We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
:Lovely

Lovely Cathedral, serving the local minority religion, though large, frequent, full services for... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Turtle5954
,
Warrington, United Kingdom
Impressive Cathedral

St Olav's may not be necessarily the main tourist attraction in Oslo nor it has a lot of history... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2019
niksk001
,
Philadelphia, PA
Read all 36 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Oslo
Oslo Pass
223 Reviews
from $50.30
More Info
from $11.30
More Info
from $13.56
More Info
from $89.97
More Info
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
13
13
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
13
13
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mass priest congregation worship pray exterior
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2019

Norway having converted to Protestantism shortly after the Reform, has a predominance of churches that belong to the Church of Norway (Lutheran). St. Olav's is the only Catholic church and is a well-maintained, active church, with a multinational congregation of very active Catholics. We attended mass during our stay and the church was packed. The Rosary before the mass was very well attended, with very active participation of most attendants. It was built around 1856, and it houses the relics of St. Olav's arm. A baroque, rather stern exterior transforms into a warm and welcoming interior, with high Gothic arches, lovely stained windows and elaborate, but modern stations to the Cross.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

St Olav's may not be necessarily the main tourist attraction in Oslo nor it has a lot of history behind it (it was erected in the 1850s), but it is a very nice place to visit.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank niksk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

I was just exploring the neighborhood and saw 2 churches near by. There was a wedding going on in the bigger church so I decided to drop by St. Olav's instead. There was a baptism going on so I sat quietly at the back until they finished while absorbing the beauty of the place. It's not overly ornate but there are some beautiful stained glass windows and a relic of St. Olav on the right side. I also managed to pick up a couple of relic cards touched to St. Thérèse de Lisieux and her parents (Louis and Zélie Martin) when their relics were touring the Nordic countries.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank cristoph2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017

I wasn't able to spend much time here, but the time I spent here was well worth my tine to find St. Olav's Catholic Church. It was very well taken care of and I was happy to spend some time in here to pray before I continued on my way. Thank you for the upkeep on this wonderful Catholic Church in Oslo. JMJ+

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ShanOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

St. Olav is outside of the usual tourist routes in Oslo. It is a nice church that is worth visiting. Extend the visit to the cemetery in the back.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank R_TheReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews