We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but unorganized restaurant”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in a "Club Room" and the room came with AC. Bathroom is cramped and small, but functional (for one person at the time). One wine glass was not clean (room only came with 2 wine glasses).
However, Breakfast (included) was a big disappointment. Staff was not friendly and we felt we were in the way. Eggs were impossible to get so we ended up with a yoghurt and a toast without butter. Had coffee with no milk (empty) before we checked out... The only friendly person we met was a blond smiling valet-parking attendant. He was fast and service-minded.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

The public rooms are the nicest part of this large, older hotel. The guest rooms are perfectly adequate; the free breakfast is very good and there is free wireless. The staff were helpful, if not always knowledgeable. The Bristol is in good walking distance of central Oslo, the harbor and the Royal Palace. Their main restaurant was closed for vacation as were several nearby restaurants but we were able to find something within a few blocks. Oslo is a very expensive city, for US dollar travelers, but the Bristol is affordable in this context.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in a room with a lovely view of the cathedral off our little balcony. Front desk staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was huge and delicious, especially the smoothies.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stowawaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a beautiful old hotel. The rooms are very nicely appointed and the hotel's location is terrific. The included breakfast buffet is high quality and is typically European. The Bristol's best attribute is that staff willingly go out of their way to help customers. In our case, even though the hotel laundry is closed on weekends, the front desk attendant sought permission from the housekeeping supervisor to handle our laundry on Saturday. We dropped it off at the front desk at about 8:00am and it was in our room, folded neatly when we returned at 4:00pm.
Our stay at the Bristol was memorable and I would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a very nice three night stay in a comfortable suite. It's a grand old European hotel. Unfortunately in July it's a bit shut down and the service wasn't as good as it should be. The main restaurant was closed for the month, the staff decided to close the bar early on a Saturday night, and our experiences with service were very mixed. Also the room wasn't quiet; one night we could hear every word the couple in the next room was saying. Room furnishings were more attractive than comfortable. It's a nice enough hotel in a good location, it could just have benefited from a manager making sure the service was of the quality of the building.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We have been coming to Hotel Bristol for several years now. It was our “pied-à-terre” in Oslo for visiting family. As commented already by others, it has a well used feel to it, which goes with the history of the place. It is well-situated, with easy airport access along with a good central location.

We stayed here for five nights (July 7th-12th). On arrival we were assigned a room with a claustrophobic view of a brick wall about 2m away, we immediately grumbled and were immediately moved. New room was a good size, with balcony. Nasty stained carpets though, absolutely no storage space and a tiny bathroom.

Our real problem during this stay was the night porter on Saturday night. I don’t think I have ever experienced such treatment in a hotel. And certainly not a hotel of this caliber.

Briefly, we were at a wedding the other side of Oslo. We had just one number to phone for a taxi and it was impossible to get through. We phoned the Bristol for help. The most unhelpful man bluntly refused to order us a taxi, in spite of giving our name, room number and pleading with him. It was very late, pouring with rain and it took us a long long time to finally get a taxi - the driver of which confirmed that it was common practice for hotels to order taxis for their guests. Well of course it is. We know that!

Back at the hotel we confronted this nasty man. He claimed he knew what he was doing and told me to shut up (“hold kjeft”) making a gesture with his hand when I said “shame on you” for not helping us. He was aggressive, utterly unpleasant and rude. There was not a sign of customer service, regret or any of the usual qualities we get from front desk staff in this or most other hotels. Shocking. We tried to complain over the two remaining days we had left in the hotel, but the duty manager was never available. We left a note for him/her but never heard a word. Nothing.

We won’t come back. Shame on you Hotel Bristol.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The Bristol is a superbly maintained mahogany, palms, and polished brass hotel in downtown Oslo. The airport bus stops one short block away on the same street. Breakfast is outstanding and Internet connection free in every room and easy to use. Downtown but on a quiet street, a room with a view is desirable. My only complaint concerns coffee at breakfast. You have to get up and fetch your own from the buffet table and the espresso machine runs out of coffee early and is not replenished! Service otherwise impeccable...
Spa and gym also available. (I didn't use them.)

Room Tip: Streets are quiet and room with a view desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
436 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
THE THIEF
#3 of 103 in Oslo
1,871 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 103 in Oslo
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $189 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing