We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern rooms and fantastic staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thief

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Thief
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
264 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Modern rooms and fantastic staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

From the airport pick up and return all was perfect.
Rooms are small but with great view to the bay. Staff was very friendly and always willing to help.
The girls at reception were fantastic from saturday till tuesday when we left
The moving pictures at both elevators were quite interesting.
The bathroom although medium size lacked more space for our own toiletries.
Very well located in the most modern area of Oslo, on man made isles with very nice restaurants, at just 10 minute walk from down town
Tom the driver that drove us around and Katrina from front desk deserve a high mark. If wasn't for the room being small hotel would get excellent rating.
When going back to Oslo, we will go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: 8th floor rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47carlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks or your review of our new property . Were very glad that you enjoyed your stay . The art work in the lifts is by Julian Opie and we had the pieces commissioned for the opening of the hotel . I will forward your thoughts to both Tom & Karina and the rest of the staff

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    259
    85
    29
    11
See reviews for
142
736
88
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel and very much enjoyed my stay. After living three years in Oslo I went back to visit my friends on the weekend and I tried to pick the best hotel to make my weekend even nicer. The hotel is located at an excellent location, posh area of Oslo. The staff at hotel are very professional, attentive, friendly and helpful. The check-in and check-out were very smooth and extremely fast. The minibar in hotel room and the bar in the hotel are very good. The room is very clean, perfectly designed and furnished. The bed is the most comfortable bed that I have ever experienced in a hotel ( I am business traveler and fly at least once a week with an overnight). The room temperature, touch screen, automatic lights, iron and iron-table, big mirrors, high windows were very impressive. The breakfast was great. The internet connection is good and a free. The only downside is that my room was small (728), big enough to sleep but did not big enough to enjoy a cosy evening. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I can only suggest not to pick x28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EminaBuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
greetings and many thank for your review of The Thief . As you mentioned were located on a brand new peninsular on the Oslo Fjord . Glad you enjoyed the technology in the room as we paid particular attention to the needs of our guests and the exciting alternatives we could provide in the rooms . Always very pleasing to hear your comments about the service and staff and once again the BED is the star of the show . A recurring theme where our reviews are concerned

Very much looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Thief is the best hotel in Oslo. Very good location in the new area Tjuvholmen. Very nice rooms with large tv, bed, and bath. Some of the best beakfasts in Norway. Very good service both on arrival and in the restaurant. The hotel is decorated with good pieces of contemerary art.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Are H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Fantastic that you consider us to be the best hotel in Oslo . Were a very new property and a real pleasure to hear that all our work and attention to detail has resulted in such a great review . i will forward you thoughts to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at The Thief for business in December 2013 and LOVED it!

It is very stylish and modern, yet comfy and cosy. The beds are very comfortable, they have lovely Rituals toiletries and excellent service.

The only downside was the limited room service menu, particularly given that their restaurant closes at 8pm on Sundays.

Overall, The Thief was definitely one of the best hotels I stayed in recently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginsengwu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . Very pleasing to hear so many positive comments concerning the hotel and once again THE BED get a warm mention , I have noted your comments concerning the room service menu and we have very exciting plans for all the food & beverage in January 2014

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to The Thief

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a very stylish modern hotel - great location on the waterfront and ideally placed for all the bars, restaurants, galleries and shops in Tjuvholmen. Extremely modern with all the touches like a Samsung tablet to control the room technologies, beautiful dark woods and high windows with modern art around every corner. Service and staff are also excellent - its just a very stylish, cool hotel overall. Probably the only small criticism would be the rooms aren't huge but then that's city hotels for you, not a big deal. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pay the £40 extra for the view with the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBEEOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one . As you mentioned were located on the brand new peninsular of Tjuvholmen and surrounded by the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Was also very pleasing to hear the positive feedback concerning our staff . I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us you thoughts & feedback . We value your opinion as it´s invaluable for the improvement of our service

Looking forward to your return


Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Colney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This has to be one of the most modern hotels I have ever stayed in. Lots of mood lighting, large slim line LED TV controlled by a supplied Samsung tablet, stylish/quality iPod docking speakers, auto lights in the bath room etc. The attention to detail is first class in this hotel not to mention some creative and some original features such as a beautifully installed digital displays showing portraits by renowned artists. And watch out as the eyes on the portrait can wink and the earrings can swing. The staff were wonderful and always willing to help with great smile all the time. There is simply no other hotel for me in Oslo when I go back there next.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . A pleasure to hear so many positive comments concerning the hotel & staff . The art in the lift is by Julian Opie and as you quite rightly mentioned there is unexpected movement and surprise .
I will forward your comments to my colleagues and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I visited this hotel in October. I had expected a lot as the hotel is praised everywhere. The hotel has delivered on my expectations. I was there with a friend staying for the weekend to see Fleetwood Mac concert. As this is the only choice of a design hotel in the city, all major artists stay here as well when doing concerts in Oslo. So did the members of Fleetwood Mac band, so I could see them in the lobby before the concert.

The room is impressive, with a very good noise isolation and everything you would need. The bathroom is a bitty tiny. However the rooms have balconies, which is a plus if you are a smoker. In case you book a deluxe room, you are getting a wonderful water view.

You should ask for the room ending 10 to 16, as those have the best corner views. The higher the floor the better. Would recommend not lower than 6th.

Mini-bar is offering a lot. There are ice-machines on the floors. In general, The Thief sets up a new standard for the 5star hotels.

The service was average and not super-friendly, especially the male part of the reception, however the room so much over-performs, that in the end it compensates.

Would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: high floor, ending 10 to 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurerHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the property reached your expectations . As you mentioned we have paid particular attention to detail and modern comfort in our rooms . I have noted your thoughts concerning the staff and i will forward your comments to my colleagues

Very much looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#15 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thief

Property: The Thief
Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Thief 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Thief reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing