elevator.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Yngvar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief
To be called the best hotel in town is a real honor and i will forward you thoughts to my colleagues

I would also like to thank you fr taking your time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Thief

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
398 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE THIEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE THIEF

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $355 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE THIEF 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your THE THIEF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing