We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exclusive and Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Pietrasanta, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exclusive and Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent two days in Oslo and we found this incredible accommodation. The Hotel is in the core of the city just few hundred meters from the most interesting places. The hall is something incredible that let you remember the old extremely luxury accommodation: things like Titanic or Queen Mary. It is a tea room, a piano bar, a library, there is a beautiful fountain in the middle: it's a warn recovery from the cold outside. Everything has been … perfect. Keep it up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo_alfa71omega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    469
    114
    25
    21
See reviews for
120
448
88
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Thanks to all the wonderful TripAdvisor reviewers, I picked this hotel for a 4-day stay last March. It met every one of my needs: old-world local charm (I always knew I was in Oslo!), location within walking distance of most places and a street-car ride for all the rest, sparkling clean room (but small, so I only had what I needed/wanted), good restaurant, nice pub, super breakfast, wireless everywhere, etc. Most of all, the lobby gave me a home away from home: great for a solo traveller who knew no-one when she arrived. The service was warm and friendly. Plus I got an instant insight into why people complain that Norway is expensive when I checked the laundry prices and found a $25 price for washing (not ironing) a pair of jeans. It was obvious that prices are high when service is involved, because they pay everyone a living wage and benefits. This made for friendly service people; it also made for taking advantage of all the "practically free" public benefits, like the Oslo ticket that covers all the museums, transport, etc. Even going to the opera, and to a couple of really top restaurants, this visit was not expensive, because so much of what I wanted to do and see was much cheaper than it would have been in the U.S.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

of the lobby strikes you immediately when you enter ; very cosy: big leather sofa's which creates an immediate nice ambiance. It sure is a nice different to some of the more 'sterile' Scandinavian hotels I stayed in.
The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.
The rooms are comfortable - and the windows do open (I like to have some fresh air).
Nothing fancy but comfortable.
A thing that struck me is that (at times) there is a slight sewage smell in the bathroom; I was told that in Scandinavia they are not allowed to use harsh cleaning products (like bleach) ...!!!
During the peak season the breakfast room can be a bit ' overcrowded'; you may have to wait to find a table; also the replenishing of the breakfast items does take time as the staff can not handle the flow. But hey, who is in a rush right?

The location is TOPS; 2 minutes from the main square. 10 minutes from the port (really fab to sit at a terrace in the summer watching people stroll by, listen to a concert.
Everything is at hand; restaurants, bars and cinemas.

And the Scandinavians sure enjoy the outdoors; it does not matter if it is 25 degrees or minus 20; I saw them on the (heated) terraces having a drink!

But I am always surprised how expensive it can be!?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were looking for a competitively priced hotel in the centre of Oslo for a long weekend city break and booked the Bristol hotel.
It was very easy to find, short walking distance to the national theatre train station which is fantastic as you can use the metro to get anywhere you might like to go.
On arrival at the Bristol hotel I was amazed by the beautiful Lobby area it relly is stunning. The reception team were fantastic, offering ideas for where we may like to visit during our stay and a map (always useful).
We had a standard room which was a good size with a desk and small sitting area. The bathroom was lovely, L'occtaine hair and body wash, just a shower which was fine for us, but if your someone who needs a bath, it may be worth checking with the hotel what type of room you need to book.
The room was spotless, and house keeping did a fantastic job daily to keep it so, infact the whole hotel was spotless.
The bed and pillows - aaaaamazing, most comfy bed I have ever slept in.
Breakfast is wonderful, buffett style with plenty of choice. If you can have breakfast late and consider it brunch (it will save you alot of money, Oslo is expensive!!)
I used the sauna once during my stay, again it was clean and well kept. It is small, but i was the only person there, a great way to warm up after a chilly day round Oslo.
Whilst we were visiting my boyfriend unfortunately broke his ankle sledging and really the hotel were fantastic (specificaly the reception team) . They faxed all our insurance documents and printed the documents we needed, extended our room to a late checkout on our rescheduled departure day, provided extra pillows, anythng we needed, the reception team eally are a credit to this already lovely hotel.
The hotel holds the charm from the 1920s and really is fantastic, we really hope to visit again (hopefully no broken bones next time!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodiejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This city centre hotel combines old-world charm with modern comforts in an ideal location convenient to all the main city attractions, The rooms are small but well appointed and those on upper floors are quiet with views over the city from their small balcony. The buffet breakfast is extensive and of high standard. The free sauna, plunge pool (10c) and power showers are a valuable bonus on cold winter days. Room rates reduce by the number of days stayed and offer excellent value for money compared to other hotels even within the Thon group. I would not think of staying in any other hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautiful, very clean. I loved the lobby. You can get a light meal all day/evening in elegant but not pretentious surroundings. Super comfy- warm bed. Breakfast was yummy with the same elegant atmosphere. We sat in a small alcove off the main dining room. Close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need one. They will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel, staff and decor. Period decor in lobby and restaurants. Perfectly located, close to the central railway station, tube and tourist info offices. We spent 3 nights here in room 566. The bathroom is a bit of a let down compared to the beautiful lobby and pleasant room. Only a shower cubicle and no bathtub and no extras like moisturiser with toileteries. Quite expensive at over 140 euros for a double room but Norway is expensive. We were here to bring in the New Year. Breakfast - something to look forward to every morning in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book online and in advance for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brusselsmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#27 of 89 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
The Thief
#1 of 89 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing