We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cool hotel”
Review of THE THIEF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE THIEF
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Great new boutique hotel. Very friendly staff, fantastic restaurant. Would hight reccomend! We has the baked fish and veal - our waitress was so friendly! Very comfortable beds, high tech room with great TV.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-m-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . So glad that you enjoyed your stay at our new property . Your positive comments concerning the restaurant Fru K are very pleasing as we have paid great attention the the fresh and locally sourced ingredients that we serve .
Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

This boutique hotel certainly has style, an excellent location and generally a high quality in materials etc. including the beds.

But even though it is located on Oslo’s new waterfront area only few if no rooms has straight water view. I had (April 2013) construction workers waking me op early (I had open window), working just five meters from my window on a quite high floor.

Even though the wifi was supposed to be valid for 24 hours, it stopped working shortly after midnight (6 hours), and going down to the reception, it was unmanned for some ten minutes (when I left).

My bed had 8 or 9 pillows, and when I removed them to go to bed in my not very large room, it was almost impossible to reach the bathroom. I don’t think, the designer ever slept there her/himself.

And in the otherwise very nice bathroom, the shower had a corner where a small stream of very cold water came down. Ushh! And the big, fancy grid was placed just where you had to put your feet – and it was uneven. Ok, small things, but they take away my fifth star.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for sharing your thoughts on our new property . As you can imagine we´ve had time to rectify many of the smaller details that you mentioned in your review . Were also very happy that the peninsular is within a couple of weeks of completion and were looking forward to a very tranquille Spring / Summer
We have a turn down service every night that will remove the pillows and prepare your bed for a comfortable nights sleep . We also provide a relaxing warm tea to help sooth you into a deep nights sleep .

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Even though the hotel is large, you recieve a personal service, mostly only given in boutique hotels. Loved the good night service with good night tea and a biscuit. Great coffee, with the opportunity to get real espresso based cafe latte for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay . As you mentioned we have a turn-down service where we prepare your bed for the evening and provide you with a warm relaxing tea .
I would also like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with your thoughts as you feedback is invaluable to the quality of our new property

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's great to see ambitious, new hotel projects in Oslo. The Thief opened to much fanfare, as it was looking to bring a level of modern designer luxury not offered anywhere else in Norway.

The last part of that sentence is key - in Norway. Norway is not a global hub for hotel excellence. Properties are often small, spartan, expensive, and lacking in service. I'm not sure why - great hospitality in Norway tends to be found in quaint, rustic experiences close to nature, not in city hotels.

So delivering something better than other city hotels in Norway is not an impossible task. And on this level, the Thief absolutely delivers. Given their clientele, the more important question is probably - how well does it stack up against world standards for this type of hotel?

The rooms are definitely the highlight. They are simply outstanding. A good size (enormous by Scandinavian standards), beautifully designed, with lots of excellent little touches. I like the in-room shopping thing, and all the appointments were absolutely first class by anybody's standards.

Great storage space, a safe, a little Samsung tablet for browsing (not that it actually worked that well) were all welcome touches. It's the first hotel room I've been in where I actually wanted to use the tea and coffee making equipment - everything was pristine, new and extremely clean. 10/10.

Their attempts to be whimsical and quirky (like the note on the spare pillow instructing you on when to use it) are fun - they don't feel too contrived or silly. All very good.

The bed is absolutely superb - one of the best I have ever slept on. The bathroom is very modern, premium and stylish. It's easily as nice as a bathroom in any top hotel around the world, my only complaint being that our toilet flushed a little too ferociously - once or twice the water escaped the confines of the bowl (ewwwwww). I was surprised this hadn't been tested properly.

The thing that is missing is the experience outside of your room. While the elevators are very lovely and artistic, the lobby is small (pokey-small, not boutique-small) and bland - it's a surprisingly unimpressive first impression for a hotel of this calibre. There are only two desks, which just doesn't seem like enough. Waiting to check in or check out is not something guests should ever be doing at this type of hotel.

The lounge spaces are very stylishly designed, the barmen on level two were suitably skilled and service-minded.

The breakfast experience was not particularly good - arguably not good enough for a hotel of this level. Service never rose above the typical, underwhelming level of Norwegian hotel service. We sat and waited five minutes for someone to come and offer us coffee or a drink. Nobody came. We asked a staff member near us, but he was more intent on setting the table next to us than helping us. On the second request, he eventually took our order.

I asked a staff member what time checkout was. He didn't know. He said he'd ask reception, and then I never saw him again. Breakfast food was mostly very good, but a little underwhelming in terms of variety.

The point of a hotel like The Thief should be to deliver an unforgettable experience, which means more than an amazing room. They are on the right track - the rooms and the beds really are magnificent - but they need to understand that an amazing hotel experience is about the total experience, and often that comes down to going that extra step and providing amazing service.

If they can aim higher than just providing slightly better service than the other hotels in Norway, this really will be a top world class hotel. I look forward to that day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_of_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of our new property . Very glad you enjoyed your stay and great to hear so many positive comments regarding our rooms . Great attention to detail was spent on the design and comfort of our rooms and the recurring star of the hotel is The Bed . Were constantly improving the quality of our service and your remarks are much appreciated and well noted .
I will forward your thoughts to our staff and very much looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's almost brand new and it's name refers to the history of the area (jail and execution of miscreants in an area once a dockside slum) rather than the £11 pints and $30 sandwiches Oslo is notorious for as Europe's most expensive city.
If you like London's Docklands or Manchester's Salford Quays, this hotel's location will appeal. Building is ongoing but unobtrusive in the hotel and a key highway is now in a tunnel.
Walking to a main station and shopping is not hard. Airport? 30 minutes on a train.
The hotel shares artworks with a nearby museum and hosts its own local works; art surprises lurk in places like lifts - did that picture just wink at me?
Rooms are high-tech - 42-inch plasma, Samsung tablet which will work the TV, DAB (digital) radio iPod dock, Tassimo coffee maker yet they still(!) charge for wifi. Room lights are automatic and have several preset settings though my bathroom took ages to darken. Complaints are few; all I could come up with was an occasional delay in hot water reaching the shower - check the matrix, please, engineer and an almost cold breakfast buffet; the nice selection needs more than heat lamps above to keep it hotter. Some sort of bain-marie, please, executive chef.
If you can afford the city, The Thief is worth a look.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredmarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of your room . You are correct in saying that the area has a very long history where hundreds of years ago sailors , vagabonds and ladies of the night made the area one of excitement and mystery . We´re now in the final phase of creating an splendid new waterside location and as you mentioned The Thief has blended in quietly . Your thoughts concerning the breakfast will be forwarded to the kitchen as your feedback is essential to the improvement of our service .
Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Thief was a recommendation from a Norwegian friend; and I cant tell you how excited we took his advise. The hotel is located in the waterfront area (Tjuvholmen) of Oslo which offers a wide range of high end dining and shopping options.

The hotel is amazingly decorated with modern art which is curated in part from he Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art which is within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. As a part of our package we were able to access the museum and view the exhibits.

The rooms were immaculately decorated and they had possibly the largest selection of in room amenities I have ever seen. Our room had a small balcony which over looked the Museum and canals which lead out to the harbor. Every though has been put into the design of the room to blend art and technology without being too over bearing. I was particularly impressed with the in room television system which you could control via a tablet PC.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They arranged to get us a nice taxi out to the airport on our departure and were very helpful in assisting us with our needs during the stay. The staff were kind enough to arrange drinks for us while we were waiting for our flight home, even though the bar was closed. Great service and personal attention provided.

If you like modern art and a hip environment I would highly recommend this unique boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsubasa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your comprehensive review of our new property . Were very pleased to get feedback on our rooms as we´ve paid great attention to detail including the design and comfort that we consider to be essential for a great hotel stay . Our partnership with the Astrup Fearnley Museum allows our guests free access to one of the greatest modern art museums in Europe . It also provides us with some great art work that we display in the hotel . I ail forward your thoughts to my colleagues and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I loved this hotel. It is the best hotel experience I have had in a looong time. The feel is modern, artsy but still warm and cozy. Great service, excellent beds and a beautiful well equipped room. Finally someone raised the bar for the norwegian hotel standards. Treat yourself to a stay at this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Were very happy to hear that you had such an an enjoyable stay . Feedback from our guests is an essential part of our development and we appreciate the time you have taken and your positive comments .
Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
397 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
869 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE THIEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE THIEF

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $350 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE THIEF 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your THE THIEF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing