We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel, great location, and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel, great location, and friendly staff!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Just checked into the hotel by friendly and helpful staff ( Daniel). He made us feel welcome and told us info of 24 hr pass for trams and buses. The hotel is located within the old station building (cream yellow colors) and the internal entrance is facing Mc Donald's within the station building (see
photo) at the main old station entrance.

Rest at the hotel loung and had free hot drinks provided by hotel (self service).
We stored our luggage at the hotel's locker at reception when we arrived early in the morning by Dfds seaways ferry from Copenhagen to Oslo. It was a long walk from terminal to the hotel 20 minutes. Left terminal crossed the roads and turn right (can see all the city centre buildings -checked for signs for central station) followed the road and crossed fews side streets (uneven surfaces); followed the road til when you see 7 Eleven and HM (cloth store) turn into the street and you will see station building (cream yellow). At the station entrance (enter from the street) Mc Donald on your left and hotel on your right next to a cafe/bar so turn right straight away! Hotel entrance with clear lit signage. With heavy luggage take the taxis from terminal or bus from terminal station. Will post more info later.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Lipsytravel,
Thankful for your stay with us and your contribution to the many travelers who need to find the way to Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
The DFDS is as per today located 1 km from the hotel. With construction work in the DFDS terminal area your route is a good one. In the future you`ll walk along the seaside with nice view to the Opera House with a beautiful park area surroundings directly to the hotel. My colleague Daniel will be rewarded at my next internal meeting. Thank you and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    715
    255
    54
    26
See reviews for
229
640
130
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
657 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Hotel was amazing. Inside of Oslo S, Central Station with awesome rooms (mine was a room with 2 floors) Nice tv channels, perfect channel for music, 1003 I think. The breakfast was perfect, one of the best with nice cheese, nice ham, good juices. The wifi was good and you had free coffee and tea anytime you what. Automatic check-in in the machine (it was my first time doing this). The was staff was friendly and helpful. No doubts about the Hotel, jus choose it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Marcelo C,
Thanks for the very nice feedback about your stay. It pleases me and all my colleagues that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Info: Your 2 floor room is actually inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn. Other have protected historical significance and many a story to tell.

Hope to see you back soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We choose to stay in this hotel due to its location at the Oslo Central Train Station. However, due to a change in the flight schedule by SAS, we had to arrive in the hotel at midnight instead of the original planned midday.

Upon arrival at the central station, we found that the hotel was situated at the building next to the train station. Due to our late arrival, the main entrance was already locked and thanks to a nice lady who pointed out to us that the hotel entrance was by the side while we were trying to make a call to the hotel.

When we made our way round the building to look for the side entrance, we were `greeted’ by the frozen slippery ice that was surrounding the entrance of the hotel. We really had a hard time trying to make our way into the hotel with several huge luggages through the slippery ice without falling.

We were later informed by the receptionist that the main entrance was closed/locked for security reasons after eleven in the night. So just an advice for those arriving in the late evening, the hotel entrance is at the right side if you are facing the main entrance of the hotel building.
The double rooms that we were allocated were clean and spacious and so were the attached bathroom/toilet. However, the bathroom could get very wet after showers due to the only `incomplete’ glass panel that separate the shower cubicle from the rest of the toilet.
The free wifi and the spread of the breakfast were good and there was free coffee/tea available at the reception at all times. There was express check in/out terminal and free internet terminals but we did not use them.

Overall, the stay is a pleasant one except for the `slippery’ arrival. We will recommend this hotel to those on budget that arrives from the train station due to its location but please remember to take note of the entrance if you arrive after 11 in the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SQFlyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SQFlyer72,

Thank you for your stay with us. With a central location its many considerations to take regards Health, Safety and Environmental activities (HSE).

Our HSE focus has and will always be a top priority, but with that in mind we need to make the entrance area also within HSE. I hereby confirm that we have based on your information implemented a new routine for de-icing and gritting the road better, starting from today.

Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind recommendation. Its highly appreciated. Look forward seeing you all soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is locted basically in main railway station Oslo S bulding. The same time it's not so easy to find hotel front door, as there is no directional signage in station and the entrance is not well-lit. The lobby looks trendy, with comfortable sofas. There is self-check in desk, but also service desk with small drinks and snacks kiosk. Double room was very compact and without cabinets for clothes. So it might be not so convenient for longer stay for two. But as I travelled solo, it didn't bother me. What positively surprised me was:
1) large bathroom, compared to bedroom
2) big screen LED TV
3) quietness during the night (no traffic under window)
4)possibility to open window (majority city centre hotels have only air conditioning)
5) the most silent airconditioning, like ever.
The sleeping quality was excellent. Nighttime lightning was also well thougt thru, but in the morning I missed the proper lightning for the room, it was very dark.
There are no free toiletries in bathroom, just box on the wall with soap. But it was not filled with usual smelly-itchy stuff - it was pretty decent showering gel. No tea making facilities either, but wi-fi was well functioning and free of charge.
Breakfast has plenty of options and most of it is organic. So all-in-all it's decent place to stay overnight during business trip. Price / quality ratio is very good for Oslo.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Kai R,
Thank you staying with us and for sharing an informative and detailed review. Appreciated! I totally agree with you regards signage. I promise you its my top priority but as one of many companies within station its political work need to be done to signage approval. Rooms are very quiet, even if it's in the heart of Oslo. I think it's one of our best selling points. And very glad you did sleep well. It pleases us who work here that you found the hotel suitable for you, hope we see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed one night with my family (two separate rooms).........This hotel located in the main Oslo train station complex, which is quite well resourced with shops and cafes. Got off the airport train, walked a short distance and checked in..............hotels are expensive in Norway and this was no exception, however the location in Oslo is excellent. We walked up the main mall of downtown Oslo and saw plenty of stores, pubs, restaurants etc...........we dined at the Italian restaurant that is actually attached to the Hotel. I must say, that the food was outstanding, the service fantastic and we were really made to feel at home (or better). Not cheap, but hey, we were on holidays. The next morning we availed ourselves of breakfast and walked a short distance to the platform to catch our train to Bergen. Definitely stay again. Our room had a queen size bed in a loft situation, which whilst okay for us, would not suit an older couple or people with mobility problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajk021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ajk021 with family.
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. Your room during your stay with us is inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while the 170 others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. The man in charge of our Italian restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, he has called his restaurant “Bella Bambina” which in Italian is “Beautiful little Girl”- haven’t asked him, but he recently got a daughter, so i think I know where the name comes from. Hope you got tested and enjoyed our homemade strawberry jam during breakfast.
Look forward welcoming you and your family back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on my way up to tromso in December. Great location as u can just hop on the airport express train and you reach literally the same building as the central station Is wall to wall with the hotel. Prices were good but rooms are a bit on the small side, however we were able to get an upgrade just by asking nicely with kitten eyes. Extremely trendy hotel, lobby is very cool but very small! Looks like the entrance to a hostel. Walking distance from everything which is a plus. Breakfast is good but once closed half an hour before they should and I stayed without breakfast. The things that bothered was the fact that there are always drunk/drugged thug looking dodgy characters around the entrance most of the time, must be due to the fact that the station is so close. Another thing that bothered me a lot was the fact that my girlfriend and I dozed off momentarily while waiting for friends to come down from their rooms only to have the receptionist shake us awake to tell us that we weren't allowed to fall asleep in the lobby. Made me feel I was back in middle school and was quite rude. But all in all i would stay there again for its location. It was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnalogueJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear AnalogueJedi,

Hope your trip to Tromsoe was good and you got the chance to see the Northern Light.
Thank you for sharing your feedback. As a newly opened hotel we have lots of potential for improvement, and you information helps us well on our the way to a better hotel in total. Thank you very much. Look forward welcoming you back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central in Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We wanted to stay near the train station and this was a good choice. Finding the hotel though was a challenge be great to have a picture on the website with a map of the station. We came in on a different platform from the airport so probably didn't help. It is in the old station building and just straight towards the city of coming in on the normal airport platforms on the right before you leave the old building is MacDonalds and on the left is the hotel - past a cafe. Reception doesn't look normal - looks like a cafe for drinks and has self service kiosks so can be tricky as not sure where the hotel is. Check in once we found the hotel was easy and free wifi was good. The room was funky and nicely designed. We would have preferred a safe particularly as it was a new hotel - but maybe not normal in Oslo? Breakfast was fantastic - lots too choose from and very nice. Easy and convenient to catch the train.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escape123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear escape123. Thank you for your informative and detailed description/feedback to all my future guests which I am sure will benefit from the information.
I owe you one as we as a new hotel isn’t not well enough known and description signs inside Oslo Central Station is not possible or allowed to be put up.
My new roof signs lightening up both Karl Johan and Opera side of my building, but in this matter not helpful since its from the outside. But with few minutes walk to your train it’s a easy return home after a stay with us. We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel and we`re sincerely glad you all enjoyed staying with us and I really look forward having you back as my guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,499 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
778 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Property: Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing