We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Perminalen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Perminalen Hotel
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hostel and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

First warning: Oslo - Norway in general - is EXPENSIVE. Just don't underestimate that you will spend a great deal of money on very little or you're in for a very, very unpleasant surprise.
The hostel is great. It's quite big but still personal and houses a huge variety of people both in age and lifestyle. The breakfast is great and the dinner is also great - I recommend getting the desert if you go for the dinner one night. The rice cream is amazing.
Facilities are great and clean, the room was airy with a couple of windows. Plenty of space for everyone's stuff.
Wifi can only be used downstairs but the common room is nice with comfy couches and it's rarely crowded. Wifi is also accessible from the dining area. Signal is strong and it only cut out a couple of times, much to the surprise of the staff, who would reset it straight away. Having to sign in again every few hours is annoying but understandable.
For a cheap feed head down the street the hostel is on (turn right when you come out of the doors) and walk until you get to the pedestrian mall. On the left corner is a burger place called MAX. The food is good and filling and for Norway, cheap.
Staff is helpful and always there, luggage storage is safely tucked away with only staff having access. Train station is a ten minute walk away.

Room Tip: The information centre for Oslo is NOT near the train station. It has been moved recently to the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanelle38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    44
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
31
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Perminalen is a great place to stay in downtown Oslo. It still has many military folks who use it, but we did not feel overwhelmed by that. We had a very late arrival, as our train was delayed, and there was no problem. The room was big, had large windows which could be opened to provide wonderful ventilation. The room was cleaned each day and fresh towels provided. But what really was wonderful was the helpful staff at the front desk. They went above an beyond to help us solve some issues in our travel, and were consistently cheerful and pleasant. Only downside was wifi was only available downstairs in the common rooms. But, that was a minor issue, and the common room was comfortable. Breakfast came with the room, and it was all one could ask for to tank up on before touring the city. The hotel is just six blocks away from the train station. Easy to tour from there all around the city. GREAT PLACE.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at a four female room. After check in around 7 p.m. I went out for sightseeing and back around 11 p.m. I found out the four beds were fully occupied. My upper bed had been slept by someone who supposed to be on the other bed instead. I went down to the reception and asked them to investigate, then the extra girl hurriedly went out of the room and disappeared, the night staff was unable to locate her since the main door had closed and nobody was out at that late hour. I went back to my room and rearranged my bed linen, at that time, the girl had slipped in again for shower. So I immediately contacted the night staff and she was caught at last. The staff said it was a very unusual case. Although the staff was very helpful but I found it very insecure. By the time it had been settled was already passed 1 a.m. Why the extra person has the access to our room? Who held the responsibility if our luggage was lost?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I spent the weekend in Oslo to attend a sporting event on the Saturday after arriving late Friday night and having to leave after breakfast on the Sunday. Reception staff were most helpful, offering sound advice regarding public transport and recommending places to eat out. Nothing was too much trouble! The bed was SO comfy, and the simple budget accommodation was perfect for a quiet weekend away. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of different things on offer to suit everyone.

I'd recommend Perminalen to anyone and everyone, and I shall be heading back as soon as possible ... and hopefully to stay a bit longer!

Tusen takk! :)

Room Tip: I was on the top floor, and facing away from the street, it was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Hard to beat Perminalen's location two short blocks from the downtown waterfront. It also has reasonable prices in a city ranked most expensive in the world. Rooms are spartan yet comfortable. Service was first rate: I made several pre-trip changes and they responded quickly; during my stay the front desk staff were always friendly and accomodating. Breakfast comprised a good variety of food and drinks. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pentwater--summerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you need a bed in the centre of Oslo, Perminalen is a good choice. You can get a single room (which will cost you more than a regular hotel room in most European cities), or simply get a bed in a shared room for much less. In addition to saving you money, it is also much more fun to share a room with strangers. The place is clean and safe, breakfast is included, and it is fairly quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjetil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was in Oslo for 3 nights with a friend. First time in Oslo.
We stayed in a twin room, no charge for bedding or towels.

Great location. Walking distance :
- Oslo S, the main train station where you can go to Bergen or to the airport.
- the harbor
- Oslo opera house
- public transportation, you can go everywhere from Perminalem very easily

The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Wi-fi only in the 1st floor, and not working properly.

The room and the bathroom are simple, ample and clean.

Simple breakfast, not a lot of variety.

Expensive, but, considering it´s norway, good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana_Cat_Goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#48 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
P-Hotels Oslo
#85 of 100 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#42 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perminalen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perminalen Hotel

Property: Perminalen Hotel
Address: Oevre Slottsgate 2, Oslo 0157, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Perminalen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perminalen Hotel is situated in the heart of Oslo - Norway's largest center for entertainment, restaurants, shopping and cultural attractions. This is the perfect way to spend some days right in the center of Oslo, yet at an affordable price. The Perminalen Hotel was totally renovated and modernized in 1998 and we now offer standards from hotel rooms to dormitory classifications. Our guests range from business professionals to families and backpackers. In common, they regard Perminalen Hotel an attractive place to stay when it comes to price and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perminalen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perminalen Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing