We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel close to railway station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fancy reception with great staff. Lift ok, Missed stairs for guests from lift area first floor to reception area.
Long corridor, but worth it if room in 350 series. Quiet twin bedded rooms. Nice corridor. Remember to lock the door if leaving in a hurry. Comfy bed and chairs. Lights in sleeping room perfect. The light in bathroom was like a disco lamp. On when moving and off when sitting/standing still (at toilet or shower) ...but ok again when waiving the arms. Shower fantastic with two choices. Hairdryer like the old ones we found in hotels 15-20 years ago = Temp ok but nearly no wind. Breakfast - I missed the boiled eggs and to choose between a couple of marmalades. Fried eggs and bacon could have been better, and I guess they will change the routines in making these. I prefer to pick up meat and cheese from more or less untouched plates in stead of the rolls. Breakfast room was clean and nice staff. Check out automates were great. Will return to this hotel!

Room Tip: 350 room numbers were far away from reception area - but quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Gulla J,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us.
- this is an example if a good and informative review for many new guests planning to stay with us.

Room 350: Your room is in a historical building, as it is the first Train station building in Oslo from year 1854. The rest of the hotel building is mainly from year 1884.

The hotel doors: are open 60 sec after closing, if not using your key-card. This is a fire regulation we have in Norway as the only country in the world. Reason is that your room should have easy access if case of fire in the corridor and you`ll need to return quickly to your room.

Bathroom: with environmentally friendly lighting-that turn without moving, probably should be adjusted to be little less sensitive.

Hairdryer: totally agree with you, not a good one.

Breakfast: We chose to have one type of jam, which we make in our kitchen in the morning, instead of buying lots of jam. This is made with 2 kg fresh berries and 100 grams of fructose. Will absolutely look into the egg/bacon- our special chosen bacon from Inderøy farm in Stavanger is tested and is especially chosen amongst many others.

Check-out: glad you like our modern alternatives for check out. In total there are 3 alternatives, 24-7 staff/service crew- automates or your cellphone.

Look forward having you as our guest soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip to Oslo. The location is in Østbanehallen, just next to the Central Station and in the heart of the city. Arrived early (around 11) and although the check-in is at 15 I got a room. The room I got was a bit smaller than the one I would have gotten if I had waited til 15, but that was my choice. The room was a inside-room on the second floor, but with proper windows. It was quite small, yes, but still very efficient. Brand new and fresh style. The bed, a queen size double, was very comfy! There was a flatscreen and a desk, and room for luggage and a fitted "wardrobe" with hangers and a mirror - practcle! Loved the bathroom: nice grey tiles all over, a large mirror and nice sink in white corian. The only minus was that the towels felt a bit "thin" and cheap, maybe. The shower with glass-door was very good. I had breakfast and it was very good with freshly made eggs, good coffee and selection of tea, yoghurts and fruits, nuts and seeds, bread and croissants, ham and salamis etc. Very nice breakfastarea (the restaurant), loved the decor and feel. Service was great as well, smiley young people all over. Finally, I also "tested" the fitness room, and I would say it is very adequate and good. Towels and water, again nice decor. All in all I really liked the hotel and enjoyed the stay. Love the modern decor, every room I saw (peeked through open doors when they were cleaned:) looked stylish and modern. Will def. stay again, because the price is so good and location for a stay in central Oslo is brilliant!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cesoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your info from your stay with us. Detailed and informative.

Glad to inform you about that a change in external partner who deliver us the towels will be completed in October -12. I agree they are thin as per today.

Look forward having you back as our guest soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We needed a reasonably priced but safe hotel for one night -- before our WindStar Cruise left Oslo. This Oslo Central Station Hotel exceeded our expectations. It was so cool to stay in the original RR Station building that was TOTALLY RENOVATED (completely rebuilt on the inside - but original building on the outside). Done with modern and easy to use lighting and bathroom fixtures, it also had sound proof windows, good elevators. It was a functional & sort of happy building. The two guys at the front desk, Daniel and Hans, were very helpful. And the breakfast buffet was more like breakfast AND lunch. We plan to stay there for a week when we go back to see several Oslo Opera performances.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear guest,
Safety, good location and good price, packed together with with casual and good service is our selling points and a daily goal at work. It makes me happy to read that we are on the right track with our new hotel. Welcome back to the Comfort Hotel Grand Central!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is awesome and well worth the money! Relative to other places I researched in Oslo it was one of the more reasonably priced hotels. The staff are brilliant and really helpful, the rooms are clean, spacious and pretty trendy, breakfast was plentiful with a lots of options and finally check out is 6pm on a Sunday, which makes all the difference when you have a late flight. The location is excellent, close to the main street of shopping and within walking distance of the main places to stay!
All in all, I didn’t want to leave and wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Oslo!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NmS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear guest,
It is with joy and gratitude we read about your stay at Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
All employees are hereby sending a thank you and a warm welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you are looking for:
- a very convenient location (within the central station of Oslo, 15 minutes away from the airport)
- original design in a historical setting (which gives it a soul that so many "boutique" hotels lack)
- a very good breakfast
- free wifi
this hotel is for you.

I you are looking for:
- services (concierge, room service, etc..)
- classical/neutral decoration (I understand many people can find the decoration horrible)
and you you are in a wheelchair or have trouble walking (there were 4 steps in our room)
forget about this hotel.

As far as I am concerned, I loved it, but i definitely wouldn't recommend it to my mother.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frédéric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear guest.
Thank you for your specific T.A message. You hit well and describes the opportunities, our identity, structural challenges and Comfort Hotel concepts in a good way.
-It is important for me to emphasize that we have 10% of our 170 rooms adapted for guests with disabilities. Without stair steps.

I'm so glad one has opinions about the hotel. That someone does not like it, we respect, worse is it that we are only a gray in the crowd.

Such positive feedback is valued and probably helps many guests in their hotel choice.
Hope we see you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The location is very convinient as the entrance is inside Oslo train station - making this a very central locaton. It is supposedly a "budget" hotel with minimal service but the simplistic design gives the room a nice feeling and the wi fi is free. The breakfast is very good and there is certaintly not anything budget over that one.

There is a gym which I didn't use and lockers, similar to the ones at the train station, where you can leave your bags free of charge after u check out.

The only negative thing is that during breakfast there is a "backdoor" open to the breakfast hall making it possible for people to sneak in without passing the front desk. I actually saw people do that and steal breakfast! I felt that this also increases the risk of general theft.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the square outside the central station and I didn't hear much noise at all
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear guest.
We are so grateful for your T.A feedback. Many good tips and information we`ll take with us in todays leadership meeting.The restaurant is designed for walk in guests as well, especially with regard to guests who will soon continue on the road or having a early meeting in the heart of Oslo.
But we`re going along with our security department to evaluate the door and access opportunities. Thereof I send a thank you. For your input is heard and appreciated!
Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect, especially if you arrive by train. The rooms are clean and have a nice design, different from regular hotels. I was also positively surprised by the quality of the breakfast, very tasty and fresh!
The people in the reception are service minded, there's also free coffee and tea in the lobby and free wireless Internet. The only downside is that we found the hotel a bit difficult to find arriving by car due to the quite anonymous entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katriina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear guest,
Good to hear that you stay with us met your expectations! I am pleased to confirm that our two large roof signs is finally approved by the Cultural Heritage, so hope it soon will become easier to find our hotel. Hope to see you soon again as our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,615 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 102 in Oslo
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $150 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing