We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some rooms in need of refurbishment”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bristol at the end of December and again in January. The first time we had a room on the 5th floor and everything was fine. The 2nd time we had a room on the 3rd floor. It's quite clear that it was in need of refurbishment. The floor in the bathroom flooded while we showered, the air conditioning system was so loud that it was impossible to sleep (and no it wasn't possible to turn it off... see picture), etc. At 11.30pm we went to the reception and asked for a different room. The answer was a simple "no" (apparently, they didn't have any available double rooms that night.... (but according to their own website they had some)). First thing in the morning the following day we talked to someone else and asked if it was possible to move to a different room. This time, the guy was very helpful and gave us a new room straightaway. The new room, on the 5th floor, was great and you could tell it had been refurbished.

The hotel itself is great but make sure you ask for a room which has been recently refurbished and avoid rooms on the street side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has been recently refurbished and avoid rooms on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'll bullet-point everything otherwise this review will be stupidly long:

Good Points:
- Wonderful service: chap working on reception filled-up a hot water bottle for me when my husband went and asked!
- Personally most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!
- Friday night and Saturday lunchtime there was an amazing pianist in a tux playing jazz on the grand piano.
- Beautiful building with 'old time' charm. Granted, it's looking a bit tired in some places, but it had a wonderful atmosphere and charm.
- Lots of 'places' in the hotel to be in if you didn't want to go out.
- Amazing breakfast, and provided GLUTEN-FREE and DAIRY-FREE food with everything else.
- Free wifi everywhere.
- Fantastic location.
- Delicious dinner in the hotel. Waiters made us feel really at-ease.

Not-so-good Points:
- No tea and coffee making facilities in the room...us Brits like our tea!
- Room was quite dark because of the outside darkness in the winter. Could have done with a main, bright light.
- Bathroom tended to flood a bit when using the shower...
- Breakfast can be a bit manic - wasn't easy to find a seat...

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a window facing the sun?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here two nights after a northern lights new year's cruise. Rooms are ok, though small (ask that your room NOT face the street...lots of loud partying into the night on both evenings). One of better breakfast buffets. This hotel is very convenient to many of oslo's center city attractions, and within walking distance of wharf. Helpful front desk on everything from dinner reservations to directions. The airport bus stop is directly across the street and very easy to use - costs 120 nok (about $24 in early January) which is a heck of a lot cheaper than our $200 cab ride IN to town. (Yikes!)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spent three nights at the Bristol organised by our tour operator. Centrally located about 50 metres from the Flybussen bus stop from and to the airport (which by the way is a great way to get to and from Oslo airport). Old style hotel with friendly and welcoming staff and clean comfortable rooms. I think our room was a basic one and unfortunately overlooked a gay bar and nightclub. I tend to like a bit of fresh air in hotels if possible but was forced to close all the double glazed windows because of the happy hour that went on until 3am.Breakfast as others have mentioned is top quality.Had a first-rate meal at the restaurant with attentive and friendly wait staff. If you are not vegetarian and enjoy red meat then you must try the reindeer. Absolutely perfect.I am not aware of the hotel rates as our room was included in the tour as a package but probably not cheap. Can recommend it and would stay again but ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not overlooking the gay bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent 6 nights in the Hotel Bristol with my wife over New Year. Our first impression was that this is a lovely hotel, But... however we haven't been able to put a description to any 'But' despite the impression. Perhaps it is that the hotel is geared towards the older patron rather than the 'hip crowd' but that was never apparent to us and we were warmly welcomed.

What i can say is that the rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best i have had in continental hotels, it has a wide buffet of breads, meats, cheeses and cereals (including Gluten Free) and a small number of hot options. The staff were friendly and eager to assist.

If you are staying over a public holiday it is worth checking out if the Hotel Restaurant is open. Most restaurants in Oslo close on holidays and just as well we checked with the hotel as they were also closed as was the bar.

In general it's not a cheap place to stay but if you get a good deal then it is certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluechip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A hotel with character centrally located in Oslo. The room was large though it overlooked a wall and had no view. Polite and good service. Breakfast which was included in the price was very extensive and amongst one of the best that I have experienced in European hotels.
On another note we were quite shocked at the taxi fare between the airport and the hotel at 800 NOKs one way. The most expensive airport to city taxi ride in my experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joydeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Been there only for a few drinks in the bar, and it was a lovelly experience. THe place is beautiful decorated, english style, reminding a library in hoghwarts... the service was phenomenal,and the price os the beers and cocktails are very reasonable, and sometimes cheaper than the average bar in oslo.

Certainly thay got a new costumer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiagoCosta86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
397 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,808 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $178 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing