We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked the Hotel Bristol based on its location and weren't disappointed as it put us right by bars and eateries, shopping and just 10 minutes walk from central station and the harbour.

Our room was right opposite a bar/club that plays music until the early hours (489). There was no way you could have the windows open and the air conditioning wasn't good enough to have them closed all the time!

The room door was not self locking (in 2013!) and if you forgot to lock it, your room would be open and free for anyone to enter. We didn't like this.

The quality of food at breakfast was good, but the organisation was appalling. It was tough to get a table and getting to the buffet was very difficult, because there wasn't enough space to move around with the amount of people trying to access it.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the interior is certainly 'grand'.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Trembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently I was lucky enough to stay in Hotel Bristol with my family for a week. It was our first visit to Norway and having researched lots of hotels in Oslo we chose Bristol because of it's many great reviews. We weren't disappointed. The foyer is so welcoming and a lovely place for a relaxing drink. We asked for quiet rooms and I must say that I didn't hear a sound from any of the adjacent rooms all week. The rooms, although small, were extremely clean and well kept. The beds were the most comfortable we had ever slept in! Getting up every morning was a treat because of the AMAZING breakfast! Every taste is catered for and they also had a great selection for anyone who's gluten intolerant. The staff were a lovely helpful bunch and there's a great gym and spa area on the basement floor. If you are planning a trip to Oslo you won't find anywhere better than this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TashaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel was nicely restored and well-maintained, as well as centrally located for sightseeing, public transportation, and restaurants.The lobby was warm and welcoming, and sandwiches and desserts could be purchased from the afternoon on. The rooms were a little small, but well-furnished and comfortable. We asked for a quiet room, and we never heard a sound. The beds,as we later discovered all over Norway, were 2 twins put together, each with a mattress topper which not that firm. The bathroom was modern and clean, but rather spartan in terms of amenities, such as bottles of shampoo or lotions. The shower was very small and it would be difficult to accommodate a large or tall person. The breakfast was excellent, and, in retrospect after 2 weeks in Norway, it was by far the best that we had. They had a full array of breakfast/brunch items, including freshly squeezed orange juice and made-to-order omelets. We tended to eat large breakfasts and skipped lunch because the food and beverages were unbelievably expensive throughout the country. Recommendation-if you are spending several days in Oslo,get the Oslo pass. It saves you a lot of money on transporation and museums and other sights. They have a senior rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I hand selected this hotel for our recent visit to Oslo. I will be bringing a large American group there and I was impressed with this hotel's elegant ambiance and décor as well as its superb location (right off of the pedestrian-friendly Karl Johans Gate. I actually liked the location of The Bristol better than other hotels located on the pedestrian drag as it is quieter and less hectic. The interior of The Bristol is lovely with lots of leather seating and nooks for drinks and conversations. The breakfast was very abundant and delicious. I also experienced friendly, professional service from the staff at the hotel. Additionally, I was impressed with how friendly Oslo as a city is to visitors. I will enjoy bringing groups to this wonderful city and fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBTravelDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a standard double room. Hotel location is close to transportation & within easy walking distance to sights. The airport bus stops right near hotel. We arrived in early morning & they were able to accommodate early check in. Room was clean & bed comfortable. Room was quite small, but we had reserved a standard double rather than a superior. Breakfast was one of the best we found at any of our hotels in Norway. Excellent service by the front desk staff. Someone always at desk & they were knowledgable & friendly. They sell the Oslo Pass. We found the Oslo 24 Hour Pass a good value for the touring we had planned.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lov2TravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a good solid choice for upscale but not luxury hotel centrally located. Our room was large, clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent. The best thing is that it is easy and inexpensive to get to from the airport. Taxis are outrageous and the train drops you in the central station and that is a real problem if you have more than hand luggage because you have to find a taxi to the hotel. SAS Flybussen runs an express bus from the airport that drops you 50 yards from the hotel and it runs every twenty minutes. Ask for the senior discount. There is no concierge but the people at the front desk were helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We where lucky to get a room the 5star hotel Bristol in Oslo. The hotel is very well situated and nearly all places in Oslo can be reached by walking - around 15 minutes walk to Akers Brygge.

The room was clean and was well furnitured. The bed was ok. Maybe a little to soft, but this is only a personal requirement.

The bathroom was clean, but and this was a little bit disturbing - it smelled a little bit - but we where not able locate it. Additionally the shower was not 100 % easy to use, since the swinging glassdoor - if not positioned properly helped the water flowing into the rest of the bathroom.

The bar. Nice and quite cosy. We ordered two gin tonics, but where suprised that this was served (in a 5-star hotel!) without napkins under the glass (on a glasstable) and there where no chips or nuts served additionally.

The breakfast is just great! You get nearly all you can wish for breakfast, the staff is friendly (as
all the staff in hotel) and it was a great start into a new day!

All in all the hotel is a very nice place to stay and having a great stay in Oslo.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 6th floor and this was just great! Be careful, that you might request a porter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjellsiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
411 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,843 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,295 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $182 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing