We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Thief

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thief
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The Thief is a lovely designed Hotel. The team is very attentive and very helpful. Good locationAlthough the hotel is not in town, Downtown is not to far away. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bathroom is very spacious. Great bathtub. Great breakfast with something for everyone.A bit on the expensive side but that seems to be the case in Norway

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . As you mentioned were not located in the center of town but on a new peninsular in the Oslo Fjord and a short walk from town . Good to hear that you enjoyed the room bath & breakfast . I will also forward you very positive comments concerning the staff to my colleagues

Great that you took the time to send your thoughts as guest feedback is invaluable to us

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Thief

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    284
    92
    29
    12
See reviews for
154
780
92
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Super stylish, cosy and luxurious. Everything you could want for a special get away. Nice trendy locale (although not without some ongoing construction). Handy for the tram or a walk into town. Topped off by amazing, friendly and knowledgable staff such as Katerina and Martha :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DirtyWeeHallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks or your review of The Thief . Great to get so much positive feedback and i will forward you thoughts to my colleagues Martha & Katherina

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Thief is somewhat pricey even for Oslo, but it delivers what it promises. The room was quite perfect. Lobby, bar and restaurant were exceptionally nice. The service was good and left nothing to be desired. If you don't want to stay right in the city center, then the location is excellent (and the center is not far away either).

A/C-unit did make some noise, but that was not really disturbing. There was some construction noise in daytime, since the whole area has been recently built and there was still one building site nearby behind the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a view, then choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . Great to get your positive comments concerning the hotel , staff , service & room . I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Thief promises a lot on it's website. And the media has praised this new design hotel. But to me it didn't deliver. The hotel is stunning both inside and outside, and Tjuvholmen, where it is located, is very beautiful. But unless you get a room with a view of the water side, the view from your room (or glass balcony) isn't much to brag about; you will be watching construction work or another cool building. The art inside and outside the hotel is very surprising and edgy, and so is the interior. Turning on the TV feels cutting edge, and if you want the staff to make up your room, you have to know what you're doing. Our room was not made up because I didn't understand how to work the button (and I realize this sounds a little ignorant, but the red/green light over the door was impossible to see unless you knew what to look for). Me and my travel companion had planned for a movie night in (as we're movie enthusiasts), but the selection of TV channels and movies on demand was very disappointing. The breakfast, on the other hand, was great, although the choice of bread spread wasn't grand. And the burger from room service was OK. So was the bed. The mattress was fine, but if you're sharing the bed with someone you're not planning to sleep really close to, the duvet is too small/short to cover you both completely. With the risk of sounding sulky, I must say The Thief isn't worth the money. From the hotel it will take you about 15-20 minutes to walk to the city center- where there are lots of equally great and more affordable hotels - if you can spare the art.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kameleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief .
Glad you enjoyed the location and hotel interior
As you mentioned the peninsular is in the final stage of completion and soon to be finished . We appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts and i will forward your comments to my colleagues

Dominic Gorham
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

While the prices are mind- blowing (but aren't they everywhere in Norway), the hotel deserves what the get. Great location, great atmosphere, great rooms, great restaurant, etc. there was nothing I didn't like. I have stayed in several Oslo hotels. Each was missing something. Not the thief. If I HAD to complain about something, it would be: 1) roof deck only open in summer...would have been perfect this last Saturday 2) they do not have a spa until March 2014 and 3) while the interior design is classic Wallpaper design (clean, chic, 2013, etc.) there was nothing that made me feel I was in Oslo...could have been New York or LA. Still, I loved the place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaddavidsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property .Hopefully you can return and enjoy a Summer evening with us on The Roof Great to hear so many GREATS and i will forward your very positive thoughts to my colleagues
Looking forward to your return

Dominic Gorham
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for one night to end our trip to Norway. The hotel is absolutely stunning and so quirky with lots of interesting modern art to observe!
We booked a Deluxe room and were not disappointed. The bed was huge and extremely comfy and the bathtub was deceptively deep and very relaxing!
The room is full of lots of little gadgets and the slippers and robes are a great touch.
The area that the hotel is in is also lovely and I wished it was hot so we could try the city beach!
The staff were very attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely recommend and stay in this hotel again. The room was quite expensive however when you consider it is Oslo and the quality of the hotel then it isn't really that bad!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edenwood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear that you had such a good time and very refreshing to hear the property described as " quirky "
As you mentioned were located in a very dynamic new peninsular in the Oslo Fjord giving out guest a wide selection of art , food & entertainment .

Very much looking forward to your return

Dominic Gorham
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Located on a newly built island called Tjuvholmen, the hotel offers excellent service. Each room has a coffee machine and a number of various pillows to choose from in order to sleep well. The breakfast is first class, starting with a freshly squeezed juice and a number of standard but also non standard meals. There is a number of nearby restaurants along the harbor coast.

Room Tip: Pick higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hrvoje Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . Great to hear that you had such a good time and i will forward your thoughts to my colleagues .
Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
778 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thief

Property: The Thief
Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Thief 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Thief reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing