We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie Gem”
Review of Mathallen Oslo

Mathallen Oslo
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.82*
and up
Nordic Food Walking Tour in Oslo
Ranked #2 of 89 Shopping in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mathallen Oslo is venue for unique culinary experiences with the very best of Norwegian and international food, people and atmosphere. A place where culinary traditions meet the newest food trends. A meeting place for building knowledge and creating inspiration through activities, competitions and experiences. A trading place based on love and respect for fresh produce, with dedicated,proud and service-oriented employees. And with a range of products based on unique ingredients and exciting concepts. Mathallen has over thirty special outlets and/or eateries (most are both) and social meeting places with food-related activities,courses and conferences. Mathallen Oslo is for everyone. From the curious novice, to the aspiring chef. In Mathallen everyone will find inspiration in a generous and pleasant atmosphere. Mathallen Oslo is a center for Norwegian food culture - celebrating the joy of good food!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Foodie Gem”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Mathallen Food hall isn't exactly central being located at Maridalsveien 17 at Vulkan in Grünerløkka district, however for a foodie it's a must visit. With the range of little cafe's alone is worth going for lunch even if you don't buy the breads, meats or fish that's available.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluechip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    185
    27
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hello, Good Pie”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A small market type building that hosts a variety of foods (asian, french, spanish, seafood) and desserts. Our favourite place was "Hello, Good Pie" which has a wide selection of savoury and sweet pies that are very delicious.

The place is a bit hard to get to being 5 mins from the nearest tram stop and basically non-existent signs along the way.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_Ruhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
127 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Come for "Hello, Good Pie"”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If there is one thing that I love about Mathallen, it is "Hello, Good Pie". They sell wonderful savory and sweet pies. The crust is just amazing. I had the "ratatouille and chevre" savory pie and it was delicious. The lemon meringue was also good, and it seems like they always have a good variety to choose from. That being said, I still have some issues with Mathallen, and the main problem is just like others have mentioned, it is too small. In general this seems to be a problem in Norway..not being able to build on a larger scale. I am sure it also has to do with the cost of building. Whatever the reason, Mathallen feels very cramped. It doesn't invite leisurely walking and exploring because of this. Bascially I feel like I just want to get in, buy my pie, and get out..which is really too bad because I am sure there is a lot of other great stuff to taste and buy in Mathallen. Also, I wish they had chosen a different location for Mathallen. There is no easy method to get there using public transportation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sample variety of foods in one location”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Mathallen Marketplace provides a good opportunity to see what types of foods, mostly local, are available in the area. Many of the food shops provide samples and based on my recent experience, the staff are very willing to answer questions and one even recommended that I try another shop for an item I was looking for. For prepared foods, you have a choice of "take away" that you can eat at the tables in the center of the marketplace or regular restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place - but no soul - and too expensive.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice place - but no soul - and too expensive.

This place looks relatively ok, but I think it's too crowded, you're often walking in a que. There should've been more open space. I think this place is ideal for people who feed off a tapas piece and a cup of cofee for the entire day. For people who need larger amounts of food, this place is going to bankrupt you. Lots of food is ecological, and that's great - but the prices reflect it. Some of the meat is so expensive here, that nobody buys it. We saw in person a person in a store scraping off dried/decayed pieces of a meat that were for display. If they were smart, they'd reduce prices as the meat got older, that way they'd at least get 50-30% of the original asking price, and wouldn't need to toss it away. There were no places in Mathallen where you could get a real 'viking-meal' for an affordable price. With the tradition Norway have with food, this was disappointing. If you're a thin snob that feeds off small meals and a cup of cofee, and likes socializing (or to see and be seen), this place is for you. For the everyday norwegian or tourist, this is not the place to visit.

The place lacks a soul, and there were no strong food smell and atmosphere like you get when you barbeque or otherwise make great food that's for the people, and not just for the snobs.

I didn't try the sunday bufè for 250kr, perhaps it would be great, but is a long way to travel there. Already a couple of stores in this hall have filled for bankruptcy, and more will follow. Some of the people running the establishment seems to be in denial over this. The hall must adapt, as there's a lot of competition in the Oslo-area, and if they can make quality food for a lower price, they would attract a larger audience for sure.

As it is, the prices were too high for our liking, so we didn't eat there.

It was also somewhat difficult to find the place, the signs should be more plentiful and larger. The Europark parking area seemed abandoned and unmaintained. The signs showing how many available parking places there were did not work, temporary road bumps were tossed in at akward places. And the garage were you had to drive in to park had no signs. Here they need to label everything very clearly, and preferably even have a guard that can direct the traffic. Once parked, there should be clear signs so you see where you have to go. Europark had made a handwritten notice on the inside of the parking port that you had to approach it to have it automatically open. When we were about to drive out, one of the two gates started to close, while the other opened. So scared not to damage our car, we needed to keep some distance. In the winter and autumn time such ports might be a good idea, but in the summer time, it would be a better idea to have the ports open, and rather have a smiling guard to greet all customers. But as usual in Norway, service is neglected. But you still have to pay though. Typical Norwegian. And you have to pay a fixed amount up front, not for the actual time used. And if you're too late to your car, even 5 minutes, you can be pretty sure you get at least 700kr as a penalty fee. This is a very bad arrangement for mathallen. There should be free parking. I wish they all the best, but as it is now, I foresee a bankruptcy in a very few years, if not even earlier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mathallen Oslo also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Mathallen Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing