We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better, much better”
Review of Villa Frogner B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Frogner B&B
Ranked #4 of 20 Oslo B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2006

I cannot come close to recommending this place. This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had in 40 years. This is also the first "terrible" rating I've given a hotel, but they certainly worked to earn such a distinction.

My first impression on my room was that it was a bit tired looking. The wallpaper was peeling from every seam, for example. The window faced a bunch of dumpsters. Ah well, if only that had been the worst of it.

My room had a double bed, and a couple couch/day beds in it. Across four days, the staff moved one day bed out of my room, then the other, then.... moved one back in. Each time my luggage and clothes, which was either on a day bed or in the empty spot, was tossed over onto one of the chairs. Seriously - they moved furniture in and out of my room and disrupted my luggage and clothes, without announcing it ahead of time or explaining why. I can't even imagine how they could think this was acceptable.

When I talked with the manager about this, he did not apologize. Instead, he said his staff wouldn't have done such a thing, the couches weren't that nice anyway, and I didn't need the couches. So he just avoided the point - no apology, no acknowlegment that there is a problem. This didn't do a lot to set my mind at ease, or show that they understood this kind of disruption to a guest's room, unannounced, is a BIG problem.

I moved out and I am following up with a complaint to the Norwegian consumer agency.

As someone that counts on TripAdvisor for reviews, I have to warn off potential travellers - steer clear. It's just not worth your vacation time or money to deal with these people. Investigate some of the other choices in the vicinity (Frogner Apartments, Vigelands Parken, or Residence Kristinelund, for example). I'm staying at Frogner Apartments now, and I'm very happy (I'll be writing a good review for them soon).

Villa Frogner changed management earlier in 2006, before I arrived. Older reviews for the previous management team were generally positive (I checked before I booked). But now, I think the new team will have difficulty getting return visits and recommendations with their current level of service.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DValkyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2005

This is a small, friendly, quiet and family run 4 bedroom (all with en suite and TV) B&B in the best area of town. A very short walk from the main entrance to the Vigelandspark (well worth a visit) - where bus and trams stop - it is also just a 500 m walk from the terminus of one of the airport buses (the Flybusexpress to Majorstuen - NKR 140 each way and it takes one hour, and runs twice an hour) from Gardermoen. The Frogner area is a 10 minute tram ride into the town centre, or better still a 25 minute walk through the Royal Palace gardens! In the Majorstuen area nearby there are plenty shops and restaurants also.
There is a casual air to Villa Froger: it is very clean: breakfast is a cold buffet; and you have to make your own beds!
The hosts all speak excellent English. We paid 750 NKR per room per night B&B which isnt cheap, but then again Norway is a very expensive place to visit. All in all, a good spot to stay. The location is the key.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Geissbock74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sissio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thorwaldschrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: la zona es muy silenciosa,es una zona de lujo, Bed & Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 140,781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beorn695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
867 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
1,000 reviews
Cochs Pensjonat
#1 of 20 in Oslo
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Frogner B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Frogner B&B

Address: Nordraaks gate 26, Oslo 0260, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range: $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Frogner B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Frogner Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable rooms with a private bath. All rooms are equiped with cable TV and free wireless internet (you'll need your own wireless card). Villa Frogner also offers apartments located at Solli Plass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Frogner B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Frogner Hotel Oslo
Villa Frogner Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing