We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the old Oslo train station, beside the central station.

It's quite new, and they are rooms all around the building in different variations.

Our room had a very high ceiling, a decent size, a big flat screen TV (with only one non Nordic channel), and a big, bright and clean bathroom. The only drawback was the bed which could have been more comfortable.

The breakfast also was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear OneAdvisedTraveller,
It's nice to read your feedback an early Monday morning in a snowy Oslo.
Glad you liked the hotel concept and breakfast. We'll see that you get a bigger and better bed during your next stay with us. We have all types of beds, twin (90cm), Queen (150/160cm) and King size (180cm) beds - Welcome back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    678
    236
    53
    24
See reviews for
217
602
119
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central in the beginning of November 2012. The hotel is located in the old Oslo railway station building and both the exterior and interior of the building are aesthetically very nice.
The hotel lobby/reception area is bit of a departure from the norm but fits the overall style and concept quite well. Hotel corridors can be a bit confusing with multiple levels on one floor and winding hallways but not a big problem.
The room was really nice and spacious; most of the rooms are individually decorated and mine was one of them. Large comfortable bed, big screen TV, desk, and a vintage leather club chair all fit comfortably with room to spare. The bathroom was not the biggest I've seen but spacious enough and as the hotel is fairly new (opened Spring 2012) everything was still shiny and new. Free wifi was included and really the only drawback of the room was that - as is the case with many/most hotel rooms I've stayed in - it was a bit dark with only spot-lighting available. While this is probably not a problem for a leisure/vacation trip it makes working in the room just a bit more difficult.
The breakfast was sufficient and tasty and there was plenty of space in the breakfast room on a weekday morning.
The location of the hotel is at the railway station and that normally means that the "ususal suspects" will be hanging out in the area. However, the Oslo Central Station area has cleaned up during the recent year or so and the location is not a problem and, bearing in mind the ususal precautions when travelling, quite safe.

All in all I enjoyed my brief visit. I would stay again and recommend to friends/colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear haerski,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. I think your information will be very helpful for people who plan to stay with us in the future.

Look forward welcoming you back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central in Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel as my wife fell in love with the decor, I was not so easily suduced. However upon arrival I knew we had made a great decision. The hotel is centrally located with excellent transportation links - all public transport was within 2mins walk yet we didn't hear anything at night. Yes there is no mini bar but the reception service cold drink n offer complementary tea / coffee. The room was a little small but okay for our three night stay - although we were a little spoilt in tromso. Breakfast was a vast buffet. The staff were really friendly offering to bo resturants for us and posting our postcards. Overall definately worth staying-great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear scott o,
It was a pleasure to have you both as our guests. We are so grateful and happy that you seemed quite pleased with our new hotel product (opened 31/4-12).

We are a hotel with a diversity and there are certainly some who find the style a bit much while others love it. Some rooms are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway
track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic".

Looking forward to seeing you both again at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I wanted to bring my dog for this stay, and this was no problem in this hotel. The hotel is located inside the trainstation and it felt very safe when me and my travelcompanion arrived late in the evening. The service was exellent and the breakfast buffet was very good. The staff working in this hotel is a real catch. Espesially the people working in the reseption. I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Charlotte N,
Thank you for your stay with us. With some few rooms dedicated to guest with pets we are a hotel that thinks of all, both those with two and four legs.
** important to mention that we also have dedicated allergy rooms**.

Your comment has been distributed internally, you contribute with refill of energy, courage and enthusiasm in everyday life. Welcome back Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I guess I am what you can call a "high demand" customer. From the moment i booked the hotel I wrote the reception to ask for a early check-in and to request a room upgrade and late check-out ( I can request this due to my membership status in choice-member).
After a few minutes I got a reply saying that my upgrade and latecheck-out was granted and early check-in was requested but they could not guarantee this.

I arrived at 13.30 and was given an upgraded room with a window to karl-johan. The room was not big, but much larger than the smallest rooms with a view of the back yard.

The breakfast area was to small, and I had to wait for a free table with food in my hands. The food selection was also to small.

At 14.00 I left the hotel (i could have stayed untilt 18.00) as a satisfied customer, only to find out that I had forgotten my bathroom bag with everything in it.
A quick email to the reception solved the problem and i could pick up the bag the next day without any problem!
Thank you Grand Central I will stay at your hotel the next time I have to spend the night in oslo centrum.

Room Tip: upgrade your room. ask the reception which rooms have what view. avoid the smallest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear TrondM.
I'm glad your stay with us met your expectations for service attitude. Our new hotel product is under constant internal evaluation and your feedback will help us along the way. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Super central located in the main station. Rooms are absolutely quite and the one I got had a nice view to the Oslo Fjord. Room was big and had cool furniture. Bathroom was big with shower and bathtube. Unfortunately no foreign TV channels.
Breakfast is ok but lacks some features I like.There is no Espresso machine, only one sort of jam and not much variation of fruit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Andreas B,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. We take your feedback seriously and the result is thereby;
- Foreign TV channel, now implemented.
- Espresso coffee, now implemented. Served on request to my waiters.

Hope to see you soon again at Comfort Hotel Grand Central Andreas B. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The location is central but in the medium quality area of Oslo. The sentral train station is in the same building, so if you arrive Oslo by plane it is a good place to crash the first night. The car park is quite close, but expensive.
The swedish staff was friendly and efficient as always. The rooms are new, nice and comfortable with free WiFi.
The breakfast was a mix of nordic and english style, not the best but it gives a good start for most westerners.
The price was above budget level in Oslo, but I can not identify why they charge more?
Overall I enjoyed my stay and might vome back without a car another time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventureseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Adventureseeker1

Thank you for your comments. We are as you say a centrally located hotel. With just three minutes to the airport express, and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district. Parking a car in Oslo is costly, I agree with you. Street parking isn`t easy to find either, but it`s there.

Would also like to inform you about our low fare booking calendar. A calendar that gives guests who has the opportunity to book hotel early many excellent and affordable nights. Read more on our website.

We look forward seeing you again as our guest. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#20 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Property: Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing