We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below my expectations”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I went to the Hotel Bristol with high expectations as it was recommended by my hosts and also there seemed to be good reports on Trip Advisor.

On entering the hotel had bags of old world charm and must be wonderful around Christmas time with open fires and tea and cakes in the lounge etc.

Check in was effiecient and welcoming but no offer to help with my bags.

The room, once eventually found through the confusing signage, was very small for the price but adequate but noteven a complimentary bottle of water which I would have expected for the price.

Bed much too soft with some sort of mattress cover which did not look that clean underneath thesheets.

the bathroom had a huge sink but very small shower which was impossible to turn around in. Also you had to sit on the toilet sideways because the toliet roll holder was so close to the toilet and so low it was impossible to sit properly - surely someone must have noticedthis previously.

Breakfast looked tempting witha veritable feast laid out in front of guests and two chefs on hand to cook eggs etc.

I was immediately told off for helping myself to coffee even though nobody had offered to serve me. the coffee was stewed and foul tasting.

Decided to have eggs and bacon as featured on the menu. went to the chef station where they informed me thatthey didnt cook bacon. Took two fried eggs but there were only freezing cold plates available so that by the time I returned to my table the eggs were congealed and inedible.

Croisants were cold and also very hard - seemed to be stale.

I am returning to Oslo next year but will probably not stay in the Hotel Bristol.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Bristol was a comfortable hotel with very helpful staff. We required a takeaway breakfast because of an early start and when we checked out it was waiting for us. The location is very central and the piano bar has a really good vibe.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurahill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Ask for a room with windows opening to the couryard rather than the outside, if you're staying on the weekend.

Otherwise, no real complaints about the hotel, except all decent hotels in Oslo are VERY expensive, and this one is no different. Very nice breakfast buffet. Comfortable and large room (family room). Bathroom seemed newly renovated. Walking distance to many major Oslo attractions. However, be aware there is no air conditioning in the hotel which can get warm on the 2 weeks during the year of warm weather in Oslo. So we slept with windows open, and were kept up most of the night by the rave dancing bar across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows opening to the couryard rather than the outside, if you're staying o...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the Bristol for a couple of days, and had a very nice stay there. The public areas of the hotel are decorated in a distinctive style, and clearly show that the hotel is a historic one, with wood panelling, many restaurants etc. Reception staff were always efficient and helpful. As for the rooms, there are two categories, the renovated ones and the unrenovated. While both of them do not seem to much the lavish interiors of the property, the renovated rooms are nicely done, and are up to 4 star hotel standards, and even 5 star considering the hotel is in Scandinavia. We had a club room, which is almoust twice the size of the standard rooms, and we were very satisfied with it, as it was very spacious, resembling a junior suite more than a room, and everything in it worked fine. Breakfast was better than expected, with many hot and cold dishes, in a nice setting. Location is very convenient right in the heart of the city, with the stop for the bus to the airport just accross the street.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room, and if you want space book one in the club category.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Hotel Bristol is a big hotel which, at first glance, looks and feels nicer than it is. We arrived in December when it was full to bursting with both visitors and city people who’d dropped in for drinks and dinner. We had drinks in the lobby, where we had trouble finding a seat among the many other people with the same idea, but once seated, we were promptly waited on by a helpful but harried server.
We had an excellent dinner in the bar restaurant. It was certainly the highlight of our stay in the hotel, but also one of the best meals of our 11- day Norwegian stay.
Our room was fine, pretty standard issue for a big city European big hotel.
Except for our evening meal, I have no raves about the place and not much to complain about, either. It’s centrally located, within walking distance of high-end department stores and shops, so if that’s what you’re after, you’d be happy at the Hotel Bristol.
I’m still searching for a good hotel in Oslo, smaller than the Hotel Bristol--- smaller and lots more charming.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivianite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in a "Club Room" and the room came with AC. Bathroom is cramped and small, but functional (for one person at the time). One wine glass was not clean (room only came with 2 wine glasses).
However, Breakfast (included) was a big disappointment. Staff was not friendly and we felt we were in the way. Eggs were impossible to get so we ended up with a yoghurt and a toast without butter. Had coffee with no milk (empty) before we checked out... The only friendly person we met was a blond smiling valet-parking attendant. He was fast and service-minded.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The public rooms are the nicest part of this large, older hotel. The guest rooms are perfectly adequate; the free breakfast is very good and there is free wireless. The staff were helpful, if not always knowledgeable. The Bristol is in good walking distance of central Oslo, the harbor and the Royal Palace. Their main restaurant was closed for vacation as were several nearby restaurants but we were able to find something within a few blocks. Oslo is a very expensive city, for US dollar travelers, but the Bristol is affordable in this context.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,197 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#9 of 102 in Oslo
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $187 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing