We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$192
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Hotels.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Priceline$172
Travelocity
Lol.travel$224
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,975)
Filter reviews
1,975 results
Traveler rating
1,075
663
163
45
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,075
663
163
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar classic hotel beautiful hotel central location breakfast buffet is royal palace quiet room location is excellent karl johans gate train station city hall public transport lobby norway minibar thon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,975 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights (end of Feb) at the Bristol. It was a lovely hotel and full of warmth and charm. Our room was beautiful, clean and quite comfortable by US standards. The lobby is constantly busy with people having drinks and/or High Tea. The bar is also a fun place to hang out. Breakfast was both elaborate and delicious. There is a great beer pub/restaurant directly across the street which we highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paljoey1075BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed one night in the Hotel Bristol. Although it doesn't look much from the outside it's full of old world charm on the inside. It's got a real luxurious 30s feel to it, beautiful wood, leather and ceilings. The rooms are a bit dated perhsps but clean and very comfortable and in keeping with the rest of the hotel stylewise. No tea or coffee making facilities though and in expensive Norway that was a bit of a pain. However, we had a beer in the bar downstairs and it was lovely. The very friendly waiter took our order and brought it to our table. Breakfast was amazing, everything you could ask for and some things you might not such as meatballs and hotdog sausages for breakfast! I went continental and had lovely bread with smoked salmon and cheese.
Reception staff were very friendly and professional. We got there before check in expecting to just leave our bags and go out for a wander but a room was ready and we had the choice of shower or bath, quiet room or front facing. It was all great. We'd stay there again. It's nice and central too, an easy walk slightly uphill from the train station.

Room tip: We were on the 6th floor and faced out onto a quad of walls and air con units which wasn't too pretty but we did ask for a quiet room. There was a balcony which was a bit odd given the view!
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for two nights before going on to Tromso. It was such a lovely old hotel with real character and tradition. Staff were very helpful. One thing to be aware of, if you arrive on a Saturday afternoon as we did, you may not be able to get a drink in the bar/lounge area. It was packed, and people were waiting for tables. It is very popular for the tradition for afternoon tea. The breakfast was absolutely brilliant, huge selection to choose from. It's in an ideal location too !

Date of stay: March 2014
Thank Susan1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel gives a great first impression. You arrive in an old style reception with great character. The breakfast room, bar and restaurant are in the same style and offer music that really go with the atmosphere. (i.e. 4*) The hotel rooms, on the other hand, look like they were renovated in 1984. While clean and practical, they are very boring and lack the amenities I would expect from a hotel of this quality, such as an ironing board or a kettle. (i.e. 2*)
The breakfast buffet is excellent, but the staff is a combination of 2* and 4* in their professionalism and service-mindedness.
The location is convenient and there are plenty of restaurants, cafés and bars around the corner. The hotel is less than 10 min walk away from the train stop, National Theatre (Nationaltheatret) where trains to/from the airport stop normally every 20 min. (Please note that it is the stop after the central station, Oslo S, so you have to catch a train to/from Drammen.)

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bristol is absolutely wonderful. Great old-style hotel, stylish decor in the small but extremely charming rooms. Very nice beds. Fabulous bathroom. Great breakfast in a great breakfast room. My new Oslo favourite.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews