We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Comfort Hotel, and its chains are always the best for me, very central, good standard and the best cool people working there.
I love the rooms, and how they are decorated, feels like to be in art place

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Waqas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

My dear guest Waqas A, from Bergen,

WOW! Thank you for your stay with us. Your top rating is smooth and your kind feedback even better! Highly appreciated. We will do our best to live up to your experience every single day. We all hope to see you both soon again as our guests. Welcome back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central in Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Location , Breakfast and beds are wonderful. Quiet and peaceful hotel, centrally located. Should have been a little more heat in bathroom. Service-set staff. Recommended for both adults and children. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Rune S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

My dear guest Rune S,

Location matters! Thank you for your business stay with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated. The heating issue during your stay has been evaluated and is now improved. As the hotel manager I personally hope you`ll find this hotel useful for your business days to come. Welcome back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel has a very good location especially if you arrive in Oslo late in the evening. Its at the railway station. The hotel is very friendly with a not to big lobby, cozy Italian restaurant and small but stylish rooms. The breakfast iis absolutly exellent!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Karin H,

LOVLY! Thank you for your business stay with, your kind feedback us and your top rating of Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We all look forward seeing you soon again as our guest. All the best from team Grand Central. Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Since I didn’t have much time in Oslo, I stayed at the Comfort Central Station Hotel ($258) which is right at the train station, so it was an easy decision to take the express train from the airport directly to the Central Station. It took 19 mins and was 170NOK. The train station is undergoing a major renovation so the entrance to the Comfort CS Hotel from the station itself is closed now but they had lots of huge, obvious signage so I went outside the station, around the corner, down some steps and there it was.

Room was fine - good lighting, big armchair, big flat-screen TV, and comfy bed. Big window overlooking the square but didn't hear any street noise. Opened the window initially for fresh air but room wasn't super hot so closed the window for sleeping. Breakfast was in their ground floor restaurant and was fine (no porridge though!) Check in/out was super quick and pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vickiebypass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

My dear guest Vickiebypass from Connecticut,

Thank you for staying with us. I hope you`d a efficient hours in Oslo and a pleasant stay with us.
Good idea, thank you. I`ll consider serving you porridge in the future, meanwhile you still can start your day with homemade scrambled eggs or my favorite, the homemade jam, all served for breakfast from 6am. All customized for you to have a good and efficient hotel stay, in the heart of Oslo. Hope we you again here at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central, in Oslo. Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is set in a stand alone Classic European architecture building next to the Oslo Central Station. The lobby is contemporarily designed with quirky wall paintings, unique lamps and generously high ceilings, as do the rooms -as you'd expect from the Scandinavians. There is a 'social' ironing room as well to hang out in - if that's your thing. Little thoughtful touches like wall sockets beside each bedside for device charging, kettle and a seasoned leather armchair makes is feel more homely. Breakfast buffet is also hearty and varied - the best scrambled eggs I have had ever. :)

Service is efficient and polite. The location is perfect - it's located at the head of the shopping thoroughfare, next to the train station as well as the ferry terminal and the room had a view of their famous modernistic opera house.

I'd definitely stay here if I visit Oslo again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Density
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

My dear guest Density from Singapore,

Cool that you like our homemade scrambled eggs served for breakfast. Our breakfast chef puts a lot of love into making this every morning. Its my personal favourite as well with the homemade Jam.. Thank you both for staying with us! Grateful for you smooth feedback and your 6/6 rating. Thank you very much! Hope we you both soon again at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central, in Oslo. Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very nice, clean and quiet rooms, good if not perfect location...
Staff is friendly and always smiling, the check in is the fastest I've ever had.
there is not much more to say and thats a good thing!

keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stukken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

My dear guest Stukken J,

Thank you for your stay with us! Grateful for you very kind feedback and your smooth 5/6 rating.
When we opened the grand ideas is not offering you a white marble counter with waiting room or line up, served from a person with stiff tie and a stiffer smile. The idea is simple: “Less is more”. We serve you fast check in and a warm smile on your way. Glad you appreciate doing business with us! Hope we you soon again at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central, in Oslo. Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is almost invisible, hidden away in the old station hall over looking the square. When we booked we were worried about noise and the fact it was a station hotel, which generally are notorious for low standards.

However, this hotel is quite simply outstanding value for money. It is stylish, quiet and comfortable, with great beds and basic but still modern and well equipped rooms. The staff are really excellent and incredibly helpful. We got the sense that nothing was too much for them if it meant you were a happy guest!

The restaurant (Bella Bambina) deserves a particular mention. In a city where restaurants can be over priced and mediocre, this cosy Italian serves really outstanding dishes at very reasonable prices, and is worth a visit even if you aren't staying in the hotel....and the breakfasts are delicious and will mean you wont need lunch.

We have been back 3 times now and the standards have been absolutely consistent and we would recommend this to anyone staying in Oslo...even over the more pricey and more grand hotels.

And for early trains you cannot fault it....a 5 minute walk.

Wonderful!

Room Tip: They are all good!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wuffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

My dear guest Wuffa from London,

- GREAT. You`ve the funniest profile photo ever.
Thank you for your last stay with Comfort Hotel Grand Central, in Oslo! Grateful for you very kind feedback and your top score/rating. And the most important fact that you`re satisfied guest makes me thankful as hotel manager. Feedback from guests, who, after many visits have an opinion on the overall product is a stamp other readers can trust. Thank you for sharing.

Because; as a new hotel, which as you say, a well hidden one, it is therefore so valuable and important to us that guests sharing the experience with other guests/readers. I'm grateful that you and others at Trip Advisor sharing your story with the new online world- A big thanks to you all! Hope to see you soon back Mr. Wuffa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,615 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 102 in Oslo
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $151 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing