We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice ambiance & outstanding service”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a standard double room. Hotel location is close to transportation & within easy walking distance to sights. The airport bus stops right near hotel. We arrived in early morning & they were able to accommodate early check in. Room was clean & bed comfortable. Room was quite small, but we had reserved a standard double rather than a superior. Breakfast was one of the best we found at any of our hotels in Norway. Excellent service by the front desk staff. Someone always at desk & they were knowledgable & friendly. They sell the Oslo Pass. We found the Oslo 24 Hour Pass a good value for the touring we had planned.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lov2TravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a good solid choice for upscale but not luxury hotel centrally located. Our room was large, clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent. The best thing is that it is easy and inexpensive to get to from the airport. Taxis are outrageous and the train drops you in the central station and that is a real problem if you have more than hand luggage because you have to find a taxi to the hotel. SAS Flybussen runs an express bus from the airport that drops you 50 yards from the hotel and it runs every twenty minutes. Ask for the senior discount. There is no concierge but the people at the front desk were helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We where lucky to get a room the 5star hotel Bristol in Oslo. The hotel is very well situated and nearly all places in Oslo can be reached by walking - around 15 minutes walk to Akers Brygge.

The room was clean and was well furnitured. The bed was ok. Maybe a little to soft, but this is only a personal requirement.

The bathroom was clean, but and this was a little bit disturbing - it smelled a little bit - but we where not able locate it. Additionally the shower was not 100 % easy to use, since the swinging glassdoor - if not positioned properly helped the water flowing into the rest of the bathroom.

The bar. Nice and quite cosy. We ordered two gin tonics, but where suprised that this was served (in a 5-star hotel!) without napkins under the glass (on a glasstable) and there where no chips or nuts served additionally.

The breakfast is just great! You get nearly all you can wish for breakfast, the staff is friendly (as
all the staff in hotel) and it was a great start into a new day!

All in all the hotel is a very nice place to stay and having a great stay in Oslo.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 6th floor and this was just great! Be careful, that you might request a porter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjellsiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was well-appointed, clean, and centrally-located. The rooms were elegantly simple and very clean. I had to move a nightstand to get to a power outlet, and the hardwood floors were dustless (mine at home aren't that clean!) The location is good, too, although you could say that about almost any hotel in the area (Oslo is not a huge city). We asked for a late check-out (13.00) after thoroughly enjoying the scrumptious breakfast buffet, which included the staple Scandinavian breakfast items. Free Wi-Fi, too. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: We were in the back of the hotel, and we heard zero street noise. Other reviewers have recommended t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Art nouveau type of building, well decorated....when you enter the lobby, you'll immediately notice this is not your standard, mainstream average hotel.....its à one of à kind!....I have stayed here quite often, perfectly located in the city centre of Oslo and always liked staying here...rooms are a bit small and beds are just average..breakfast is excellent, dont miss it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinWillburry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Staff in the reception very nice.

Historical hotel. VERY large breakfast buffé - best I have seen actually!

Real fast internet.

No A/C, thermostat is controlling the bathroom floor (!) Warm room despite low outdoor temp. Noise outside. Bathroom smelled bad. Close to the airport busses.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a functioning A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basi1Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Bristol in June in a superior front room at the top of the hotel with a view of the Opera House. The room was very tastefully decorated, clean and, being so far up from the street, quiet. But the drawcard for us was the huge and fabulous reception/bar area which is beautifully designed with couches, shelves of books (in Norwegian of course) and cosy nooks where one can grab a snack or a drink after a hard day's exploration. The dining/breakfast room is equally beautiful and our dinner there was faultless, if a little expensive (expected in Scandanavia). Breakfast was excellent with an eye-popping choice of hot and cold dishes. Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the harbour, tour boats to the islands and tons of restaurants on the boardwalk. Also recommended is the open-air part of the New Orleans and Cajun Cafe through a doorway off Rosenkrantz' Gate, just down the road from the hotel ... nice people and good, cheap food. We really enjoyed our stay at the Bristol and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherpa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
436 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
THE THIEF
#3 of 103 in Oslo
1,871 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 103 in Oslo
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $189 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing