We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite dodgy reviews on tripadvisor, I...”
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Despite dodgy reviews on tripadvisor, I went ahead with this hotel as it was the only one on Oslo that I could afford!
Yes it does look like a bomb has hit it (due to extensive rennovation), however the staff are friendly, the room clean and smart, and bed comfortable. I found the breakfast superb. The only drawback was the fact that in the bathroom there was often a faint smell of cigarette smoke. I presume this was coming through a vent somewhere. This was imperceptible in the room itself. Overall however, a winner in this expensive city.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinpin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

bad organisation, not helpfull personal, bad breakfast. good room

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
Thank AggelikiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

This Hotel when finished may be ok but until it is finished renovation steer clear.

Cons: Some of my experiences were workers in the hallway at 5:45 A.M running shop vacs and when reported to the front desk I was told they were not allowed to start that early "ok" that is nice thanks.

This hotel reminded my of a classic Eastern block hotel, Maybe it was the modified Sea shipping container being used for the main entrance.

The breakfast was nothing to write home about and by the 3rd day of my week long stay I was skipping it.

This hotel is being renovated they are adding like 100 room so of course it looks like a war zone and if your ok with that then it will be fine.

Pros, Staff was nice, the location is good and the price is good for Oslo.

Bottom line: I will not be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJGfrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We booked into the best western as it was one of the cheapest places we could find in Oslo. We managed to go to Oslo the weekend of the cup final for the Norwegian football league so the hotel was at full capacity yet our check-in was quick, efficient and friendly.

The rooms we had were small but clean. We has orginally booked triples & with the rollaway beds you had to climb over the other beds to reach it. We had one person cancel the trip at the last moment so the hotel took away the rollaway & the room was then perfect for 2 people. The only downside to the room is the bathroom is really more of a wet room and you could of literally sat on the toilet & showered at the same time! We were only using the hotel to crash at night & its location was great, 15min walk down to the harbour, 5mins to the going out area. Breakfast was typical european & they did have a small choice of hot food which i wasnt expecting.

As people have mentioned it is going through renovations but i didnt see the big issue that everyone else did. Yes, the reception is darkish & you have to use old service-personnel elevators but where else in Oslo can you get a room for under 50euro a night including breakfast??

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot_in_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Accept of the service there is NOTHING good to say about this hotel.
1) It looked like a construction site
2) It has probably not been renewed since the seventies
3) The TV didn't work
4) Suddenly the warm water stopped while showering (but the cold water was only "pee cold" so actually no crisis)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godeideer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

The hotel is almost in the middle of the city center, its nice furnished and comfortable, so you are just really enjoying return after a long day back into it. Included is also nice breakfast and the staff is also very kind. I can recommend to everybody travelling to Oslo.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank Ginike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Best Western Anker is a good choice for either business o leisure travel; it's a basic 3 to 4 star hotel in Europe, regarding room size; but one of the good things is they offer buffet breakfast included in the room rate, wich for Oslo prices is a great thing. The hotel is close (half block) to one bus and railbus stop, 5 min walking to main train terminal, in general you feel safe around. The only bad thing i found, they are under remodelation works, so it's a little bit noisy, specially because they start working very early 6:30 am.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank VSSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#20 of 102 in Oslo
1,680 reviews
Scandic Solli
#37 of 102 in Oslo
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 102 in Oslo
977 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#66 of 102 in Oslo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: $79 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing