We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Sara

Cafe Sara
Ranked #41 of 1,428 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendly with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed place with tourists and locals alike enjoying a few drinks and food. The food is hearty, fresh and well prepared and i found the staff helpful and very friendly

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDBSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    146
    44
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Huge selection of beers ! wonderful !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was here to meet a friend and an ex-colleague. Just catching up with old times. This place was nice and warm. It can get crowded a bit, but good if you manage to get a seat early. The outdoor seating is great during Summers, but in November, doesn't help much even with the warmers :) I was very impressed with their collection of beers. In fact, haven't heard of some names at all :P So tried some stouts, IPAs, in addition to the stor Ringnes 0,6 :)
Really a good place !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mshreedhaaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hearty food on a cold night ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely warm, cosy pub/restaurant with huuuuge selection of food and beers. We ate delicious Mexican and Turkish food (with a slight Norwegian twist perhaps) and the staff were friendly and helpful with recommendations. Perfect for hearty food on a cold, winter's night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The place to relax with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Cafe Sara became my favorite place to hangout, eat and discuss politics as far back as in 1992. I moved to Oslo in 1996 and had two to three dinners there a week until 2005, so it is safe to say that I've tried most of what Cafe Sara has to offer.

I love their Chicken-sovoulaki (kyllingspyd), their Nachos, and the pizzas has always treated me well.

Personally I get laxed as soon as I enter the dark rooms, and sink down on one of the hard wooden chairs, so give it a try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vthise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This restaurant isn't too far from the city center and can be easily accessed by taking tram 17. The food was good and a nice selection of drinks too. However I found that the staff were not particularly friendly. Kitchen is open until late.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sara also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Cafe Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing