We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and very central location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great hotel and very central location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Got the train in from the airport and got off at Nationaltheatret, 5 mins later at the front door of the hotel. Classy hotel and lovely surroundings, not your modern shiny hotel here. A feel old world feel. Check-in was great and overall staff were very good from the restaurant for breakfast to the bar.
Breakfast was fantastic, as much hot and cold dishes and super breads. Coffee fine and strong. Room was great, heated bathroom floor, good in winter time, surprisingly hot in the summer!!! Great shower and loads of towels. And a fridge with magnetic strips, so take the drink out, you get charged, so ice from the bar was very welcome to keep drinks cold. 1 minute walk and you are on Karl Johan's Gate, the main thoroughfare in Oslo. 5 mins to Aker Brygge and Radhus.
Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    512
    132
    27
    21
See reviews for
128
481
99
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in early August and since we liked it we stayed for another two on our way back. We booked 2 double rooms for single use the first time at around KR 760 per room and on the second stay for about KR1000 per room. We called the hotel and asked for quiet rooms away from the noisy bars. The hotel is aware of this issue and was helpful in making sure that's what we got. First stay was on the third floor in larger double rooms, that were quiet and comfortable. Second stay was on 6th floor in somewhat smaller rooms, still quite large enough and with a small balcony, quiet and more modernly furnished. I'd stay here over the smaller Radisson rooms and the in need of refurbishment Grand. Staff are friendly and helpful. One issue: The Mini bar is essentailly a vending machine. Anything taken out is immediately charged to your bill. The sensors are overly sensitive and both stays we had to clarify that nothing was taken from them. If you even bump the cabinet, I think it registers on the bill. But the staff seemed to be aware of this and it was not a problem to resolve. All in all, given the cost and size of Norway hotel rooms, this is a well located good value and nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

This was my second stay at the Hotel Bristol. The first was in 2004 and I remembered the hotel as being classy and elegant and comfortable. As a business traveler this time however, I wasn't so impressed. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros
Location. This was great for me, work-wise. Also, a short walk to Acker Brygge (sp?). In short, it feels very central to me.
The breakfast spread: Pretty huge and awesome. Tons of breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, granola. And then there's bacon, eggs, potatoes, etc. (Only thing that would make it better is a made-to-order bar.)
Free wireless (see cons)
Small gym on-site (see cons)
Cool lobby. I'm a sucker for old-school.

Cons
Wireless: You get a scratch-off card at the front desk that I finally discovered only lasted four hours. So if I started using the wireless at night, in the morning, I had to go and get another card. If you plan on using the wireless a lot, get a lot of scratch-offs.
Gym: The gym has two bikes and a cross-trainer, free-weights and one of those multi-purpose weight things. Very small, but serviceable. However, it opens at 7. I was there at 7. The guy that opens the gym was not. This was really annoying. I went to the front desk and they told me to go back and try again. Nada. Went upstairs and returned at 7:!5 and door was open. I know 15 minutes might not seem like a lot, but I needed to be at work by 9 and was counting on a 45 min 7 a.m. workout to make that--and breakfast--happen.
The Phone in the Room: I needed an iron and no matter what button I pressed on the phone, nothing rang reception. And there was also no list of phone numbers or how to dial anywhere that I could find.
Room temperature: The temperature control in my room was busted. More like falling apart.
Shower: The hot water pressure sucked big time. Cold was fine. No matter how I turned the dials, hot came out at a slow pulse.
Check-out: No "Did you have a nice stay?" or anything. Very perfunctory. This annoyed me.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

One of the best hotel in Oslo. I would trongly recommed to everybody to stay there. Very good location, very nice services and very very good breakfast. It is the best combination of rates and 4 stars service tehy provide.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed a couple of nights on a business trip in a club room. The room had all of the desired amenities including wifi, ironing board and coffee service. The location is convenient to many of the nearby tourist attractions and shopping.

The major downside is that it is definitely dated. The hotel has an "old world charm" good for business travelers and older travelers. But I would not recommend the hotel for a family with young kids.

Also note that the hotel is on the same street as a busy nightclub. So you will definitely hear the music and the patrons if you are on a lower floor. The breakfast buffet was decent and had a good selection. The staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Good location, about 1km walk from the train station. I read an earlier review complaining of noise from a local pub, but I found the hotel to be very quiet. Stayed in the middle of the 3rd floor overlooking the street (Kristian IV's Gate) in room 334. Room was very well decorated, clean, very comfortable beds. Only complaint: the bathroom was a decent size, but the shower was ridiculous. I'm a thin guy and I barely fit in the shower. Breakfast was very good with a wide assortment to choose from. Overall, a great value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

This hotel has one of the most beautiful lobbies in Oslo. The old world elegance is exceptional and the hotel is filled with antiques and luxurious furnishings in its common areas. There is a spa and business meeting rooms. Food was good (not great) and service was adequate (not excellent). One of the highlights is: a spectacular high tea is held in the lobby every afternoon -- very tasty and the best meal we had there. The lobby appears to be a terrific gathering place for affluent over 50 Oslo residents. Lots of meeting for drinks, etc. with an affluent middle aged crowd.

Rooms are well appointed ... bathrooms are nicely refurbished. Nice new TV but nothing else (no alarm clock, no radio). This place has a good central location within walking distance of the train station, the major museums and the main shopping district of Oslo.

Note: There are NO bellhops to help with luggage (something we have a feeling is common in Scandinavia). Views are non-existent -- many of the rooms face an alley and the views are often blocked in the ones that do face the street (we stayed in two different rooms here). Also, there is a bar on the side street that is extremely noisy at night so, if you face this side of the building, keep your windows closed! There is no free internet access with the exception of a small, stuffy (locked) office in an out of the way corner of the lobby where there is a single, very old computer you can access the internet from -- very 1990s.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggiesmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#15 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing