We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lysebu
Nearby Hotels
$253
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$413
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$197
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$212
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$201
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
176
76
22
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
76
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming pooljunior suitelovely poolt banenice weekendlocation is amazingno hot waterbreakfast was deliciousstayed for two nightshome away from homecity centrenice roomreception areahotel is locatedtrain stationweddingconference
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 282 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although Lyseby is run by a special organization, it is open for the general public. It is placed in the foresty hillside above Oslo, it is quiet, has a very good kicthen and rooms that include such necessities for me as a desk for working. The staff is helpful, competent and friendly and I wnjoy coming there.

Room Tip: The doubles in the old, main building are markedly larger than the singles
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EspenSOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

If you're headed to Oslo, Lysebu is the place to stay. It's a 30min train ride or they have free parking if you're with a car.
The walk from the train would be tough with more than a backpack. This place is amazing because you're near Holmenkollen on the edge of the woods high above the city, yet still on the subway "T-Bane" line.
The breakfast was especially good.
I give the service 5 stars, but keep in mind that's for Norway. Hospitality isn't a thing here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErikNordheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here with my gf for the weekend. It is a lovely looking place that aims to give a Norwegian feel, and how so. This is Norwegian at its core. The place is ideal for couples looking for upscale and quiet ooutside of Oslo. The restaurant's dinner was on the plus side but had expected that all three courses were up to par (dessert was bland and disapppinting). The restaurant also has a very decent wine cellar. Breakfast was excellent. Also, the pool facilities are amazing with big windows giving a view of the valley below. On the minus side, service was not what we expected from a place like this. We were not told in advance that most of the hotel was occupied by a wedding party that weekend. Furthermore, upon arrival information was not sufficient, for instance we were not informed about breakfast times. We were also surprised to find that, when finally realising we were about to miss breakfast, there was no possibilities for having it delivered it to the room instead, as they had no room service. From my point of view a hotel that aims as high as this, should certainly have the capacity to cater to such requests. All in all a very nice stay but certain hiccups pull down the general impression.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerimo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's not an average hotel (our rating), but there isn't a 'good' on TripAdviser, and we can't in all honesty give Lysebu a 'very good' because the reception staff made it hard for us to relax. Plus, the rooms are cramped and the beds are tiny.

On arriving at 12.30am, we found that our first room, 432, had a deep throbbing sound. It comes from the swimming pool below, altho the following day, Hendrik on reception expressed great surprise at the noise and said he'd faxed the hotel engineer to work out where the noise was coming from - I'd been a guest there for 5 minutes and I'd worked it out, so not sure why Hendrik was struggling on this one.

The night porter on our first night moved us to 712, but the bed was so small my husband had to sleep on the sofa. We couldn't have 712 for our other three nights (not that we would have taken it...) because the rooms in the annexe were taken for a wedding and an anniversary party. But when the following morning we tried to get a new room from Hendrik, he claimed there were none.

BTW, the so called junior suites are smaller than the standard room I had in New York the week before and in Mumbai the week before that.

In the end, after talking to the lovely chambermaid, we worked out that 3 rooms in our short corridor were completely unoccupied, but it took Hendrik nearly an hour to agree to let us have one - and that was only when my husband went and demanded a specific room - Hendrik didn't really want to deal with a woman at all. So our first morning was wasted, dealing with Hendrik.

The upside is that once out of the hotel grounds you are in the forests and can go on lots of walks or hiking trails. We also had the pool and sauna to ourselves, and the train station is only 8 mins walk away, taking 30 mins into Oslo, so you can almost have a two-centre holiday.

On our penultimate day, a girl on reception asked if we would pay our bill there and then. As we had nearly 24 hours to go we said no, we'd do it when we checked out (like in most other hotels in the world), and her face was a picture. Very grumpy. On the day after the wedding, my husband joined other tables of non-wedding guests for breakfast but was asked by a waiter to leave to go to a third room; when he asked why no-one else was being asked to move, the waiter just shrugged. So we ended up eating breakfast in a room all on our own. All very odd.

One other tip: don't take a taxi from the airport to this hotel - we paid 180 sterling, more than a night's accomodation!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are small; the junior suites are smaller than the standard room I had in New York the week before and in Mumbai the week before that. DO NOT have room 432 - it has noise from the swimmingpool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Londona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews