We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norway in a nutshell”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bergen Railway

The Bergen Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$385.26*
and up
Self-Guided Sognefjord Trip: Bergen to Oslo
Amherstburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Norway in a nutshell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Scenic 4.5 hour ride as part of Norway in a nutshell 24 hour experience. Train was very comfortable, clean and modern. Typical of a great European train experience. Staff were out of their way pleasant right from your first question at the train station, to boarding to disembarking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KFCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,177
    428
    72
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
346 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Bergen Railway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my second time on the route. This time I stopped midway and detoured to the Fiords. It is a long ride and the scenery is so beautiful it is possible to begin to take it for granted. For the price it is a very good way to see a lot of Norway while sitting in comfort. I spent much of the return trip in conversation with a young woman who had been mountain biking all weekend and was getting ready for a week in Iceland. One of the best part about that kind of train ride (seven hours each way) is interesting conversation with other riders.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NOK440 for 7 hours of stunning scenery - a bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We travelled by train from Oslo to Bergen, having heard that this was one of the world's great train journeys. We weren't disappointed! If you book more than a week ahead (you can book online) the price is around £50 (single fare). The scenery out of Oslo is pretty average by Norwegian standards but as you climb up to Hardangervidda the landscape becomes bleaker and icier, with lakes, waterfalls, mountain huts and the occasional village. In June the iced over lakes and snow capped mountains were beautiful. Coming down towards Bergen you stop at Myrrdal (for the Flam railway connection) and travel along the sides of the fjords. There are plenty of tunnels! Catering is pretty good on Norwegian trains, and no more expensive than most European trains.

I'll probably do this again with my husband. Even though we were delayed by an hour (some parts are single track so if one train's delayed, they all have to wait it seems) we could still enjoy the scenery. There was a good atmosphere on the train, with many tourists from around the world. We were in the last carriage which is designated for passengers with dogs - all well behaved (both passengers and dogs!).

One small warning ; I got off the train at a small station with a fellow passenger, thinking I could take a quick photo. The train started moving away without any warning - with the door still open! We both quickly climbed back onto the train and shut the door!

I've travelled around a lot of Norway and I rate this train journey as a relatively cheap way of seeing a lot of spectacular scenery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juniperberry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“From oslo to bergen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Felt it was quite a rip off for the expense, the only really lovely part was the sail through the fjords-very impressed with the magnitude of it all. Too long a day with train, train, ferry, bus and train and then taxi to hotel, about 14 hrs and lugging bags on and off each
transport. I believe there is a service to pick up yr luggage and have it waiting at yr next hotel. Maybe it is a lot better in the snow, but not middle of summer, I would just take a tour to the fjords. This was suppose to be my highlight of Scandanavia, the oslo to bergen trip, thumbs down, I was left drained instead of exhilarated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jennyb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a ticket in First Class from Bergen to Oslo. So many books write, and many people say that this is a fabulous train ride - one of the most beautiful in Europe.
My impressions were opposite, and in my opinion it is absolutely not worth riding on this train. Take the Glacier Express in Switzerland and you will see much nicer landscape, and travel much more comfortably!
The voyage from Bergen to Myrdal is tiring, one tunnel after the other and nothing really beautiful to be seen. On the NSB website is announced clearly that there is WiFi. On the train I got username and password, but no possibilities to use internet. Local passengers told me that NSB just promises internet connection, but in reality there is none in most parts.
The look of the trains are scarse. Very ugly those grey seats, and they are not comfortable at all. The atmosphere on the train is like if you were participating in a funeral. Noone talks, no life, no joy - very depressed atmosphere and nothing nice at all that I felt.
The ride from Myrdal to Geilo is supposed to be the nicest part of the journey. It was ok but FAR from a really beautiful train ride! I have seen many, many more beautiful train journeys!
All in all it takes around 7 hours from Bergen to Oslo. It is very long and very uncomfortable, and very few really nice things to be seen...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bergen Railway also viewed

 

Been to The Bergen Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing