We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer and food”

Amundsen Bryggeri & Spiseri
Ranked #106 of 1,601 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Norwegian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Amundsen Bryggeri & Spiseri is located nearby the Norwegian Parliament building (Stortinget), in the heart of Oslo. We serve gastro-cuisine and have one of Oslo's best selection of beer, both bottled and tap, and also from our own brewery. Ask us for recommendations!
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of my favorite places in Oslo, they have a brewry on site and you can get some good homemade beers. In addition they have a wide selection of microbrew. Be sure to ask for recommendations.

The food here is good too, it was so good that the wife didnt mind me having another beer while we ordered desserts. Only negative was norwegian prices...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Snublemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 283 of 534 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Been here a couple of times and not been disappointed. This is perhaps the best beer place in Norway.

This is not a place for just eating. They do have a short food menu, but the dishes are well made and tasty.

The beer menu is extensive! (they have several vintages of Westvleteren 8/12 even some "red cap" ) They have quest brewers and several microbrews on tap. I can drone on and on about the numbers of beers, but suffice to say they have a lot of different brands and every type either on tap or on bottle.

The staff is knowledgeable and polite, but the service might be on the slow side on busy days.

Seating might be an issue as this is a popular place, so book a table if you plan on going with a a lot of people.

They offer a "beer lecture" for groups that include a tour of the brewery and a trip to the "cellar" This is a great tip for bachelor parties or other groups as it offers a taste of some distinct beers and a lot of general beer knowledge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend found this place on our first afternoon in Oslo and had a fantastic steak sandwich with chips for late lunch. It was a great start to the trip and we enjoyed the food and the bar so much we wanted to return again some evening for dinner. Unfortunately, we never made it back, but this place will be on my list of places to revisit if/when we return to Oslo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lauren2003_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey J, Manager at Amundsen Bryggeri & Spiseri, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We proud ourselves in what we do and it was our honor to share that with you!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have always dreamed of a pub where you go in and order beer from a menu accompanied with "one large food" or for that matter a small food for the ladies. This is not that pub. The beer menu is indeed long and diverse and they have a large selection on tap as well, but the food is equally great, even if the selection is not as huge. It is pub style food but fresh and well prepared. They will have a beer that you like, of that I am certain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Corishev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey J, Manager at Amundsen Bryggeri & Spiseri, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We proud ourselves in what we do and it was our honor to share that with you!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

One of the best beer lists in Oslo and some really good home brewed beer. Very good pub food. Food is reasonably prised to be in Norway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey J, Manager at Amundsen Bryggeri & Spiseri, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We proud ourselves in what we do and it was our honor to share that with you!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amundsen Bryggeri & Spiseri also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Amundsen Bryggeri & Spiseri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing